Picture of my Setup

Off topic chat and stuff that doesn't fit elsewhere.
Post Reply
User avatar
KGB
K6'er
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2003 7:55 pm

Picture of my Setup

Post by KGB » Wed Mar 01, 2006 11:04 pm

Image

Left to Right:
Dell Dimension XPS333 - AthlonXP-M 2400+
HP Pavilion 8670c - Pentium 3 733
HP Pavilion 8662c - K6-2 578
IBM Intellistation E Pro Pentium 4 2000

Comments? Questions?

I will use a KVM between the P3 and Athlon, and bring the K6 into the living room for HTPC duties (since I got the Matrox G450 :) )

Obvious one missing is the ThinkPad 600E, its wifi'd at the moment ;)
-K6-2 550 Gigagyte GA-5AX (5.2) 1x512MB GeForce 2 Ti500 64MB
-Pentium III 933 Asus P3C-L 2x128MB GeForce 4 Ti4200 128MB DDR
-Pentium III 750 Asus P3B-F ATi Rage128 GL 32MB
-Celeron 1.2 Asus TUSI-M 2x128MB
-Pentium IV 1.5 DELL 2350 1x128MB
-Athlon 900 Asus K7M 1x256MB 2x128MB GeForce 3 64MB
-AthlonXP-M 2400+ Asus K7V880 2x512MB HIS Radeon HD3850 512MB DDR

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

RE: Picture of my Setup

Post by Jim » Wed Mar 01, 2006 11:59 pm

Personally, I like the HP Pavillion 8662c; but you haven't told us how you got that fantastic Memory read Score.
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

User avatar
Nohr
Nohrmal
Posts: 736
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2001 8:26 pm
Location: Nacogdoches, TX
Contact:

Post by Nohr » Thu Mar 02, 2006 9:36 am

I think we have the same computer speakers, Logitech Z640.

User avatar
tazwegion
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 349
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2003 11:13 am
Location: Victoria, Australia

Post by tazwegion » Thu Mar 02, 2006 7:28 pm

Those HP pavillion cases are cute! :lol:

Seeing as you've got the ball rolling... we may as well turn this thread (or start another) into a 'post your workstation' thread... what'd'ya think? :)

BTW nice choice in bands too Metallica!!! awesome! :D
Image

User avatar
tazwegion
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 349
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2003 11:13 am
Location: Victoria, Australia

My Workstation(s)...

Post by tazwegion » Sat Mar 11, 2006 8:38 pm

Okay here's my workstation(s), please excuse the multiple pic's as the 'gear' inhabits the entire length of one wall (in the PC room) ;)

First up is my Coyote Linux firewall/router box, powered by a PR233MX Cyrix chip on a FIC VA-502 motherboard, it resides in the ugliest PC case that has ever graced my presence (it may yet get a 'make-over' :P)

Image

Next to the router/printer bookcase is the 'main rig' an AMD 2500+ (Barton core) mated to an Abit Nf7-s revision 2.0 motherboard housed in a CoolerMaster Centurion case (a work in progress) & Juster 3D-603 Amp.

Image

Introducing the backbone of my distributed computing effort, a cruddy IPEX desktop case encapsulating a Soltek SL-75KAV motherboard + T'bred 1800@1900+... next to which is the 'infamous' IBM aptiva case with an MSI 6378-L & Palomino 1600+ currently residing there LMAO

Image

Now last but by no means least... my Palomino 2100+ & MSI KT3 Ultra2 linux/win98SE dual boot system ($2.05 modded mouse :P) & Logitech ATtacK3 (USB) joystick for those awesome retro flight (combat) simulator games :D

Image

User avatar
His Royal Majesty King V
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 444
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2001 4:06 pm
Location: New Jersey

Post by His Royal Majesty King V » Wed Mar 15, 2006 8:59 am

How'd you get the standard type motherboards to play nicely with the proprietary cases?

I'm not sure about HP, but I know that Dell's always had a proprietary ATX connector (just swap the power supply, easy enough), but also some sort of funky ribbon cable that runs the power button, LEDs, etc.

I know Compaq cases have some strange grounding mechanism for the front button and LEDs as well, but I don't know if HP does the same.

