Site features on-the-move...

Post your thoughts and suggestions about any part of the site.
cake
Bios Fryer
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2001 3:12 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Post by cake » Fri Nov 11, 2005 9:34 am

As Nohr stated I prefer scrolling, would also like to say I like the current
speed on the scrolling ie no speed ups for me.
XP-M 2400+ @ 10x220, Epox 8RDA3+
512 MB PC3200 KingMax
15 GB Quantum Fireball LCT + 60 GB Seagate Barracuda IV
Radeon 8500LE

User avatar
KachiWachi
K6'er Elite
Posts: 507
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 10:53 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post by KachiWachi » Fri Nov 11, 2005 11:31 am

The scrolling is OK for me... 8)

Yeah...it's an old S3 86C385 ViRGE/GX with 4MB RAM from a COMPAQ. I don't game, so 3D performance is not an issue.

My monitor is a Sampo AlphaScan KM-835 (19")...no problems with him at all. ;)

[KM-835.AddReg]
HKR,"MODES\1600,1200",Mode1,,"30.0-86.0,50.0-200.0,+,+"
Moderator - Wim's BIOS

PC #1 - DFI 586IPVG, K6-2/+ 450 (Cyrix MII 433), 128 MB EDO. BIOS patched by Jan Steunebrink.
PC #2 - Amptron PM-7900 (M520), i200 non-MMX, 128 MB EDO
PC #3 - HP8766C, PIII-667, 768 MB SDRAM
PC #4 - ASUS P3V4X, PIII-733, 256 MB SDRAM
PC #5 - Gateway 700X, P4-2.0 GHz, 768 MB PC800 RDRAM
PC #6 - COMPAQ Evo N1020v laptop, P4-2.4 GHz, 1 GB PC2700 DDR
PC #7 - Dell Dimension 4600i, P4-2.8 GHz, 512 MB PC2700 DDR
PC #8 - Acer EeePC netbook, Atom N270 @ 1.60 GHz, 1 GB RAM
PC #9 - ??? ;)

User avatar
Nohr
Nohrmal
Posts: 734
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2001 8:26 pm
Location: Nacogdoches, TX
Contact:

Post by Nohr » Fri Nov 11, 2005 11:52 am

KachiWachi wrote:Yeah...it's an old S3 86C385 ViRGE/GX with 4MB RAM from a COMPAQ. I don't game, so 3D performance is not an issue.
Dang man! Dig some loose change out of the couch and upgrade that thing! :lol:

DonPedro
K6'er Elite
Posts: 575
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 2:11 pm

Post by DonPedro » Fri Nov 11, 2005 1:37 pm

with my favourite screen res set to 1280x960 it is just fine. no scrolling appears. perfect.

User avatar
tazwegion
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 349
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2003 11:13 am
Location: Victoria, Australia

Post by tazwegion » Fri Nov 11, 2005 10:11 pm

LMAO I had an S3 Virge 4Mb PCI card in my original 1997 system :lol: I ended up slapping it into my Father-in-laws KT-133 Mobo/Duron system as the early generation AGP I have (Rage3D IIC) wasn't compatible... good 'ol PCI :P

Nohr you've been busy... nice touch that scrolling 'latest posts' feature a truly sweet deal! :D

Just an idea... but how about modding the Who's Online feature to actually list other members presently viewing forums? ;)
Image

User avatar
Nohr
Nohrmal
Posts: 734
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2001 8:26 pm
Location: Nacogdoches, TX
Contact:

Post by Nohr » Fri Nov 11, 2005 10:20 pm

tazwegion wrote:Just an idea... but how about modding the Who's Online feature to actually list other members presently viewing forums? ;)
Done.

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Jim » Fri Nov 11, 2005 10:57 pm

Now there is a change that I like! Thanks.
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

User avatar
tazwegion
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 349
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2003 11:13 am
Location: Victoria, Australia

Post by tazwegion » Sat Nov 12, 2005 2:48 am

Hmmm... thanks, looks good... did I notice also a change to the IM configuration @ the main page? :o

For some unknown reason... I must refresh the forum pages 90% of the time or it's totally WIDESCREEN :lol: btw I'm using Firefox ;)
Image

User avatar
KachiWachi
K6'er Elite
Posts: 507
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 10:53 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post by KachiWachi » Sat Nov 12, 2005 5:16 am

:idea: OK...here is a good feature to add. :idea:

When you look at the forum post list, you see on the right who the last poster was and at what time they posted. Clicking something over there (date/time perhaps?) will take you to the last post in the thread, so you can reply immediately, without scrooling down the pages, etc... 8)
Moderator - Wim's BIOS

