What about a 6200 AGP on a Socket7?

Discussion relating to Socket 7 hardware.
User avatar
mamba
Senior K6'er
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:42 am
Location: Italy

What about a 6200 AGP on a Socket7?

Post by mamba »

I found a lot of those cards with universal AGP connectors.
The theory for AGP is that "If an AGP card fits in an AGP slot then they are compatible", according to that site:
http://www.playtool.com/pages/agpcompat/agp.html

The same site says :

Unfortunately building AGP video cards with the wrong voltage slots is becoming more common. It's not difficult to find no-name, low-budget, Chinese video cards on EBAY which have the 3.3 volt slot despite the fact that the graphics chipset does not support 3.3 volts.

But I don't think that Inno3D and XFX are bad manufacturers...

What you think? It's worth a try?

User avatar
mamba
Senior K6'er
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:42 am
Location: Italy

Post by mamba »

http://www.xfxforce.com/web/product/lis ... onId=79416

As you can see the AGP connector is clearly universal and I see it with my own eyes...

Don't know if it's worth a try, I'm a bit scared of frying both MB and VGA...

DonPedro
K6'er Elite
Posts: 578
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 2:11 pm

Post by DonPedro »

first: agp is not necessarily faster than pci.

I bought a pny gf6200 PCI some months ago for testing with an asus p5a board.

since it is pci I can not tell you whether the agp version will work with a socket7 agp slot.

but let me tell you that I ran into several troubles with my pci-6200 card, all problems are game related. the card itself installed without problems (both win98se and winxp). I remember (some months ago) when installed under winxp I was not able to run any game at all, I got games aborting, system freezes, blue screens, sudden rebooting. win98se had less troubles. I was able to run any opengl game, but had no luck with direct3d games except unreal tournament and directx5/6/7 games. dxdiag-tests showed that running directx7 test was possible, but directx8/9 test was not (tests aborted, system behaved strangely afterwards). since nvidia driver support for win98 seems to have come to a halt I am stuck ....

good news is that performance gain in opengl-games can be tremendous (depends on game) compared to a gf3-ti200 agp card.

so if you would like to explore the unknown I would suggest you go for the radeon pci x1300. 450 core clock, 300 mem clock, 4 pixel pipelines, 4 shader units, 4 geometry pipelines, 2 vertex shader processors, 128 bit memory interface. in other words "a monster" and pci 2.1 compliant (according to the manufacturer diamond). it is available for $109.99 minus $25 mail-in-rebate here. but also be advised that some other member here tried the x1300 from another manufacturer/vendor - I think it was xfc) and was not able to install properly (search for x1300 here in this forum). also ati provides drivers for the x1300 only from w2k and up!

Guest

Post by Guest »

Yes I know about the possibility to get a PCI card.

But I think that all the problems of the 6200 on gaming is related to PCI version, since the AGP one seems to be very stable.

I wrote to XFX support, just to know if it can be possible to make it work on an AGP 3.3V motherboard.

I hope they will contact me soon.
And if it can be done... Well, the first thing I'll do with the baby is to mod her to 6600....

6600 on a super7... Wow!

Never heard about a X1300 PCI, but the AGP version is really poor in performance.

User avatar
mamba
Senior K6'er
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:42 am
Location: Italy

Post by mamba »

I wonder who is working at the XFX tech support... :shock:


[Cris - 2007/01/05] I want to know If the card is compatible with an AGP 3.3V motherboard. It appears that the AGP connector of the XFX card is universal (with two holes), so it seems that it can fit and operate in ANY AGP motherboard. Please let me know if ti`s a manufacturer mystake or it can be possible to make it work in an AGP 1.0 mobo like the DFI K6VX3+. Thanx

[PAULV - 2007/01/06] Hi, thanks for your message, all cards since the TNT2(geforce 2 series) run at 1.5V so should be fine in modern mainboards. Hope all goes well, however if any queries or problems please keep us posted. Kind regards Paul



???? :?:

User avatar
mamba
Senior K6'er
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:42 am
Location: Italy

Post by mamba »

[Cris - 2007/01/06] Maybe I have not explained in the correct way. I want to know if the XFX 6200 will work on a AGP 3.3V motherboard. Beacuse the layout of the VGA is a universal AGP card one. Hope this time I was more clear.

[JAMES - 2007/01/10] Hi, thanks for the extra information, can you tell me if this is an old board, if the AGP slot is 3.3v, then you would need a 3.3v card to put in slot, but your card is a 1.5v so nees a 1.5 volt slot. Does your mainboard manual tell you what voltoage your AGP slot is.kind regards. james


:?: :shock: :?:

Who the hell are the technicians???

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Jim »

Daffy Duck; and possibly Elmer Fudd too.
Last edited by Jim on Fri Jan 26, 2007 7:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

Super7Dude
K6'er
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 8:05 pm
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Post by Super7Dude »

I have seen cards as good as a GeForce4 Ti 4600 which are AGP 2x and 3.3v capable working in a Super 7 board. That 6200 should work in your board no problem :)

User avatar
mamba
Senior K6'er
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:42 am
Location: Italy

Post by mamba »

Super7Dude wrote:I have seen cards as good as a GeForce4 Ti 4600 which are AGP 2x and 3.3v capable working in a Super 7 board. That 6200 should work in your board no problem :)
NOPE

They say that even if the layout is an universal one, the card still needs a 1.5V (or 0.8V) voltage.

