MMX200 VS K6 500 and V503+

Discussion relating to Socket 7 hardware.
skinnie
Junior K6'er
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 1:09 pm

Post by skinnie »

but the proc is a amd k6 2 500 lol..or you are talking about the mmx200?
offtopic:
can anyone me answer this:
http://www.k6plus.com/index.php?name=PN ... highlight=
FIC VA503+/K6-3 450AHX/2x128Mb PC133/3Dfx Voodoo 3 3000 16Mb/40Gb Seagate/TDK880N/Audiotrak Prodigy 7.1 + Creative T6200 5.1/Radio Reveal Fm Tuner/Conceptronics Ali 6 USB 2.0 PCI/3Com 3C509B Nic

User avatar
jsc1973
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 394
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2001 11:55 am
Contact:

Post by jsc1973 »

You'll probably not have much luck with the K6-2 running at 550. Even K6-2 chips rated at 550 MHz often had problems running stable at that speed, let alone overclocked 500s. It really doesn't matter much, anyway. On a standard 100 MHz bus speed, the K6-2 is so starved for data at 500 MHz that adding 50 more makes very little difference. And 523/95 might actually be slower in some instances than 500/100 is.

Since you have a 503+, try the 112 MHz bus setting and a 4.5 multiplier. That's 504 MHz, and 504/112 is faster on a K6-2 than 550/100. It may not work, but if it does, you'll get a nice performance boost.

The slow motherboard cache on the K6-2 was a major design flaw at speeds over 400 MHz, and was the reason why the Pentium II was faster at those speed grades. The K6-III fixed that problem and then some, however.

skinnie
Junior K6'er
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 1:09 pm

Post by skinnie »

thanks..so for 112x4.5 what voltage do I try?
FIC VA503+/K6-3 450AHX/2x128Mb PC133/3Dfx Voodoo 3 3000 16Mb/40Gb Seagate/TDK880N/Audiotrak Prodigy 7.1 + Creative T6200 5.1/Radio Reveal Fm Tuner/Conceptronics Ali 6 USB 2.0 PCI/3Com 3C509B Nic

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Jim »

I have not done it; but I would initially try 2.2v, then if that doesn't work 2.3v. I would not go higher than 2.4 in any case. By the way, for some reason unknown, memory operates considerably faster when using the 5.5 multiplier; so that is a consideration to take into account when choosing your settings. (See "K6-3+ 450 ACZ under / over clocking Results" topic further down this page) But JSC1973 is more experienced than I am.
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

User avatar
jsc1973
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 394
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2001 11:55 am
Contact:

Post by jsc1973 »

Sorry so long getting back to this board.

In my experience, you can run a K6-2 chip at up to 2.6v without damaging it, provided that you have good cooling. But in many cases, the chip will overheat at some point and give you a BSOD in Windows even if it runs stable at that voltage for several hours. You'll probably get best results, as Jim said, at 2.4v or lower.

For 112*4.5, stock voltage should work since that is just 4 MHz above stock speed. You can give it an extra .1v for additional stability if needed.

Post Reply