Differences between k6bv3+ and p5bv3+

Off topic chat and stuff that doesn't fit elsewhere.
Post Reply
spacemarine
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 11:04 am
Location: Civis Romanus Sum

Differences between k6bv3+ and p5bv3+

Post by spacemarine » Sun Jan 27, 2008 1:22 pm

what are the differences between k6bv3+ (not /66 version) and p5bv3+?

I have found many different specs for p5bv3+ on google, and don't know which is the correct one.

Thks in advance for the answer

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

RE: Differences between k6bv3+ and p5bv3+

Post by Jim » Sun Jan 27, 2008 7:40 pm

Beats me. The boards look identical. I was sold a P5bv3+ by a seller who claimed to be selling a K6BV3+; but I never used it because the floppy controller was dead..
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

User avatar
kalabok
Senior K6'er
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 11:40 am
Location: germany

Post by kalabok » Mon Jan 28, 2008 5:14 am

i had both boards for testing,

what can i say? the p5bv3+ has a maximum of 1mb cache. it does support k6plus cpus (which the k6bv3+ does not) and has a great feature in powering off the fan, if the cpu is below a certain temperature.

i would suggest to download the manual from the official dfi site:

http://www.dfi.com/support1/download2.asp

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Jim » Mon Jan 28, 2008 7:43 am

I beg your pardon; but the K6BV3+/66 RevB most certainly does support K6plus cpu. This machine I am using is one with one.
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

User avatar
kalabok
Senior K6'er
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 11:40 am
Location: germany

Post by kalabok » Mon Jan 28, 2008 7:52 am

thats true, jim - but spacemarine asked for the older version of that board. the/66 version has by far better options (ata66, voltage down to 1,3V and a 256kb bios) which the normal version has not.

spacemarine
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 11:04 am
Location: Civis Romanus Sum

Post by spacemarine » Mon Jan 28, 2008 12:35 pm

Many thanks for all the answers :D

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Jim » Mon Jan 28, 2008 5:14 pm

Point, I stand corrected. Thanks.
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

scheiss_freaks
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 2:13 pm
Location: Munich, Germany

Post by scheiss_freaks » Fri Feb 29, 2008 2:38 pm

Hey guys,
just wanted to let you know, that, since yesterday, I have running a AMD K6-III+ 400 MHz ATZ on my K6BV3+ rev:A1
It first refused to boot, prompting "unknown CPU", but after flashing the "latest" beta Bios (with a K6-2 installed) from here it now woks really well.
One problem still remains, the lowest vcore option on this board is 2.0V and my new K6 would rather like 1.6V. I'll see how good this works out. :roll:

And btw, my board also does power off the cpu fan, if the temp is under ~30°C
:)

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Jim » Fri Feb 29, 2008 6:28 pm

Your processor is rated at 1.6v, true; but it is also true that all K6-3+s came from the same wafers; and that the ACZ versions are rated for 2.v; so you need not worry that you are dangerously overvolting the processor. Truth is most people use either the 5.5x multiplier, or the 2x, (which the processor remaps to 6x), to achieve 550 or 600 Mhz, and that, usually at 2.1v.
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

Post Reply