This site is killing mozilla 1.0

Off topic chat and stuff that doesn't fit elsewhere.
io333
K6'er Elite
Posts: 888
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2001 11:11 am

This site is killing mozilla 1.0

Post by io333 » Wed Jul 31, 2002 10:33 pm

I don't know what's up, but when I try to go to <!--EZCODE AUTOLINK START--><a href="http://www.k6plus.50megs.com">www.k6plus.50megs.com</a><!--EZCODE AUTOLINK END--> under mozilla1.0 for linux, the browser locks up hard. It only just started doing this. What changed? <p></p><i></i>

io333
K6'er Elite
Posts: 888
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2001 11:11 am

f

Post by io333 » Wed Jul 31, 2002 10:35 pm

ok, after about 2 minutes, mozilla came back to life. it still stucks that it locks for 2 minutes though. <p></p><i></i>

User avatar
jsc1973
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 394
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2001 11:55 am
Contact:

...

Post by jsc1973 » Wed Jul 31, 2002 10:58 pm

Probably just a bug in the Linux version. I'm typing this on Mozilla 1.1b for Windows. I installed it this evening, and if what I've seen is any indication, it's a lot faster than IE6.<br><br>I did find one site that it didn't render right, though. <!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :( --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/im ... /frown.gif ALT=":("><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <p></p><i></i>
FIC VA-503+, Rev. 1.2, AMD K6-III+ 450@550MHz, 80GB Seagate ATA-100, 3dfx Voodoo3 3500 TV, TB Montego II Quadzilla, Win98se, 384MB PC100

Compaq Presario 1273, AMD K6-III+ 450@400MHz 1.8v, 40GB Samsung 5400RPM, extremely hacked Win98SE, 288 (yes, 288!) MB RAM
(Also an AMD FX-8350, which does the heavy lifting these days...)

Mr Toastz
K6'er Elite
Posts: 901
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2001 11:41 am

Re: Mozilla

Post by Mr Toastz » Thu Aug 01, 2002 1:20 pm

The Mozilla on the macs here is very speedy as well. There are odd issues though (but the IE often has similar issues...).<br><br>Can't wait to see how awesomely Mozilla works after they track all the bugs down! <p></p><i></i>

jonwest 01
K6'er
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2001 5:09 pm

I heard mozilla..

Post by jonwest 01 » Thu Aug 01, 2002 4:09 pm

...has a settign to disable pop up windows. If that's true I'm switching ASAP! <p></p><i></i>

chevyt98
Senior K6'er
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2001 7:34 pm
Location: Canada

Re: I heard mozilla..

Post by chevyt98 » Thu Aug 01, 2002 5:09 pm

Sorry I don't know what all the fuss is about. I tried 1.1b and with my 56k connection I don't see a speed difference over ie6 at all.<br><br>Is it that its open source and free that has people all abuzz, thus helping to say lets show Microsoft and boycott IE ?<br><br>Regards Chevy<br><br>Please note I do use ie6 just as a personal preference and am not a Microsoft fan club booster. <p></p><i></i>

Mr Toastz
K6'er Elite
Posts: 901
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2001 11:41 am

Re: I heard mozilla..

Post by Mr Toastz » Thu Aug 01, 2002 5:21 pm

I just asked WrongForum and he says that there is indeed a setting to disable popup windows in Mozilla... <p></p><i></i>

georgep1
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 325
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2001 6:09 pm

Mozilla Good

Post by georgep1 » Thu Aug 01, 2002 11:24 pm

There are all kinds of privacy/security settings in Mozilla that aren't available in IE or Netscape. Very nice. Mozilla is my preferred browser on both Windows and Linux. <p></p><i></i>
E-Machines T6000 (AMD64 3200+) (Don't laugh! It absolutely rocks!)
GigaByte K7N400 Pro2, 3200+, 1 GB DDR, 80 GB WD SE
Epox MVPG5, K6-III+@550, 384 SDRAM, 80 GB WD SE
TX97-XE, K6-III+@400, 256 SDRAM, 40 GB WD HD

User avatar
blue
Site Admin
Posts: 1047
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2001 2:37 pm
Location: Sacramento
Contact:

Re: Mozilla Good

Post by blue » Fri Aug 02, 2002 12:27 am

there is one really good way to fix mozilla, format your linux partition to ntfs.<br>install win2k or winxp and use IE <p>vvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv <br>Duron 1ghz@1.17ghz(9.5x123)<br>Iwill KK266plus<br>256mb Ram@156mhz cas2 fastest settings<br>rustic 4.1 home made sound system<br>Radeon 8500LE 310/350<br>20GB 7200rpm ata100 harddrive(western digital<br>Windows XP pro<br>Yamaha 16x10x40 burner<br>Soundblaster Live! 5.1 OEM<br></p><i></i>
p3 1ghz laptop
geforce2 go
256mb ram

georgep1
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 325
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2001 6:09 pm

