And into the realm of . . Slot 1?!?!

Off topic chat and stuff that doesn't fit elsewhere.
Post Reply
User avatar
His Royal Majesty King V
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 444
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2001 4:06 pm
Location: New Jersey

And into the realm of . . Slot 1?!?!

Post by His Royal Majesty King V » Sat Oct 16, 2004 9:11 am

All,

Hey, well, looky what I acquired...

I wasn't that impressed at first . . a P-II system with a 333MHz chip.

No biggie, but might make something nice to have lying around.

Motherboard is a Tekram P6B40-A4X Rev 1.01.... alas it doesn't have the "manual override of FSB" jumper that the later versions have to force a 66MHz FSB CPU to run at 100MHz FSB, so the system autodetects.

However, the BIOS lets you overclock, and for CPUs with a base 100MHz FSB, will go as high as 133MHz.

Now here's where it gets weird: the latest manual seems to imply that it will support P-II and P-III procs that use a 133MHz FSB base.

However, an email to tech support says that it's been too long outdated for them to have any info. BUT . . they say someone's used a 733 successfully.

However, other information on their own site seems to indicate that if you use a CPU with 133MHz FSB, that the system will be overclocked.

I was trying to figure out what would happen if I did plug in an Intel CPU that uses the 133MHz FSB. Would it run the PCI and AGP normally? Would I have to use the BIOS to set it to 133? Would the PCI and AGP be running way over spec?


ARrrgh!! No solid answers that I've been able to find with all my googling....

So I've resigned myself to using whatever I can get with 100MHz FSB.


But, what are my options? Tekram's website says it'll support CPUs up to 700MHz, or even possibly 800MHz.

All well and good . . but would I get more bang for the buck going with a slocket? Maybe getting something over 1GHz?

I suppose I should finish tinkering with that Athlon Slot A system before I delve into this Slot 1 computer, but the Slot 1 system is at least working.....

(I should probably also get to work on a certain project car in my garage before browsing the classifieds for another one too...)
FIC PA-2103 E-O036, K6-2+ 450 2.0V @ 500 1.9V
FIC PA-2013 E-O036, K6-III 450 2.2V @ 500
Acer quasi-proprietary Mid-tower, P-II 266

georgep1
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 325
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2001 6:09 pm

Post by georgep1 » Sat Oct 16, 2004 8:29 pm

The Tekram you have is a 440BX chipset motherboard. So there is no way at 133 MHz FSB the AGP bus will run in spec. However, most later BX boards had PCI dividers that allowed the PCI slots to run at 33 MHz at that FSB. Some video cards could handle the AGP overclock and some couldn't.
E-Machines T6000 (AMD64 3200+) (Don't laugh! It absolutely rocks!)
GigaByte K7N400 Pro2, 3200+, 1 GB DDR, 80 GB WD SE
Epox MVPG5, K6-III+@550, 384 SDRAM, 80 GB WD SE
TX97-XE, K6-III+@400, 256 SDRAM, 40 GB WD HD

User avatar
His Royal Majesty King V
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 444
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2001 4:06 pm
Location: New Jersey

Post by His Royal Majesty King V » Tue Oct 19, 2004 6:08 pm

Ahh . . gotcha.

So even though *some* BX boards may have incorporated a 1/4 PCI divider for 133FSB usage, the AGP *always* used a 2/3 divider, so any FSB over 100 would overclock the AGP.

Well, that and my board's definitely one of the earlier ones.....

Thanks for the info.

Now to figure out what the best processor upgrade I can do for it on the cheap would be.....
FIC PA-2103 E-O036, K6-2+ 450 2.0V @ 500 1.9V
FIC PA-2013 E-O036, K6-III 450 2.2V @ 500
Acer quasi-proprietary Mid-tower, P-II 266

jsc1973.

...

Post by jsc1973. » Tue Oct 19, 2004 6:58 pm

A BX board with a usable 133 MHz bus setting will run the AGP at 89 MHz. Most cards can handle that, or at least they could in the heyday of BX133, but some can't.

User avatar
Wiggy
Senior K6'er
Posts: 173
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Surrey, England

Post by Wiggy » Wed Oct 20, 2004 10:35 am

An Nvidia of the era would be fine. (or newer)
SOLTEK rocks!

User avatar
His Royal Majesty King V
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 444
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2001 4:06 pm
Location: New Jersey

Post by His Royal Majesty King V » Wed Oct 20, 2004 10:54 am

Could be . . but I think I'll stick with a 100MHz FSB chip . . I don't want to get a chip that's meant to run at 133, then find out that the board documentation, which seems to have some odd quirks, isn't all that accurate.

I could always crank it up in small increments from 100MHz FSB though, if the need for that much speed hits me.

Then again, I've been living happily in my 500MHz Socket 7 world all this time, so how fast do I really need? Hah! Famous last words!!
FIC PA-2103 E-O036, K6-2+ 450 2.0V @ 500 1.9V
FIC PA-2013 E-O036, K6-III 450 2.2V @ 500
Acer quasi-proprietary Mid-tower, P-II 266

Guest

Post by Guest » Sat Oct 08, 2005 3:10 pm

I have that motherboard (p6b40-a4x) but i don´t know how to change the FSB... could you help me please?

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Jim » Mon Oct 10, 2005 5:00 am

King is temporarily incommunicado. He has recently moved, on a temporary basis because his old place was sold, and his new one is not yet finished building. Expect him back some time in December.
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

Post Reply