Backing plate on video card question...

Off topic chat and stuff that doesn't fit elsewhere.
Post Reply
User avatar
His Royal Majesty King V
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 444
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2001 4:06 pm
Location: New Jersey

Backing plate on video card question...

Post by His Royal Majesty King V » Tue Aug 03, 2004 9:42 pm

All,

Ok, I don't know if it's actually called a "backing plate" per se.

Basically the metal retaining bracket that holds the expansion cards to the case, and is what you see on the back of the computer when the case is closed.

I've got an old, low-end Radeon AGP card lying around here somewhere. However, it's from a low-profile Dell system. Therefore, the backing plate thing is not the standard length, but is much shorter.

Now, I know the card works because I was able to unscrew the two hex nuts (immediately surrounding the 15-pin video connector) and remove the plate. However, I really don't want to have the card being held only by the grip the AGP slot has on it.

The question therefore is: Is there someplace I can get a full-length backing plate for this card? The S-video connector and the 15-pin monitor connector are centered on this mini-card, so with a normal length plate, they'd be way over to one side. But does such a beast exist, or would I have to have one made out of a blank and have the appropriate holes cut into it?

Thanks....
FIC PA-2103 E-O036, K6-2+ 450 2.0V @ 500 1.9V
FIC PA-2013 E-O036, K6-III 450 2.2V @ 500
Acer quasi-proprietary Mid-tower, P-II 266

User avatar
punkrawker82
Senior K6'er
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2003 9:06 pm

Post by punkrawker82 » Tue Aug 03, 2004 10:15 pm

I'd create a new one from a full length blank if you have the tools to do so...

If you're apprehensive about cutting holes in a blank, how about soldering a piece of blank on to the original dell plate to add length?? You just have to cut a straight line through a blank and then solder rather than cut some really small, precise holes...

Is that a good idea or am I just rambling :lol:

Sorry if its rambling...
Past System
----------
Asus P5A-B rev1.05(Beta BIOS 1011.005)
AMD K6-2/CXT AFX @ 500Mhz(CPUCool 5 x 100)
128Mb PC100 SDRAM
VisionTek GeForce 4 MX 440 4x AGP @2x w/ 64Mb DDR
Creative Ensoniq PCI Sound Card
ADS Turbo Quad 4 Port USB PCI Card
Linksys NC100 v2 NIC
Western Digital 8Mb Cache SE 80Gb HD
Lite-On 52x32x52 CDR/RW
Lite-On 16x48 DVD

Current
----------
Athlon XP-A(Barton) 2600+ @ 1.91Ghz
Abit NF7-S v2.0
512Mb Kingston 3200 DDR(2.5-3-3-7)
VisionTek GeForce 4 MX 440 4x AGP w/ 64Mb DDR

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Jim » Tue Aug 03, 2004 10:25 pm

If you have a friendly local computer shop, they can probably give you (free) something that will either fit perfectly, or fit perfectly with a little modification, (read filing). If you were here in Toronto, I'd give something that would work. I have a box full of those things of various types. (By the way, those things are made of steel so they won't solder.)

User avatar
punkrawker82
Senior K6'er
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2003 9:06 pm

Post by punkrawker82 » Wed Aug 04, 2004 6:35 am

steel huh?? LOL, I knew it just had to be rambling....sorry guys. I guess either find a plate that fits or get some type of dremel or cutting tool and have a blast :D

Why does Dell have to make it so freakin complicated :x
Past System
----------
Asus P5A-B rev1.05(Beta BIOS 1011.005)
AMD K6-2/CXT AFX @ 500Mhz(CPUCool 5 x 100)
128Mb PC100 SDRAM
VisionTek GeForce 4 MX 440 4x AGP @2x w/ 64Mb DDR
Creative Ensoniq PCI Sound Card
ADS Turbo Quad 4 Port USB PCI Card
Linksys NC100 v2 NIC
Western Digital 8Mb Cache SE 80Gb HD
Lite-On 52x32x52 CDR/RW
Lite-On 16x48 DVD

Current
----------
Athlon XP-A(Barton) 2600+ @ 1.91Ghz
Abit NF7-S v2.0
512Mb Kingston 3200 DDR(2.5-3-3-7)
VisionTek GeForce 4 MX 440 4x AGP w/ 64Mb DDR

User avatar
Wiggy
Senior K6'er
Posts: 173
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Surrey, England

Post by Wiggy » Wed Aug 04, 2004 11:32 am

So you buy another Dell. :lol:
SOLTEK rocks!

User avatar
His Royal Majesty King V
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 444
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2001 4:06 pm
Location: New Jersey

Post by His Royal Majesty King V » Wed Aug 18, 2004 8:32 pm

Jim,

well, the only small local computer shop in the area has nothing that'll fit....... heck, I'd be willing to send you whatever it takes for shipping to the US if you have something.

Can I get your email address so I can send you a scanned picture (with a ruler next to it, of course)?

Let me know . . thanks . . my email is king_v@mindless.com
FIC PA-2103 E-O036, K6-2+ 450 2.0V @ 500 1.9V
FIC PA-2013 E-O036, K6-III 450 2.2V @ 500
Acer quasi-proprietary Mid-tower, P-II 266

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Jim » Wed Aug 18, 2004 10:21 pm

It is anonieimouse@msn.com I tried to email you but I only use hotmail and it crapped out on your address because of the space I think.

User avatar
His Royal Majesty King V
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 444
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2001 4:06 pm
Location: New Jersey

Post by His Royal Majesty King V » Wed Aug 18, 2004 10:47 pm

Ahh . . it's an underscore between the "king" and the "v", not a space..... I keep forgetting that the board will make a link of it and effectively hide the underscore.

Anyway, I'll send you an email when I get the piece scanned.... thanks!
FIC PA-2103 E-O036, K6-2+ 450 2.0V @ 500 1.9V
FIC PA-2013 E-O036, K6-III 450 2.2V @ 500
Acer quasi-proprietary Mid-tower, P-II 266

Post Reply