SiS530 @133MHz (GA-5SMM/Soyo 5SSM) setup, benching, tweaking

Discussion relating to Socket 7 hardware.
User avatar
Stedman5040
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 4:22 pm

Post by Stedman5040 » Fri Feb 02, 2007 6:10 am

Getting back to the SIS530 chipset I have my Gigabyte board GA-5SMM up and running again and this time with a K6-III+/450ACZ cpu. I'll try to post some results this weekend. So far I have the best superpi 1M result with 4.5x133 (600MHz) which completes in 310secs. The fastest speed I have had the cpu working at is 630MHz (105x6). The superpi 1M result at this speed was 335secs which was unusual as it was the same as the result I got at 600MHz (6x100). I aim to retest this as I need to doublecheck this figure. Now that I know the cpu will get through superpi and hotcputester at 630MHz this opens up a number of other overclocked possibilities.

I'll keep you posted.

Stedman :wink:

User avatar
KachiWachi
K6'er Elite
Posts: 507
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 10:53 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post by KachiWachi » Fri Feb 02, 2007 6:10 am

For the Cyrix MIIv 4x Multiplier...this is true.

However...most BIOS do not account for this...

...except for mine. ;)


Perhaps Taz can comment further on his board at some point.
Moderator - Wim's BIOS

PC #1 - DFI 586IPVG, K6-2/+ 450 (Cyrix MII 433), 128 MB EDO. BIOS patched by Jan Steunebrink.
PC #2 - Amptron PM-7900 (M520), i200 non-MMX, 128 MB EDO
PC #3 - HP8766C, PIII-667, 768 MB SDRAM
PC #4 - ASUS P3V4X, PIII-733, 256 MB SDRAM
PC #5 - Gateway 700X, P4-2.0 GHz, 768 MB PC800 RDRAM
PC #6 - COMPAQ Evo N1020v laptop, P4-2.4 GHz, 1 GB PC2700 DDR
PC #7 - Dell Dimension 4600i, P4-2.8 GHz, 512 MB PC2700 DDR
PC #8 - Acer EeePC netbook, Atom N270 @ 1.60 GHz, 1 GB RAM
PC #9 - ??? ;)

Super7Dude
K6'er
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 8:05 pm
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Post by Super7Dude » Fri Feb 02, 2007 6:27 am

@Stedman

I eagerly await your results. I seem to remember one of my K6-III+ 4.5x133 superpi benches got 309s for 1M. I think SuperPI is also RAM dependent which would explain why lowering the FSB/ram speed gave a lower result despite the higher CPU clock.

just as a side note, my ASUS P5A-B 1.03 with bios 1011.005 supports the MIIv with a 4.0x multiplier...as does this ga-5smm with bios F5... both bioses ID the chip as a "Cyrix 6x86MX<B>L</B> PR333" when set to 66 x 4.0 :)

User avatar
Stedman5040
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 4:22 pm

Post by Stedman5040 » Fri Feb 02, 2007 6:35 am

@ Peter

Here are the results I got for my cpu at 4.5x133 using 192Mb ram at 2-3-2-6 timings. Using the same parameters as before with the wpcredit tweaks applied.

Everest (401/155/170)
Superpi (256k/1M) (58s/310s)
Sandra2004 Membench (209/205)

Hotcputester

Score ----------------------------1143
Meta/Mhz ------------------------1.91
Int inst ----------------------------191
Fpu inst ----------------------------73
MMX inst --------------------------404
3D now! inst ----------------------368

Mem fillrate -----------------------195
Mem fillrate c+ -------------------190
Mem rep movsd ------------------195
Mem fpu 64bit --------------------192
Mem assm 32bit ------------------183
Mem fillrate assm 64bit ----------190
Mem fillrate mmx 32bit ----------194
Mem fillrate mmx 128bit ---------195

Insert on sort ------------------------8
Shell sort --------------------------288
Merge sort -------------------------531
Heap sort --------------------------300
Quick sort ------------------------1131
Large objects ----------------------265

FFT standard -----------------------623
FFT optimised ----------------------794

Still haven't beaten the 300 barrier with the SIS530. But not bad results as they compare with the EP-MVP3G2 working at about 560MHz (5x112).