So, with the Dell anyway, how'd you work around that? I'd always liked the Dell cases, and was pissed about not being able to hook up a standard motherboard to the front swithces/LED to it.
FIC PA-2103 E-O036, K6-2+ 450 2.0V @ 500 1.9V
FIC PA-2013 E-O036, K6-III 450 2.2V @ 500
Acer quasi-proprietary Mid-tower, P-II 266

User avatar
KGB
K6'er
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2003 7:55 pm

Post by KGB » Fri Mar 17, 2006 11:17 am

Your Majesty ;)

The old HP cases circa 1999-2001 are relatively easy to modify, and you can use its power supply (usually rated at 185Watts) and Powerswitch ,HDD, Power led are ready easy to replace with generic pc switches and led's in to the front bezel. The power supply is relatively difficult to replace, since it is smaller than most standard atx power supplies, though an m-atx power would not fit in the back of the case (so you can gather its confounding to find newer power supplies to fit/function)

The DELL was possible because it is rather old (had a P2-333 in it), STILL newer ones can be modified with a few pratical components: I only used LED/switch wires, a Dremel ;) , and a Solder iron to attach the cables to the specific spot on the dell propietory operator switch board (hdd led, power switch, reset switch). (Newer dimension cases have 5-6 slots in the back which dont allow full size boards, but a m-atx board would work nicely. Finally the I/O ports in some Dells are non standard, which requires some metal cutting (measure twice, cut once) to fit the Athlon XP board to work.
-K6-2 550 Gigagyte GA-5AX (5.2) 1x512MB GeForce 2 Ti500 64MB
-Pentium III 933 Asus P3C-L 2x128MB GeForce 4 Ti4200 128MB DDR
-Pentium III 750 Asus P3B-F ATi Rage128 GL 32MB
-Celeron 1.2 Asus TUSI-M 2x128MB
-Pentium IV 1.5 DELL 2350 1x128MB
-Athlon 900 Asus K7M 1x256MB 2x128MB GeForce 3 64MB
-AthlonXP-M 2400+ Asus K7V880 2x512MB HIS Radeon HD3850 512MB DDR

User avatar
tazwegion
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 349
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2003 11:13 am
Location: Victoria, Australia

Post by tazwegion » Fri Mar 17, 2006 5:57 pm

@ KGB when you say the propriety PSU's were smaller... did you mean in depth of the unit?

I had issues with the Aptiva case also replacing the 93w eventually with another propriety 145w PIII PSU, as all other's didn't leave any room for CD/DVD-rom devices ;)

Also with the I/O points... are they structurely part of the case, or is it possible to remove them, and say use a generic I/O plate?

User avatar
KGB
K6'er
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2003 7:55 pm

Post by KGB » Fri Mar 17, 2006 8:13 pm

Taz,
a good example would be http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-320W-for-HP-518 ... dZViewItem this power supply here. Pay close attention to the Dimensions of the power supply unit. They are 5.75"(Width) x 4"(Diameter) x 3.25"(Height) respectively.

Normal power supply units are 5 7/8" x 5 1/2" x 3 3/8" and would not fit the case.

I don't know why you need a Propietory PSu for a IBM, unless it is an Oblonged shape or has some angled packaging.

Sometimes, the I/O ports are propietory, and some are removal. In both cases some cutting with a Dremel ;) might be necessary depending on the year the case was produced. But typically the faceplate with my motherboards are installed on the boards.
-K6-2 550 Gigagyte GA-5AX (5.2) 1x512MB GeForce 2 Ti500 64MB
-Pentium III 933 Asus P3C-L 2x128MB GeForce 4 Ti4200 128MB DDR
-Pentium III 750 Asus P3B-F ATi Rage128 GL 32MB
-Celeron 1.2 Asus TUSI-M 2x128MB
-Pentium IV 1.5 DELL 2350 1x128MB
-Athlon 900 Asus K7M 1x256MB 2x128MB GeForce 3 64MB
-AthlonXP-M 2400+ Asus K7V880 2x512MB HIS Radeon HD3850 512MB DDR

User avatar
tazwegion
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 349
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2003 11:13 am
Location: Victoria, Australia

Post by tazwegion » Sun Mar 19, 2006 12:51 am

@ KGB
Because it was a tiny mid tower case, regular ATX PSU's fitted, but negated the top 5.25" drive space for anything other than a small 'baybus' etc. ;)

Perhaps the propriety PSU I fitted may have been better described as mATX form factor :)

All-in-all I gotta' start looking around for one of those attractive Pavillion cases :D
Image

Post Reply