Beater Benchmark

Off topic chat and stuff that doesn't fit elsewhere.
User avatar
theEMP
Senior K6'er
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 9:28 am

Beater Benchmark

Post by theEMP » Wed Feb 28, 2007 9:34 am

Hello folks,

I noticed there are some pretty quick K6s roaming these parts, and I'm wondering if any of you might be interested in repping your systems over at CSF (another forum I came from) for the beater bench thread...

http://compsupportforums.com/forums/ind ... topic=1368

We don't have any AMD representation for systems under 1GHz, and it looks like here there are several systems that are quite capable.

Thanks for your time and looking forward to doing some reading up aroud here :D I don't honestly own or use a K6 system but I'm looking forward to learning more about them.

User avatar
Uranium235
Senior K6'er
Posts: 183
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 9:59 pm

Post by Uranium235 » Wed Feb 28, 2007 11:07 am

Welcome to the K6plus forum! :) I'll check out the beater bench thread when I get a chance.

User avatar
theEMP
Senior K6'er
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 9:28 am

Post by theEMP » Wed Feb 28, 2007 12:52 pm

hey thanks. :D

I've got *alot* of reading up to do. A member from our forums said K6s weren't really popular in that era of time...so I set out to find some folks with a deep interest in K6s...and the overclocking database here is a nice draw too :shock:

I hope no one takes offence to it being called a "beater" bench, I by no means intend it make fun of someone's PC, because that's just plain rude. The beater term is used to just used to describe an older PC.

I hope you have some time to participate in the thread too.

User avatar
Uranium235
Senior K6'er
Posts: 183
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 9:59 pm

Post by Uranium235 » Wed Feb 28, 2007 1:17 pm

No offense taken. Most members here really enjoy these old systems and have large collections of old hardware. These old systems can still perform alot of current tasks and run WinXP flawlessly at a fraction of the price of a new system. Many here also have much faster machines as their primary systems but enjoy tinkering with these old rigs as a hobby. :)

User avatar
theEMP
Senior K6'er
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 9:28 am

Post by theEMP » Wed Feb 28, 2007 2:13 pm

I'm in the same boat here. I have a newer system but tinker around and surf on older box (950 celly).

User avatar
Stedman5040
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 4:22 pm

Post by Stedman5040 » Thu Mar 01, 2007 4:16 am

@theEMP

Taken a look at your site and am in the process of registering. I have K6+ systems and also an ABIT VA6 slot1 which can take up to a Tualatin 1400S.
Does a Tualatin Celeron @ 1GHz qualify for the program?

Stedman

User avatar
KachiWachi
K6'er Elite
Posts: 507
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 10:53 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post by KachiWachi » Thu Mar 01, 2007 8:19 am

I got you PM...but I have better things to do than to benchmark my system over and over again...at least using the tools that you are using.

Thanks for the invite though.
Moderator - Wim's BIOS

PC #1 - DFI 586IPVG, K6-2/+ 450 (Cyrix MII 433), 128 MB EDO. BIOS patched by Jan Steunebrink.
PC #2 - Amptron PM-7900 (M520), i200 non-MMX, 128 MB EDO
PC #3 - HP8766C, PIII-667, 768 MB SDRAM
PC #4 - ASUS P3V4X, PIII-733, 256 MB SDRAM
PC #5 - Gateway 700X, P4-2.0 GHz, 768 MB PC800 RDRAM
PC #6 - COMPAQ Evo N1020v laptop, P4-2.4 GHz, 1 GB PC2700 DDR
PC #7 - Dell Dimension 4600i, P4-2.8 GHz, 512 MB PC2700 DDR
PC #8 - Acer EeePC netbook, Atom N270 @ 1.60 GHz, 1 GB RAM
PC #9 - ??? ;)

User avatar
theEMP
Senior K6'er
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 9:28 am

Post by theEMP » Thu Mar 01, 2007 12:26 pm

@Stedman: Anything 1Ghz and under. We just had a tbird 1GHz run the benches last nite.

@KachiWachi: Sorry you feel that way...but to each their own. Would you recommend different benchmark programs? I tried to select benchmarks that were fairly quick and could run on just about any system. I didn't want anyone to feel left out because their system couldn't run something.

I'm open to suggestions :D

User avatar
KachiWachi
K6'er Elite
Posts: 507
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 10:53 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post by KachiWachi » Thu Mar 01, 2007 6:11 pm

I was always taught that the only way to benchmark a system is in DOS.

Unfortunately, every "modern" benchmarking tool runs in Windows only.

