How do I identify hardware?

Off topic chat and stuff that doesn't fit elsewhere.
Post Reply
User avatar
His Royal Majesty King V
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 444
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2001 4:06 pm
Location: New Jersey

How do I identify hardware?

Post by His Royal Majesty King V » Thu Apr 29, 2004 8:12 pm

All,

Well, admittedly, this P4 system I got from a friend is throwing me a curve or three.....

There's definitely hardware that I have to get drivers for, as Win98 doesn't know them.

Firstly, a combination ieee1394/USB card. Then, the onboard 10/100 ethernet, the onboard sound, and finally, I suppose, the chipset itself.

Ok, that's probably in reverse.

Best I've been able to find is that the chipset is Intel 845, and that the sound is probably "Soundmax II AC97"

However, is there any sort of software that can identify the hardware for me? Pretty much tell me who makes everything that's on the computer? That should eliminate much of the hunting and guessing.

Secondly, how is the Soundmax II AC97 sound? Any good, or am I better off disabling it and going with my tried-and-true, yet ancient Ensoniq AudioPCI soundcard (until such time as I get money for something better)?

I figure the chipset drivers I can probably just download from Intel.
FIC PA-2103 E-O036, K6-2+ 450 2.0V @ 500 1.9V
FIC PA-2013 E-O036, K6-III 450 2.2V @ 500
Acer quasi-proprietary Mid-tower, P-II 266

monaro327
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 314
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2001 5:14 am
Contact:

Post by monaro327 » Thu Apr 29, 2004 11:24 pm

if it's ac97 it's just plan old software sound. plus cpuz and sandra might be able to help you with identifying your hardware.
Athlon XP-M 2500+ 2444mhz
Geforce 6800le(16pp/6vp) OC 405/825mhz
wd800jb hdd
wd200bb hdd
40gig Seagate IV
1gig ddr ram
Epox 8RDA3+
sblive 5.1
Pioneer 110D DVD Burner
Logitech Z3e & MX518 + EVERGLIDE FUZE
_____________________

User avatar
His Royal Majesty King V
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 444
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2001 4:06 pm
Location: New Jersey

Post by His Royal Majesty King V » Fri Apr 30, 2004 9:59 am

cool, thanks for the info . . I'll probably download the latest versions of those two.

Does integrated ethernet also primarily use the CPU? If so, I might put in one of the 3Com 905-series PCI ethernet cards instead . . if that's the sort of thing that uses far less CPU resources.

Of course, I should probably find out WHAT I have before I do that.
FIC PA-2103 E-O036, K6-2+ 450 2.0V @ 500 1.9V
FIC PA-2013 E-O036, K6-III 450 2.2V @ 500
Acer quasi-proprietary Mid-tower, P-II 266

Post Reply