User avatar
KachiWachi
K6'er Elite
Posts: 507
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 10:53 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post by KachiWachi »

Universal Connector = Cheap a$$ way for the manufacturer to save money on buying the correct connector for each card they make.
Moderator - Wim's BIOS

PC #1 - DFI 586IPVG, K6-2/+ 450 (Cyrix MII 433), 128 MB EDO. BIOS patched by Jan Steunebrink.
PC #2 - Amptron PM-7900 (M520), i200 non-MMX, 128 MB EDO
PC #3 - HP8766C, PIII-667, 768 MB SDRAM
PC #4 - ASUS P3V4X, PIII-733, 256 MB SDRAM
PC #5 - Gateway 700X, P4-2.0 GHz, 768 MB PC800 RDRAM
PC #6 - COMPAQ Evo N1020v laptop, P4-2.4 GHz, 1 GB PC2700 DDR
PC #7 - Dell Dimension 4600i, P4-2.8 GHz, 512 MB PC2700 DDR
PC #8 - Acer EeePC netbook, Atom N270 @ 1.60 GHz, 1 GB RAM
PC #9 - ??? ;)

User avatar
mamba
Senior K6'er
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:42 am
Location: Italy

Post by mamba »

Now it begins to look weird.... :?


[Cris - 2007/01/10] My mainboard is an AGP 3.3V one. I see that the XFX 6200 AGP has an "universal AGP" layout, so it can PHISICALLY fits in ANY AGP SLOT (both 3.3V or 1.5V ones, 08V is the same as 1.5V). Can the 6200 AGP work on my motherboard?? Or is a mystake made by XFX to use such two-holes "universal AGP" connector?? I don`t know how to be much clear. This is the third time I ask this...

[JAMES - 2007/01/11] Hi, thanks for the extra information, i do know what you mean. If as you say, the board is an AGP 3.3v then no your 1.5volt card is not compatible with a 3.3v agp slot. I hope this answers your question. kind regards. james

[VINNY - 2007/01/25] Hi, this is just a quick note to ask how you are getting on with this issue? Have you managed to resolve the problem? Please keep us posted with your progress, with best regards, Vinny

[Cris - 2007/01/25] From your answers I have realized that even if XFX produces VGA cards with an universal AGP connector (and layout), actually they are not. I can`t figure out how many customers fried their cards connecting them on an Intel 440BX board (for example).

[PAULV - 2007/01/26] Hi, thanks for your message and for letting us know. You have confused us here, theoretically the card should work in this mainboard, but due to the mainboards age there could be problems with compatibility, are you trying to say you have `fried` the card in this mainboard? If any queries or problems please keep us posted. Kind regards Paul

[Cris - 2007/01/26] I haven`t tryed yet to put the 6200 in my AGP 2X mainboard. I still don`t believe that it`s a 3.3V capable VGA and your "different" answers don`t help me. There are a lot of manufacturers that don`t follow the correct AGP guidelines for their VGA, building VGA cards with universal AGP slots when they can handle only 1.5V or 0.8V voltages. The result of putting an AGP 1.5V card on a 3.3V slot is simple to imagine. But it shouldn`t happen because the CORRECT AGP 1.5V (or 0.8V) connector won`t fit in a AGP 3.3V slot. Just to let you know, I can put a Radeon 9800PRO (universal AGP card) on my old MVP3 system without problems. It`s only a matter of voltages, in most cases. And you still don`t explained clearly if the xfx 6200 AGP is a 3.3V capable VGA or not. And if not you have to admit that XFX uses WRONG AGP layouts. Your choice.

User avatar
jsc1973
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 394
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2001 11:55 am
Contact:

Post by jsc1973 »

I'd be shocked if anyone's 6200 would work in a SS7 board. Back in the days of the Ti4600, there were still plenty of SS7s in use as primary machines, so it made sense for manufacturers to build in 3.3v support. You're right that they're just not following the official AGP guidelines, because they're not taking into account that someone just might put a 6200 in an older system.

I think the Intel 440BX had a hardware-check system where it simply wouldn't boot if you installed an incompatible video card. Intel wrote the AGP specification and was diligent in its implementation. I've never heard of a 440BX frying a card, but I've heard of many non-Intel chipsets doing so on incompatible hardware.

B00nerang

Post by B00nerang »

On the Package it is told that the XFX 6200 needs a AGP 8x/4x Compatible Mainboard. Also it is told on the site where I purchased the card, that it could run on AGP2x, but this Site also had the wrock data about GPU and memory clock. I bought this card to have the chance to put it into my K6-2 System, if I had known that it I would have buoght the 6600Gt for 20€ more.

If anybody tried the Card or knows a link where somebody had, please tell here. It would be a bad behavior of XFX to just use the Universal AGP Connector without the compatibily.

Guest

Post by Guest »

I have a FX5600 in a MVP3.

It is a lot faster than the R7500 I had in before, even in just Quake 2. It seems NV's OpenGL is much more friendly with K6s. But, for both cards I had to use drivers a few years old. I think some CPU optimizations make the newest drivers incompatible. They won't even install sometimes, let alone run games.

candle_86
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 9:41 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Post by candle_86 »

the 6200 will work in a 440BX i tested it once just to make sure a while back, but i tested the NV44A not the NV43

Post Reply