Where is everyone?

Off topic chat and stuff that doesn't fit elsewhere.
Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Jim » Fri Feb 18, 2011 11:02 pm

Taz I've got more than I'll ever use. Tell you what, PM me your address and I'll send you one of each. The ASUS is the better board though it has far less cache; - better chipset.
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

User avatar
tazwegion
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 349
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2003 11:13 am
Location: Victoria, Australia

Post by tazwegion » Sat Feb 19, 2011 9:18 pm

Jim wrote:Taz I've got more than I'll ever use. Tell you what, PM me your address and I'll send you one of each.

How could anyone refuse such generosity? give me time to build up funds in my Paypal account to at least cover the shipping costs okay? :)

Jim wrote:The ASUS is the better board though it has far less cache; - better chipset.
Yes I remember these forums comparing those chipsets in benchmark testing...
Image

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Jim » Sun Feb 20, 2011 2:38 am

whenever you are ready; - Good to see you back here !!
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

User avatar
tazwegion
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 349
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2003 11:13 am
Location: Victoria, Australia

Post by tazwegion » Mon Feb 21, 2011 3:52 am

Thanks, it's good to be back :twisted:
Image

User avatar
mamba
Senior K6'er
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:42 am
Location: Italy

Post by mamba » Sun Apr 10, 2011 6:54 am

I check the forum every two or three days, just to watch if there is something new.
I' ve nothing new to say anyway! So I'm silent!

BTW I'm not stopping messing around my K6 rig, GA5AX now.
The MVP3G5 has been sold.

In fact right now I'm searching for a PCI 2.1 SATA2 card, don't know if it exist.

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Jim » Sun Apr 10, 2011 5:09 pm

Unfortunately niether do I.
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

nightbear
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2011 5:13 am

Post by nightbear » Thu Apr 14, 2011 11:15 am

Hello everybody,

I just registered recently but have been reading here for many years.

I´m a confessing K6(III)+ user myself till today and I just put two machines together using existing components as additional PCs for my office.

You really can still use Socket7 systems today for surfing the internet and Microsoft Office applications without any problems.

Running Win2K such a system only uses 100 - 200 MB of RAM - so who needs Win7?

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Jim » Thu Apr 14, 2011 4:33 pm

I sure don't need Win7, I just use 98 SE and XP Pro. Problem being every new version of "Windopes" is bigger, more bloated, and slower than all the versions before. Who needs that ?
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

nightbear
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2011 5:13 am

Post by nightbear » Sun Apr 17, 2011 1:23 pm

You´re right, Jim. Windows, applications and even drivers are more and more turning from software into bloatware.

When hardware-resources used to be scarce, software had to be coded in an elegant and efficiant way to run properly. Today there´s CPU and graphicpower unlimited and software developers can afford to code sloppy programs without performance-troubles. The result is a pingpong game between hardware and software industry while the user is supposed to buy new systems and programs every year.

Fortunately there´s still lots of fun to be had with old hardware and "legacy" OSses.

At the moment I´m upgrading an old Sony Vayo Notebook, a PCG-F610.
It´s got a 14" XGA LCD, VIA MVP4 chipset and came with a K6-2+ 550 MHz.

I fitted a new 160 GB harddrive in (127 GB being recognized), upgraded the BIOS, put in 512 MB of SO-DIMM and a K6-III+ 450 ACZ running smoothly at 550 MHz, the BIOS´s default speed.
The CPU is identified correctly as AMD K6-III+ 550 MHz by the BIOS btw.

Onboard graphic is a pathetic Trident Cyberblade i7 with 8MB RAM.

Running Windows 2K and 16bit Colour-depth I have a perfect Notebook for everyday work. Using WinDVD4 you can even watch DVDs at less than 50% CPU utilisation.

For networking there´s a PC-Card (LAN and WLAN).

Maybe I should take some pictures of POST etc.

