SETI team

Post your thoughts and suggestions about any part of the site.
Post Reply
User avatar
theEMP
Senior K6'er
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 9:28 am

SETI team

Post by theEMP » Wed Mar 14, 2007 1:00 pm

Doesn't look like the SETI team is very active. I see Nohr still carrying on, but that's about it.

Seems SETI doesn't mind older PCs like F@H does... no interest from the more active members or the PCs just don't stay on?

ipv6ready
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 11:30 am

Post by ipv6ready » Thu Mar 15, 2007 1:32 am

hiya,

I just joined, :D . Just a quick question, would this be a good "burn in" program?

Just learning the basics.
K6-2 500 Gigabyte GA-5AX v5.2
Want to run it as 500GB NAS, Print Server and personal FTP server.

OS Win 2000,

Question will this board take a PCI ATA 133 card and will it recognise HDD larger then 137GB?

Your help is appreciated.

User avatar
Nohr
Nohrmal
Posts: 734
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2001 8:26 pm
Location: Nacogdoches, TX
Contact:

Post by Nohr » Thu Mar 15, 2007 6:23 am

We had a few more members before SETI moved over to the BOINC client a while back. I guess not everyone was interested in updating their accounts and clients.

ipv6ready: SETI will heat up your CPU but other programs do a better job of it. I use Orthos (based on Prime 95) on my Core 2 Duo machine and it's a great CPU burn in/stress tester. Running it raises my CPU temp at least 10C higher than SETI ever has. I think you need Windows XP/2000 to run it and I have no idea if it will work on K6 era systems.

User avatar
theEMP
Senior K6'er
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 9:28 am

Post by theEMP » Thu Mar 15, 2007 10:14 am

ipv6ready wrote:hiya,

I just joined, :D . Just a quick question, would this be a good "burn in" program?

Just learning the basics.
If you are going to burn-in use hot cpu tester.

Prime95 should run on older era PCs, maybe mersenne prime on UBCD?

ipv6ready
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 11:30 am

Post by ipv6ready » Thu Mar 15, 2007 11:13 pm

Hi Nohr,

Quick question. Looking at the K6Plus team computers your Intel is scorching at

CPU type GenuineIntel
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6300 @ 1.86GHz
Number of CPUs 2
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP
Professional Edition, Service Pack 2, (05.01.2600.00)
Measured floating point speed 7910.1 million ops/sec
Measured integer speed 17104.8 million ops/sec


Mine below


CPU type GenuineIntel
Genuine Intel(R) CPU T2250 @ 1.73GHz [x86 Family 6 Model 14 Stepping 8] [fpu tsc sse sse2 mmx]
Number of CPUs 2
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP
Professional Edition, Service Pack 2, (05.01.2600.00)
Measured floating point speed 1525.02 million ops/sec
Measured integer speed 3059.06 million ops/sec


I do have it set to use 1 cpu only at 50% would that be the reason my scores are so low?[/b]
K6-2 500 Gigabyte GA-5AX v5.2
Want to run it as 500GB NAS, Print Server and personal FTP server.

OS Win 2000,

Question will this board take a PCI ATA 133 card and will it recognise HDD larger then 137GB?

Your help is appreciated.

User avatar
Nohr
Nohrmal
Posts: 734
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2001 8:26 pm
Location: Nacogdoches, TX
Contact:

Post by Nohr » Fri Mar 16, 2007 1:18 am

I've always had mine set to use 100% of both cores if available. I don't know if setting it to less effects the built-in benchmark. I've noticed sometimes when I manually run the benchmark that it gives me incorrect results which are about half the speed they should be (with no other programs running, mind you). I've had to run it several times to get accurate results.

My SETI computer page doesn't mention that I have my C2D overclocked to 2.8GHz. The FSB is running at 800MHz (default 533MHz). So if the results look high in comparison that's a good reason why.

User avatar
theEMP
Senior K6'er
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 9:28 am

Post by theEMP » Mon Mar 19, 2007 6:35 am

so Nohr, why do you run SETI?

User avatar
Nohr
Nohrmal
Posts: 734
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2001 8:26 pm
Location: Nacogdoches, TX
Contact:

Post by Nohr » Mon Mar 19, 2007 8:07 am

It's something that interests me and this is a small way I can contribute. Plus it keeps the house warm during the winter. :P

User avatar
jsc1973
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 394
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2001 11:55 am
Contact:

Post by jsc1973 » Mon Mar 19, 2007 3:01 pm

K6-2 500 Gigabyte GA-5AX v5.2
Want to run it as 500GB NAS, Print Server and personal FTP server.

OS Win 2000,

Question will this board take a PCI ATA 133 card and will it recognise HDD larger then 137GB?

Your help is appreciated.
Yes, it will take a PCI ATA133 card, and if the on-board BIOS of the card supports drives more than 137GB, as I am sure it would, you'll be fine there too.
FIC VA-503+, Rev. 1.2, AMD K6-III+ 450@550MHz, 80GB Seagate ATA-100, 3dfx Voodoo3 3500 TV, TB Montego II Quadzilla, Win98se, 384MB PC100

Compaq Presario 1273, AMD K6-III+ 450@400MHz 1.8v, 40GB Samsung 5400RPM, extremely hacked Win98SE, 288 (yes, 288!) MB RAM
(Also an AMD FX-8350, which does the heavy lifting these days...)

Post Reply