The VERY best mobo for my k6+

Discussion relating to Socket 7 hardware.
User avatar
mamba
Senior K6'er
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:42 am
Location: Italy

The VERY best mobo for my k6+

Post by mamba »

Hi guys, time ago I sold my gigabyte Ga-5AX rev5.2, now I'm looking for a mobo to set uo another k6+ system.

I need the best in OC and gaming performance.
I know K6+ is not for gamers, but I want to spill every FPS out from my beloved brother.

I prefer an ATX board.

Please tell me what u think.

sylvan2626
Senior K6'er
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 3:25 pm
Location: Florida, USA

Post by sylvan2626 »

My experience is limited - I "discovered" the K6+ CPUS just recently - BUT I've had fun so far!

I've used two boards so far, a PC Chips M598 and an EPoX EP-MVP3G2. (I also have several other versions of the EPoX SS7 boards based on the MVP3 chipset and a couple of the ASUS P5A boards.) I think that the EPoX boards are rock-solid. No problems so far, anyway. The PC Chips is limited in its functions, and although runs very stable, I would recommend the EPoX board over it.

User avatar
mamba
Senior K6'er
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:42 am
Location: Italy

Post by mamba »

What u think about the Soltek SL-54U5 ?

xroyal1
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 9:55 am

Post by xroyal1 »

Epox MVP3G2! A battle tested winner.
Epox MVP3G2 K6 III 333 @ 400 2.2v

User avatar
mamba
Senior K6'er
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:42 am
Location: Italy

Post by mamba »

But the mvp3g2 has a memory limit to 3x128mbytes...
It hoped to bild a fast system with 512megs...

Guest

Post by Guest »

mamba wrote:But the mvp3g2 has a memory limit to 3x128mbytes...
It hoped to bild a fast system with 512megs...
Not really true....
That is correct according to the owner manuals, but real life experience is VERY different. As long as you use low density, double-sided modules you can use 256MB sticks in the DIMM sockets. One of my EP-MVP3G2 boards currently has 640MB of RAM installed (and yes, it runs). You can also check out Crucial Memory's website (see http://www.crucial.com/store/listparts. ... &submit=Go) to see that they recommend 256MB modules, guaranteed by their Memory Advisor.

The EPoX EP-MVP3G5 is also a very good board and has 2MB of on-board L2 cache, which becomes L3 cache when using K6-"plus" CPUs. The Tyan S1598 (C1 and C2) boards are also highly sought after. Although most of my boards are EPoX SS7 boards based on the MVP3 chipset, I would love to get my hands on the TYAN S1598C2. These SS7 boards are based on the sameMVP3 chipset, but use a better Southbridge chip than my EPoX boards.

I have not used a Soltek board, but it seems to be well-regarded. Some other boards that I have seen good reports on (but no personal experience with yet) are the Gigabyte GA-5AA, ASUS P5A and the P5A-B, the FIC VA-503A and PA-2013, the DFI K6BV3+/66 and K6XV3+/66.

Some things to watch out for (but you probably already know them):
1. Be sure the AGP slot is 1x and 2x, and not just 1x.
2. Get boards that support UDMA 66, unless you plan to add an ATA card.
3. Get a board with enough PCI slots.
4. The Via chipsets (MVP3, MVP4, etc.) do support memory interleaving. The EPoX BIOS will allow you to enable interleaving -- then you don't have to use third-party software to gain that functionality.
5. Use a 7200RPM hard drive.
6. Get a good video card with plenty of on-card memory. Avoid using on-board (meaning on the mobo) video.
7. Balance your installed RAM with your operating system and your CPU.

sylvan2626
Senior K6'er
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 3:25 pm
Location: Florida, USA

Post by sylvan2626 »

CRAP, CRAP, CRAP!!!!!!

That's my post above -- I forgot to log in!!!!

One last thing -- the MVP3 chipset will support up to 1 Gb of RAM (although I have not seen a SS7 mobo with 4 DIMM slots yet).

:oops: :oops: :oops:
sylvan2626 :oops:

Guest

Post by Guest »

Where I can find an Epox EP-MVP3G5?

Does someone here want to sell it?

sylvan2626
Senior K6'er
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 3:25 pm
Location: Florida, USA

Post by sylvan2626 »

The EPoX boards for SS7 (EP-MVP3C2, EP-MVP3G-M, EP-MVP3G2, EP-MVP3G5 to name a few) sometimes show up on eBay. Probably on other auction sites, as well.

I have a "retirement home" for these EPoX boards (having several of each of those mentioned above) where they can live out their golden years. :lol: I also have their "friends" (Intel [MMX and non-MMX] and AMD CPUs [K6, K6-2, K6-Plus], HDDs, video and sound cards, etc.) staying with them indefinitely. Some of their ASUS buddies are there also.

I MIGHT be willing to let one go.....
EP-MVP3G2 Rev 1.0 (8/6/01 BIOS) -- K6-2+ 550ACZ @ 618MHz (103MHz FSB) 640MB PC100

EP-MVP3G5 Rev1.4 (8/6/01 BIOS) -- K6III+ 500ANZ @ various MHz

Guest

Post by Guest »

And I might want one... With a K6+.

Just tell me.

User avatar
mamba
Senior K6'er
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:42 am
Location: Italy

Post by mamba »

It was me

sylvan2626
Senior K6'er
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 3:25 pm
Location: Florida, USA

Post by sylvan2626 »

PMs sent...
EP-MVP3G2 Rev 1.0 (8/6/01 BIOS) -- K6-2+ 550ACZ @ 618MHz (103MHz FSB) 640MB PC100

EP-MVP3G5 Rev1.4 (8/6/01 BIOS) -- K6III+ 500ANZ @ various MHz

User avatar
mamba
Senior K6'er
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:42 am
Location: Italy

Post by mamba »

I found an AX59pro.
Rest assured that I want an Epox, but, what about this board?

Gona
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 2:07 pm
Location: Hungary

Post by Gona »

Anonymous wrote: The EPoX EP-MVP3G5 is also a very good board and has 2MB of on-board L2 cache, which becomes L3 cache when using K6-"plus" CPUs. The Tyan S1598 (C1 and C2) boards are also highly sought after. Although most of my boards are EPoX SS7 boards based on the MVP3 chipset, I would love to get my hands on the TYAN S1598C2. These SS7 boards are based on the sameMVP3 chipset, but use a better Southbridge chip than my EPoX boards.
What the different in the Southbridge chip?

User avatar
tazwegion
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 349
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2003 11:13 am
Location: Victoria, Australia

Post by tazwegion »

I still own an AOpen AX59pro... and have found it to OC as well as my Epox EP-MVP3C2 (both hitting 600Mhz on K62's), it certianly has the fsb options covered nicely too (via a switch bank), oh and the SDram can be set @ a seperate speed (AGP) to the CPU's fsb, from memory this was so people could use up their PC-66 memory modules :D

It also boasts 3x (3pin) fan headers... 2x 72pin RAM slots, which interestingly can be run with SDram concurrently (an uncommon feature IME) and naturally 3 x SDram slots ;)

It's also worth mentioning... that thus far (touch wood) I've not had to replace a single capacitor... unlike Epox/Gigabyte of the same era, though to be fair this could simply be a low milage motherboard :D

The onboard heat sensors IME didn't work too well with third party software... but were ok with AOpen's hardware monitor package ;)

Memory wise... it's only supposed to support 3 x 128Mb sticks... but I don't know if they considered the concurrently running 72pin ram slots inclusive of that support limit?
Image

Post Reply