Re: Re: Mozilla Good

Post by georgep1 » Fri Aug 02, 2002 7:19 am

" there is one really good way to fix mozilla, format your linux partition to ntfs. install win2k or winxp and use IE"<br><br>How sad...you should get out more. Here's a <!--EZCODE LINK START--><a href="http://www.fuckmicrosoft.com/content/ms ... <!--EZCODE LINK END--> you should read... <p></p><i>Edited by: <A HREF=http://pub70.ezboard.com/ugeorgep1.show ... eorgep1</A>  <IMG HEIGHT=10 WIDTH=10 SRC="http://www.ezboard.com/ezgfx/gicons/black_lightning.gif" BORDER=0> at: 8/2/02 9:22:50 am<br></i>
E-Machines T6000 (AMD64 3200+) (Don't laugh! It absolutely rocks!)
GigaByte K7N400 Pro2, 3200+, 1 GB DDR, 80 GB WD SE
Epox MVPG5, K6-III+@550, 384 SDRAM, 80 GB WD SE
TX97-XE, K6-III+@400, 256 SDRAM, 40 GB WD HD

io333
K6'er Elite
Posts: 888
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2001 11:11 am

x

Post by io333 » Fri Aug 02, 2002 8:09 am

i upgraded in linux to the moz1.1b version, and it seems better now. <br><br>to get rid of popups, just go to the security section of preferences and somewhere in there (easy to find) are settings for "not allowing sites to pop up windows" (which still allows pop ups that are deliberately clicked, like at hardocp), "not allowing sites to move windows" (so annoying!), "not allowing sites to change cookies", etc, etc.<br><br>but in defense of blue, after two days of being booted into gentoolinux, i'm back in windows now and i think my metabolic rate has dropped quite a few points (i.e., windows just works). <p></p><i></i>

User avatar
blue
Site Admin
Posts: 1047
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2001 2:37 pm
Location: Sacramento
Contact:

Re: x

Post by blue » Fri Aug 02, 2002 12:08 pm

<!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :) --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/im ... /smile.gif ALT=":)"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <p>vvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv <br>Duron 1ghz@1.17ghz(9.5x123)<br>Iwill KK266plus<br>256mb Ram@156mhz cas2 fastest settings<br>rustic 4.1 home made sound system<br>Radeon 8500LE 310/350<br>20GB 7200rpm ata100 harddrive(western digital<br>Windows XP pro<br>Yamaha 16x10x40 burner<br>Soundblaster Live! 5.1 OEM<br></p><i></i>
p3 1ghz laptop
geforce2 go
256mb ram

io333
K6'er Elite
Posts: 888
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2001 11:11 am

hidden files

Post by io333 » Fri Aug 02, 2002 10:38 pm

Yea yea, I know about all the hidden files stuff. We all know about the ability of Msoft & the gov to go roaming through our windows boxes whenever they feel like it.<br><br>My thing about all that is this:<br><br>So?<br><br>If they want my porn collection, fine, they can have it. But it's probably faster for them if they just get their own porn 'cause I only have 30 cps upstream. They can probably get way better better porn than I have anyway 'cause they have tax dollars to spend on it and I don't so all my porn is free and mostly sucks.<br><br>Sheesh, I've already had to reveal every most intimate detail of my life to so many corporations and gov't agencies at this point that there's nothing at all in my pc (or in my life!) that they don't already know about. <br><br>If they wanna waste their time rummaging through my hard drive, fine. I'm just gonna use whatever OS is fun. <p></p><i></i>

User avatar
blue
Site Admin
Posts: 1047
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2001 2:37 pm
Location: Sacramento
Contact:

x

Post by blue » Fri Aug 02, 2002 11:19 pm

yeah thats what I have been telling toast!<br>its not like I have anything to hide, everyone has seen gay midget beastality with wild monkeys dancing around.<br>but microsoft can get all they wan't off my hard drive :P <p></p><i></i>
p3 1ghz laptop
geforce2 go
256mb ram

georgep1
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 325
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2001 6:09 pm

Re: Doh!

Post by georgep1 » Sat Aug 03, 2002 8:20 am

Doh!<br><br>Who cares whether they view your porn collection or not. And there are far better ways to accumulate such a collection, if you really want to, than browsing the web.<br><br>You don't have to have to be fearful of M$ finding "gay midget beastality with wild monkeys dancing around" in order to be dismayed or outraged by the practices of an arrogant large corporation that does anything they want, without thinking they have any responsibility to notify you of their questionable and/or unethical practices. Sure, they are just one of many large arrogant corporations that act that way, but I don't have to support them.<br><br>To me it is essentially the same as spyware. There is functionality they put in there that does nothing good for you, but eats up resources (in this case lots and lots and lots of HD space) for no good reason. After not having formatted the HD on my main browsing computer for over a year and a half, I reclaimed 1.5 GB of space on it by deleting the files mentioned in the link.<br><br>As for the "it just works" thing...what doesn't work for you in Linux or Mozilla? Sure you may have to have the geek gene to get some of the more advanced functionality to work nicely, but for browsing, e-mail, basic word processing and the like, it works just fine, and it also never crashes.<br><br>I suppose I will have a M$ OS for a long time...as long as they provide functionality that Linux (without going through extreme hoop jumping) doesn't, and as long as a lot of good games aren't ported to Linux. I just don't plan on purchasing anything new from them unless absolutely necessary (as defined by my personal rules of absolute necessity<!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :) --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/im ... /smile.gif ALT=":)"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <p> Epox MVP3G5,K6-3+450@618,256MB SDRAM,CL GF2 GTS,IBM 60GXP 20GB,Fortissimo II Sound<BR>ASUS TX97-XE,K6-3+450@500,256MB SDRAM,Voodoo4 4500 PCI,WD 40GB,SB AWE64 Sound </p><i></i>
E-Machines T6000 (AMD64 3200+) (Don't laugh! It absolutely rocks!)
GigaByte K7N400 Pro2, 3200+, 1 GB DDR, 80 GB WD SE
Epox MVPG5, K6-III+@550, 384 SDRAM, 80 GB WD SE
TX97-XE, K6-III+@400, 256 SDRAM, 40 GB WD HD

Post Reply