PC #1 - DFI 586IPVG, K6-2/+ 450 (Cyrix MII 433), 128 MB EDO. BIOS patched by Jan Steunebrink.
PC #2 - Amptron PM-7900 (M520), i200 non-MMX, 128 MB EDO
PC #3 - HP8766C, PIII-667, 768 MB SDRAM
PC #4 - ASUS P3V4X, PIII-733, 256 MB SDRAM
PC #5 - Gateway 700X, P4-2.0 GHz, 768 MB PC800 RDRAM
PC #6 - COMPAQ Evo N1020v laptop, P4-2.4 GHz, 1 GB PC2700 DDR
PC #7 - Dell Dimension 4600i, P4-2.8 GHz, 512 MB PC2700 DDR
PC #8 - Acer EeePC netbook, Atom N270 @ 1.60 GHz, 1 GB RAM
PC #9 - ??? ;)

User avatar
Nohr
Nohrmal
Posts: 734
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2001 8:26 pm
Location: Nacogdoches, TX
Contact:

Post by Nohr » Sat Nov 12, 2005 10:17 am

tazwegion wrote:Hmmm... thanks, looks good... did I notice also a change to the IM configuration @ the main page? :o

For some unknown reason... I must refresh the forum pages 90% of the time or it's totally WIDESCREEN :lol: btw I'm using Firefox ;)
Maybe it's cause it's 10am on a Saturday but I have no idea what you're talking about. :oops: What do you mean by "IM configuration"? Can you elaborate on the widescreen problem you're having?

KachiWachi I'll look in to that, Cake has asked me for this feature as well.

User avatar
Nohr
Nohrmal
Posts: 734
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2001 8:26 pm
Location: Nacogdoches, TX
Contact:

Post by Nohr » Sat Nov 12, 2005 3:33 pm

Just realized something. In Latest Posts you can click the icon beside the subject, Image, to take you straight to the new post in that thread. Never noticed that til now..

cake
Bios Fryer
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2001 3:12 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Post by cake » Sat Nov 12, 2005 8:33 pm

Wonderful!

Now how do we make it bigger and more obvious?

User avatar
tazwegion
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 349
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2003 11:13 am
Location: Victoria, Australia

Post by tazwegion » Sun Nov 13, 2005 1:18 am

Nohr wrote:
tazwegion wrote:Hmmm... thanks, looks good... did I notice also a change to the IM configuration @ the main page? :o

For some unknown reason... I must refresh the forum pages 90% of the time or it's totally WIDESCREEN :lol: btw I'm using Firefox ;)
Maybe it's cause it's 10am on a Saturday but I have no idea what you're talking about. :oops: What do you mean by "IM configuration"? Can you elaborate on the widescreen problem you're having?

KachiWachi I'll look in to that, Cake has asked me for this feature as well.
Well looking @ members online... next to your own name is a (x/x) format for messages unread & messages total... nice! ;)

For that matter, you can also click on the symbol next to a users name and message (IM) directly :D

As for the WIDESCREEN feature, when I load a forum page 9/10 times it's 1.5x a standard page... all spread out with the scrolling latest posts in the centre of the page however a refreash of the page rectifies this problem (till next page loaded) I thought it may have had something to do with the way my Firefox browser was interpreting the page :(
Image

User avatar
Nohr
Nohrmal
Posts: 734
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2001 8:26 pm
Location: Nacogdoches, TX
Contact:

Post by Nohr » Sun Nov 13, 2005 6:34 am

tazwegion wrote:Well looking @ members online... next to your own name is a (x/x) format for messages unread & messages total... nice! ;)

For that matter, you can also click on the symbol next to a users name and message (IM) directly :D

As for the WIDESCREEN feature, when I load a forum page 9/10 times it's 1.5x a standard page... all spread out with the scrolling latest posts in the centre of the page however a refreash of the page rectifies this problem (till next page loaded) I thought it may have had something to do with the way my Firefox browser was interpreting the page :(
Oh you mean PM (Private Message). :idea:

In Firefox I have a horizontal scrollbar nearly all the time no matter what size my browser window is. However it's nowhere near that wide for me, only maybe around 25 pixels extra of white space off to the right. I've yet to figure out why it's doing that in Firefox. IE doesn't seem to have that problem.

Do you have the same problem in IE? What screen resolution are you using?

User avatar
Nohr
Nohrmal
Posts: 734
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2001 8:26 pm
Location: Nacogdoches, TX
Contact:

Post by Nohr » Tue Nov 15, 2005 8:27 pm

DonPedro: We lost your post regarding post attachments during the site downtime but I haven't forgotten the suggestion. I've enabled attachments, max of 150KB per attachment and 3 attachments per post. I may have to adjust it later on, I'll just have to see how it goes.

Post Reply