Trying to install IE6 . . MADDENING!!!!

Off topic chat and stuff that doesn't fit elsewhere.
Post Reply
User avatar
His Royal Majesty King V
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 444
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2001 4:06 pm
Location: New Jersey

Trying to install IE6 . . MADDENING!!!!

Post by His Royal Majesty King V » Tue May 18, 2004 5:49 pm

All,

Anyone running into this problem? Anyone have a solution?

I want to install IE6 on a computer that's not hooked up to the net.

Microsoft, in their infinite wisdome (read as: arrogance) has decided that you can't download the full program, just the little 479K installer that will then go out to the net and install the rest of the thing for you.

Arrggh . . well, at least I found a way to get the installer to download the whole thing so I can burn it to a CD and install on the non-networked PC.

Except for one small problem.....

I can download the installer just fine. However, running the installer, I get the following message:

"Setup was unable to download the required components. Please make sure you are connected to the internet, or try to run setup again later."

Ok, so I tried several hours later. Same message.

Anyone else run into this problem? Obviously I'm connected to the internet....

EDIT:

Arrrgghhh . . apparently the install routine's been trained properly in Microsoft procedures.

To wit, I had to go downstairs to my wife's computer, which has a regular Windows 98 install on it, and the program works.

If I use my main computer, which has Win98 lite with all the IE stuff stripped out, it pretends that it can't find the internet. Or at least that's the explanation that it gives me.

You know, you'd think they'd WANT me to install IE on my system.
FIC PA-2103 E-O036, K6-2+ 450 2.0V @ 500 1.9V
FIC PA-2013 E-O036, K6-III 450 2.2V @ 500
Acer quasi-proprietary Mid-tower, P-II 266

georgep1
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 325
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2001 6:09 pm

Post by georgep1 » Tue May 18, 2004 7:32 pm

Not sure if this would work for you or not...but the entire IE6 download should be at:

http://browsers.evolt.org/?ie/32bit

But it might want to connect in a weird way too. Good luck.
E-Machines T6000 (AMD64 3200+) (Don't laugh! It absolutely rocks!)
GigaByte K7N400 Pro2, 3200+, 1 GB DDR, 80 GB WD SE
Epox MVPG5, K6-III+@550, 384 SDRAM, 80 GB WD SE
TX97-XE, K6-III+@400, 256 SDRAM, 40 GB WD HD

User avatar
endmilled
Junior K6'er
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue May 21, 2002 5:15 pm
Location: Grand Forks, ND
Contact:

Post by endmilled » Wed May 19, 2004 12:59 pm

I think Internet Explorer 6 was included with the free Windows Security Update CD Microsoft put out in February. You'll also get a load of Critical Updates, Media Player 9 and some added security features. It would be a good thing to order if you have slow (or no) connection to the Internet. Microsoft even pays the shipping. It works with Windows 98 and above.

http://www.microsoft.com/security/protect/cd/order.asp

User avatar
punkrawker82
Senior K6'er
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2003 9:06 pm

Post by punkrawker82 » Fri May 21, 2004 6:15 am

Sounds like when it installs it searches for IE components that are present with the default IE 4.0 stuff included with Win98...and your lite version doesn't have this. I'd go with the free Windows Update CD. :D
Past System
----------
Asus P5A-B rev1.05(Beta BIOS 1011.005)
AMD K6-2/CXT AFX @ 500Mhz(CPUCool 5 x 100)
128Mb PC100 SDRAM
VisionTek GeForce 4 MX 440 4x AGP @2x w/ 64Mb DDR
Creative Ensoniq PCI Sound Card
ADS Turbo Quad 4 Port USB PCI Card
Linksys NC100 v2 NIC
Western Digital 8Mb Cache SE 80Gb HD
Lite-On 52x32x52 CDR/RW
Lite-On 16x48 DVD

Current
----------
Athlon XP-A(Barton) 2600+ @ 1.91Ghz
Abit NF7-S v2.0
512Mb Kingston 3200 DDR(2.5-3-3-7)
VisionTek GeForce 4 MX 440 4x AGP w/ 64Mb DDR

User avatar
His Royal Majesty King V
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 444
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2001 4:06 pm
Location: New Jersey

Post by His Royal Majesty King V » Fri May 21, 2004 4:56 pm

Well, I wound up using the downstairs computer to download the full installation files.

It worked from there, and apparently the Advanced options allow you to download the files for later installation.
FIC PA-2103 E-O036, K6-2+ 450 2.0V @ 500 1.9V
FIC PA-2013 E-O036, K6-III 450 2.2V @ 500
Acer quasi-proprietary Mid-tower, P-II 266

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Jim » Mon May 24, 2004 10:50 pm

This is of interest to me, because I know that Microsoft is not going to support 98SE forever. I therefore try to keep a copy of every update required by 98SE. The internet explorer 6 download is one that I have not managed to get for the same reasons that you had trouble King, except that I am not using lite. How exactly did you get around it?

User avatar
His Royal Majesty King V
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 444
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2001 4:06 pm
Location: New Jersey

Post by His Royal Majesty King V » Tue May 25, 2004 4:59 pm

Well, under normal circumstances, using Windows 98, when the installation program starts up, there's a button for Advanced Options (or something like that) somewhere along the way.

This will allow you to download the files rather than installing them.

In fact, it even allows downloading of various versions (IE for 98, for NT, etc). Then it asks for a destination folder.


As to getting around the problem with 98 lite, I didn't. I had to use my wife's computer with the standard Win98 OS.
FIC PA-2103 E-O036, K6-2+ 450 2.0V @ 500 1.9V
FIC PA-2013 E-O036, K6-III 450 2.2V @ 500
Acer quasi-proprietary Mid-tower, P-II 266

mulvihill
Senior K6'er
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2002 1:33 pm

Post by mulvihill » Wed Jun 02, 2004 4:26 pm


User avatar
His Royal Majesty King V
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 444
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2001 4:06 pm
Location: New Jersey

Post by His Royal Majesty King V » Wed Jun 02, 2004 5:45 pm

Found that method too . . . also fails in the same way when used with 98lite instead of a full-blown 98 install.
FIC PA-2103 E-O036, K6-2+ 450 2.0V @ 500 1.9V
FIC PA-2013 E-O036, K6-III 450 2.2V @ 500
Acer quasi-proprietary Mid-tower, P-II 266

Guest

Post by Guest » Fri Jul 23, 2004 4:19 am

he why not using the smaller & more bugfree firefox?

http://www.mozilla.org/products/firefox/

i'm using it now for 3 months... try it

User avatar
Wiggy
Senior K6'er
Posts: 173
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Surrey, England

Post by Wiggy » Fri Jul 23, 2004 5:29 pm

Well, IE is an integral part of Windows, but yes, Firefox is good. Also my personal favourite is Opera.

www.opera.com
SOLTEK rocks!

Post Reply