Where is everyone?

Off topic chat and stuff that doesn't fit elsewhere.
moondog
Junior K6'er
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 5:34 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by moondog » Sat Jun 04, 2011 11:53 am

I still have a Voodoo 2 SLI setup with two Diamond Monster 3D 2 with 12 MB each and selfmade SLI cable... they were running like hell, unfortunately the setup under XP is quite tricky, so they´re laying aside untill I setup a new machine for using them. I guess my whole socket 7 cpu collection isn´t powerful enough to make a real use of those cards :/

I got several 12 MB Voodoo´s so far, but never an 8 MB model ;)

Greetings,

moondog
K6-3+ ATZ 400@616@2,4 Volt
Epox MVP3G5
768 MB Apacer PC133 CL2.0
Geforce 4 TI 4200

IPC Powernote
K6-3+ ATZ 400@500@1,8 Volt (Prime-stable)
512 MB (!!!) PC 133 RAM :-D
Ati Rage Mobility M 4 MB

User avatar
jsc1973
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 394
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2001 11:55 am
Contact:

Post by jsc1973 » Thu Jun 09, 2011 2:45 pm

stevenaaus wrote:Yah... but Tnt2 was almost equivalent to the Voodoo2 in 3D anyway.
As it should have been, considering it was a generation ahead of the Voodoo2. TNT2 competed with the Voodoo3. That was the product where the market finally caught up with 3dfx.
FIC VA-503+, Rev. 1.2, AMD K6-III+ 450@550MHz, 80GB Seagate ATA-100, 3dfx Voodoo3 3500 TV, TB Montego II Quadzilla, Win98se, 384MB PC100

Compaq Presario 1273, AMD K6-III+ 450@400MHz 1.8v, 40GB Samsung 5400RPM, extremely hacked Win98SE, 288 (yes, 288!) MB RAM
(Also an AMD FX-8350, which does the heavy lifting these days...)

User avatar
Tetrium
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 3:21 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by Tetrium » Fri Jun 10, 2011 5:56 am

stevenaaus wrote:Yah... but Tnt2 was almost equivalent to the Voodoo2 in 3D anyway.
Yes, but it's a TNT2 Model 64, say, the budget version of TNT. And I wanted a AGP graphics card with the most amount of memory but the least amount of heat to prevent any potential troubles with the AGP slot not being able to handle the juice.
And I used a Voodoo 2 because that was the whole point of building that rig in the first place :D
GA-5AX rev 4.1
K6-III/400 AFR (Desktop 2.2v CPU)
256MB PC-100 cl2 SDRAM
TNT2 M64 16MB AGP
Voodoo 2 12MB (single card)
Windows ME (Yes, it rocks ;D)

mikemex
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 11:00 pm
Location: Mexico

Post by mikemex » Sat Jun 11, 2011 12:20 pm

I also have TNT-M64 running in the system. I doubt anything serious can be done on that card but still spent a couple of days trying several versions of the graphics driver for Windows XP. Almost no release works, the only version that runs both OpenGL and Direct3D fine is 45 series, I think is 45.23.

User avatar
Tetrium
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 3:21 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by Tetrium » Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:28 pm

I never tried running any games on my TNT2-M64, I used it only for 2D while the V2 is used for gaming. My Super 7 rig is purely meant for Glide.
I'm using ME btw, not XP.
GA-5AX rev 4.1
K6-III/400 AFR (Desktop 2.2v CPU)
256MB PC-100 cl2 SDRAM
TNT2 M64 16MB AGP
Voodoo 2 12MB (single card)
Windows ME (Yes, it rocks ;D)

DonPedro
K6'er Elite
Posts: 575
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 2:11 pm

Post by DonPedro » Wed Jul 06, 2011 5:39 pm

tetrium,

when you are looking for an agp-card with lots of vram (256mb) and low on energy consumption look for nvidia fx 5700 cards. they fit perfectly with socket-7 technology (as long as you use no driver version above 5x.xx, ie avoid 6x.xx and above at all costs).

User avatar
Tetrium
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 3:21 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by Tetrium » Thu Jul 14, 2011 4:45 pm

Thanks for the advice on the NV drivers, now THAT'S some info I can use! ;D

And concerning the 16MB of RAM on the AGP (2D) card, 16MB is more then enough for fast Windows browsing using ok screen resolutions ;)
GA-5AX rev 4.1
K6-III/400 AFR (Desktop 2.2v CPU)
256MB PC-100 cl2 SDRAM
TNT2 M64 16MB AGP
Voodoo 2 12MB (single card)
Windows ME (Yes, it rocks ;D)

User avatar
Jonnywizard
K6'er
Posts: 92
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2001 11:35 am
Location: Fargo, ND
Contact:

Post by Jonnywizard » Thu Sep 27, 2012 2:53 am

Been gone for quite some time. With everything that has been going on in my life all my K6 and + chips have been retired and are gathering dust.

I should put some stuff up for sale. I've probably got 5-7 mobos in boxes somewhere and at least the same amount of chips, if not a few more.

Anyway.

Nohr, good to see that this site is still alive and kicking. And thanks for the FTP, still. :)

WOW, my avatar is still here, cool.

Post Reply