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Jim » Sun Apr 17, 2011 4:44 pm

One other trick I use, is I only "Update" my versions of "Windopes" so far. After that I no longer "Update". Why ? Answer : Because first of all, "Updateing" your OS BLOATS it, and second I suspect that when an OS gets "OLD", MS, (Moronshit), deliberately starts putting BUGS in the "Updates" to destabilize the OS, and thereby encourage people to BUY a new one.
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

User avatar
tazwegion
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 349
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2003 11:13 am
Location: Victoria, Australia

Post by tazwegion » Sun Apr 24, 2011 11:20 pm

nightbear wrote: You really can still use Socket7 systems today for surfing the internet and Microsoft Office applications without any problems.

Running Win2K such a system only uses 100 - 200 MB of RAM - so who needs Win7?

Linux isn't RAM hungry either and it's a nice break from the MS offerings (currently running Fedora), on my other PC's I only run XP Sp3 because I need the USB drivers of Sp2 and I couldn't locate a Sp2 distro (hence the Sp3) 8)


BTW welcome to the forums! :wink:
Image

User avatar
Tetrium
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 3:21 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by Tetrium » Fri May 06, 2011 3:35 pm

I could basically quote Nightbear, been lurking these forums for YEARS, high time I registered here. This site is a GREAT wealth of information.

Reason?
Because I think (Super) Socket 7 rigs are plain cool to have!
440BX is just boring lol!

If I did it correctly, you should see my (atm only)SS7 rig in my sig

Edit:Anda...nope. I'll go fix it lol

Edit2:Can't figure it out lol, so this will have to do for now:

My Super 7 system:
GA-5AX rev 4.1
K6-III/400 AFR (Desktop 2.2v CPU)
256MB PC-100 cl2 SDRAM
TNT2 M64 16MB AGP
Voodoo 2 12MB (single card)
Windows ME (Yes, it rocks ;D)

Played the entire Unreal 1 campaign, not a single crash ;)

User avatar
stevenaaus
K6'er
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 6:09 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by stevenaaus » Wed Jun 01, 2011 4:58 am

Interesting system... :o Dual vids.

> Windows ME (Yes, it rocks ;D)
> Played the entire Unreal 1 campaign, not a single crash

Haha
p54-166/p55-200 - ga586
k6/2-380@412 - txp4
k75-750 slot a - pcchips 800LMR (rock solid)
compaq C2.4Ghz - U8668grand (cheap)
Sempron 3400+ (754) - K8VM800M, FX5600, Fedora 7
E5200 - Asrock 4CoreDual-Sata2
Core 2 Quad 9400 - Asus P5G41-M

User avatar
Tetrium
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 3:21 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by Tetrium » Sat Jun 04, 2011 6:08 am

stevenaaus wrote:Interesting system... :o Dual vids.
Must be, as Voodoo 2 is 3D only :P
GA-5AX rev 4.1
K6-III/400 AFR (Desktop 2.2v CPU)
256MB PC-100 cl2 SDRAM
TNT2 M64 16MB AGP
Voodoo 2 12MB (single card)
Windows ME (Yes, it rocks ;D)

User avatar
stevenaaus
K6'er
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 6:09 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by stevenaaus » Sat Jun 04, 2011 6:26 am

Yah... but Tnt2 was almost equivalent to the Voodoo2 in 3D anyway.

I never saw a 12mb Voodoo. Most were 8mb i think. I still have mine, and it works(worked) in Linux, but begeezus it's a lot of effort to setup.
p54-166/p55-200 - ga586
k6/2-380@412 - txp4
k75-750 slot a - pcchips 800LMR (rock solid)
compaq C2.4Ghz - U8668grand (cheap)
Sempron 3400+ (754) - K8VM800M, FX5600, Fedora 7
E5200 - Asrock 4CoreDual-Sata2
Core 2 Quad 9400 - Asus P5G41-M

Post Reply