Stedman 8)

Super7Dude
K6'er
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 8:05 pm
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Post by Super7Dude » Fri Feb 02, 2007 6:59 am

@ Stedman
Nice results.... I really must remember to apply my WPCREDIT tweaks with a full 512MB of RAM... I can't get anything tighter than 3-3-3-8 stable with 2 sticks... 401 for everest memory read? wow u mustve done some extra tweaking or something... best i got was 378 and my write scores never went above 106.. regardless of FSB/multi or tweaks... only changed when I put 1 stick of RAM in, they climbed to 144 with the other results as before... apart from that, about the same as what i got :)

User avatar
Stedman5040
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 4:22 pm

Post by Stedman5040 » Fri Feb 02, 2007 7:34 am

@Super7dude

The more aggressive memory timings would certainly give you more. The superpi 1m result of 335secs for 630Mhz seems to be slow as I got the same result of 335secs for 600MHz at 100fsb. So changing from 100fsb to 133fsb reduced the result by 25 seconds. I would have expected a faster time than 600Mhz at 100fsb given a speed increase of 5% and an fsb increase of 5% at 630Mhz.

That is why I need to double check everything. Wpcredit Tweaks etc.

Stedman

Super7Dude
K6'er
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 8:05 pm
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Post by Super7Dude » Fri Feb 02, 2007 8:06 am

Success! :)
After removing one stick, and setting timings to 2-3-2-5, and applying wpcredit tweaks, I was able to get the following (K6-III+ @ 600/133, 256MB RAM, gf2mx card, 12x10 16bit colour, onboard cache disabled)

Everest
MR 417
MW 158
ML 163

HotCPU

score 1174
ratio 1.96
integer 192
fpu 73
mmx 402
3dnow 367

memcopy 207
c++ 206
movsd 208
FPU 64bit 207
assembly 32bit 205
assembly 64bit 206
mmx 32bit 207
mmx 128bit 208

insertion sort 8
shell sort 294
merge sort 550
heap sort 288
quick sort 1146
large sort 272
fft standard 657
fft optimised 858

superpi: 323/54 (1M/256k)

not bad at all IMHO :)

User avatar
Stedman5040
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 4:22 pm

Post by Stedman5040 » Fri Feb 02, 2007 8:38 am

@Superdude

That's more like it. Your Superpi 1M still looks a little slow considering the fast result at 256k. Looks like the race is on for a sub 300 second 1M superpi result with the SIS530 chipset. :twisted:

What voltage are you running your cpu at? Mine I tried at 2.05v with 630Mhz and it worked first time. I might try lower voltage and see how low it goes at 630Mhz.

Have you tried for 666Mhz (5x133)with your cpu? I might at least give it a go over this weekend even though it sounds most improbable.

Stedman :wink:

Super7Dude
K6'er
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 8:05 pm
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Post by Super7Dude » Fri Feb 02, 2007 8:44 am

It's currently at 2.00v @ 600MHz. I gave it 2.2v and it wouldn't post at 630MHz...so 666MHz is out of the question... guess im not as lucky as u.. lol
thanks for the advice tho
Super7Dude

User avatar
Stedman5040
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 4:22 pm

Post by Stedman5040 » Fri Feb 02, 2007 9:27 am

The SIS530 chipset supports up to 1.5GB of ram has anyone tried a 512mb stick on one of these boards to see if it runs OK? Unfortunately I do not have any PC133 512mb ram

Stedman

Super7Dude
K6'er
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 8:05 pm
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Post by Super7Dude » Fri Feb 02, 2007 9:30 am

Unfortunately I don't either... but i just put a single sided 256MB stick in my board and it counted 128MB of RAM... so i'm not sure about that....

User avatar
Stedman5040
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 4:22 pm

Post by Stedman5040 » Fri Feb 02, 2007 9:40 am

The board is only seeing 128mb because the ram is 256mb high density. So to see a full 512mb or of ram the stick must be low density.

I have two sticks of high density ram in my board one of 256mb and the other is 128mb. That is why I only see 192mb of ram.

Unfortunately my Hynix low density ram does not appear compatible with the GA-5SMM board.

So to get 512mb seen it would have to be compatible low density ram.

Stedman

Super7Dude
K6'er
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 8:05 pm
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Post by Super7Dude » Fri Feb 02, 2007 9:42 am

Hmmm... how many chips are on 512MB low density ram modules? 32? I've never seen anything larger than 256MB thats low density in SDRAM...

User avatar
Stedman5040
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 4:22 pm

Post by Stedman5040 » Fri Feb 02, 2007 9:53 am

Low density PC133 ram should be available

All low density 512MB modules are made with 16 chips (8 chips on each side) using 32Mx8 device.
Some low density 512MB modules are made with 16 chips (8 chips on each side) using 16Mx16 device.
All high density 512MB modules are made with 8 chips (8 chips on one side with the other side blank OR 4 chips on each side) using 64Mx8 OR 32Mx16 device.

Got this from ebay Australia site (facts)

Stedman

Super7Dude
K6'er
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 8:05 pm
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Post by Super7Dude » Fri Feb 02, 2007 9:57 am

Cheers m8.. I'll check it out :)

Post Reply