Thanks.
Moderator - Wim's BIOS

PC #1 - DFI 586IPVG, K6-2/+ 450 (Cyrix MII 433), 128 MB EDO. BIOS patched by Jan Steunebrink.
PC #2 - Amptron PM-7900 (M520), i200 non-MMX, 128 MB EDO
PC #3 - HP8766C, PIII-667, 768 MB SDRAM
PC #4 - ASUS P3V4X, PIII-733, 256 MB SDRAM
PC #5 - Gateway 700X, P4-2.0 GHz, 768 MB PC800 RDRAM
PC #6 - COMPAQ Evo N1020v laptop, P4-2.4 GHz, 1 GB PC2700 DDR
PC #7 - Dell Dimension 4600i, P4-2.8 GHz, 512 MB PC2700 DDR
PC #8 - Acer EeePC netbook, Atom N270 @ 1.60 GHz, 1 GB RAM
PC #9 - ??? ;)

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Jim » Fri Mar 02, 2007 7:36 am

@ KachiWachi : What DOS benchmarks do you use? Links? If not available through links could you PM me instruction on how to get them?
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

User avatar
theEMP
Senior K6'er
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 9:28 am

Post by theEMP » Fri Mar 02, 2007 12:41 pm

well if you bench systems running the same OS (probably XP on alot of boxes) then that's shouldn't convolute the results badly. It would be like putting comparable systems on DOS based benchmarks would it not?

Given folks tend to tweak and turn stuff off that's not needed while running the benchmarks so results might vary slightly...but then again it's all in good fun and friendly competition.

User avatar
KachiWachi
K6'er Elite
Posts: 507
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 10:53 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post by KachiWachi » Sat Mar 03, 2007 6:58 am

You really can't run XP on a machine that is only capable of having 128 MB of EDO installed...

The problem with Windows testing is that you never know what each system is running. If you really want to do it right, it needs to be a "clean" OS install...no IM's or AV running, etc...

Testing in DOS avoids this...because nothing is running. :wink:

I don't even know if any of the tools I have used are still available.
Moderator - Wim's BIOS

PC #1 - DFI 586IPVG, K6-2/+ 450 (Cyrix MII 433), 128 MB EDO. BIOS patched by Jan Steunebrink.
PC #2 - Amptron PM-7900 (M520), i200 non-MMX, 128 MB EDO
PC #3 - HP8766C, PIII-667, 768 MB SDRAM
PC #4 - ASUS P3V4X, PIII-733, 256 MB SDRAM
PC #5 - Gateway 700X, P4-2.0 GHz, 768 MB PC800 RDRAM
PC #6 - COMPAQ Evo N1020v laptop, P4-2.4 GHz, 1 GB PC2700 DDR
PC #7 - Dell Dimension 4600i, P4-2.8 GHz, 512 MB PC2700 DDR
PC #8 - Acer EeePC netbook, Atom N270 @ 1.60 GHz, 1 GB RAM
PC #9 - ??? ;)

User avatar
Uranium235
Senior K6'er
Posts: 183
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 9:59 pm

Post by Uranium235 » Sat Mar 03, 2007 12:14 pm

The problem with Windows testing is that you never know what each system is running. If you really want to do it right, it needs to be a "clean" OS install...no IM's or AV running, etc...

Testing in DOS avoids this...because nothing is running.
Well said. :)

User avatar
theEMP
Senior K6'er
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 9:28 am

Post by theEMP » Sat Mar 03, 2007 4:31 pm

well true...I guess that would give better consistant results. K6plus has given some great representation over at CSF.

Well tell us what the DOS tools were and maybe we can get a FREEDOS disk or something together for folks :D

User avatar
KachiWachi
K6'er Elite
Posts: 507
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 10:53 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post by KachiWachi » Sun Mar 04, 2007 8:21 am

I will say I do have some Windows-based test utilities on my PC...only because they are small.

CPUMark99 (it's small)
Superpi Mod 1.5 (though I have not run it yet)
Everest Home v2.00.325 (last "complete" home version)
Everest Home v2.20.475 (last home version...missing features though)
HD Tach (for HDD performance testing)

Everest is installed not for testing purposes, but for its other diagnostic capabilities. I had a lot to do with finding bugs in it relating to my PC and the K6 CPU, including the addition of the CPU MSR Dump feature.

You do need to specify which Everest you are using, because as Fiery mentions... "your results may vary".

For testing in DOS, I use CTCM7 (can also check video performance), CACHECHK v7, and CACHEMEM 2.65MMX on occasion.

For reference, I also have CPU-Z, Process Explorer, TCPView, and AIDA32 v3.93.8 (which is now Everest) installed. I have AIDA32 v3.94.2 (recently found), but it is not installed.

Thanks.
Moderator - Wim's BIOS

PC #1 - DFI 586IPVG, K6-2/+ 450 (Cyrix MII 433), 128 MB EDO. BIOS patched by Jan Steunebrink.
PC #2 - Amptron PM-7900 (M520), i200 non-MMX, 128 MB EDO
PC #3 - HP8766C, PIII-667, 768 MB SDRAM
PC #4 - ASUS P3V4X, PIII-733, 256 MB SDRAM
PC #5 - Gateway 700X, P4-2.0 GHz, 768 MB PC800 RDRAM
PC #6 - COMPAQ Evo N1020v laptop, P4-2.4 GHz, 1 GB PC2700 DDR
PC #7 - Dell Dimension 4600i, P4-2.8 GHz, 512 MB PC2700 DDR
PC #8 - Acer EeePC netbook, Atom N270 @ 1.60 GHz, 1 GB RAM
PC #9 - ??? ;)

Post Reply