CPUBM of 20?

Off topic chat and stuff that doesn't fit elsewhere.
Post Reply
rdrdr
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2002 9:28 pm

CPUBM of 20?

Post by rdrdr »

hi. just recently installed k6 2+ 450. I ran some sandra benchmarks at 550mhz and got 154cpu and 165 fpu. That seems about right but when i ran CPUBM I got 20 which is about a pentium 166. I'm wondering what gives? Anyone have an explanation? <p></p><i></i>

georgep1
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 325
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2001 6:09 pm

Re: CPUBM score

Post by georgep1 »

What system are you running this on?<br><br>I don't know much about CPUBM but maybe it has problems with MMX errors, which you may have overclocking the 450 to 550. Try running it at 450 and see if you get a better or worse score. <p></p><i></i>
E-Machines T6000 (AMD64 3200+) (Don't laugh! It absolutely rocks!)
GigaByte K7N400 Pro2, 3200+, 1 GB DDR, 80 GB WD SE
Epox MVPG5, K6-III+@550, 384 SDRAM, 80 GB WD SE
TX97-XE, K6-III+@400, 256 SDRAM, 40 GB WD HD

jonwest 01
K6'er
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2001 5:09 pm

Re: CPUBM score

Post by jonwest 01 »

Hummm...that's not on an ASUS P5A or P5AB is it? <p></p><i></i>

io333
K6'er Elite
Posts: 888
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2001 11:11 am

Re: CPUBM score

Post by io333 »

if those numbers are ram scores, i think they're all just about right.... the k6+ should give ram scores between the pentium classic and the pentium II <p></p><i></i>

rdrdr
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2002 9:28 pm

Re: CPUBM score

Post by rdrdr »

I'm running it on a Rise R582v (I know I never heard of it either untill I bought it)with 128sdram pc100. The problem seems to be intermittent but appears to go away with ram set to turbo in bios. Now cpubm gives a score of 57. I'm still not sure what was going on (maybe aproblem with cpubm) but its ok for now. thanks for your replies. Anybody else ever use a Rise board? <p></p><i></i>

io333
K6'er Elite
Posts: 888
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2001 11:11 am

Re: CPUBM score

Post by io333 »

ok, i did some quick research: cpubm is *not reliable*. the problem is cpubm, not your system. <p></p><i></i>

Post Reply