Maybe I found the King of the hill??

Discussion relating to Socket 7 hardware.
User avatar
mamba
Senior K6'er
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:42 am
Location: Italy

Post by mamba » Sat May 12, 2007 4:13 pm

Thanx Stedman.
I got a very big Titan cooler, designed for AthlonXP, so the K6 is always kept cold. But my multiplier is 6x, I'll try to lower it.
Shaddam, the OS is WinXP, VIA 4in1_433 and Forceware 52.16
I still wait for some tips to improve performance, I think I can reach 4000....

User avatar
mamba
Senior K6'er
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:42 am
Location: Italy

Post by mamba » Sat Jun 02, 2007 3:26 am

So this is the dump for the host bridge.

Can someone suggest some optimizations?


0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 A B C D E F
00 06 11 97 05 06 00 90 A2 04 00 00 06 00 10 00 00
10 08 00 00 F0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
20 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
30 00 00 00 00 A0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
40 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
50 80 CA 05 10 00 00 00 00 80 00 10 20 20 20 20 20
60 03 AA 00 23 10 DE DE 00 01 00 65 01 00 61 00 00
70 C1 8A EC 0D 80 8F C0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 80 40
80 00 00 00 00 C0 00 00 00 02 00 05 00 00 00 00 00
90 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
A0 02 00 10 00 03 02 00 07 02 03 00 00 0E 00 00 00
B0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
C0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
D0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
E0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
F0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 01 00 97 05

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Jim » Sun Jun 03, 2007 8:23 am

If you go through my "WPCredit as Applied to a DFI K6BV3+/66" post in the "Software & Tweaking" section, you will find the WPCredit tweaks I used on my DFIs. Be prepared to be bored reading it; and not sure if they apply to the SIS 540. Depends on what you find when you open WPCredit. One thing is fairly certain, you will get best memory performance using the 5.5 multiplier, as noted already by Stedman.
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

User avatar
kalabok
Senior K6'er
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 11:40 am
Location: germany

Post by kalabok » Sun Jun 03, 2007 4:56 pm

from having a short look into the numbers i see that your bank interleave is not enabled. you should check your bios setting, i am sure your mvp3g2 (i assume) supports 4 bank interleave. otherwise - as you are using only one ram stick - switch offset 64 to 12.

what worked boosting my system up was setting offset 53 to F0. be aware of that yours sometimes may hang - every system is different. just play with the numbers a bit, and you will see whats happening.
do you have the right pcr file?

User avatar
mamba
Senior K6'er
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:42 am
Location: Italy

Post by mamba » Mon Jun 04, 2007 12:22 am

@Jim,
thanx for the advice. Anyway it'a all about an Epox MVP3G2.
My Everest result (Everest home edition, last version) are:

MR311/MW127/ML216 , with a single 256mbyte PC133 stick of ram

@Kalabok,

what you mean exactly for offset 64 and offset 53?
Do you think I'll get better memory performance if I put another 256Mbyte stick?

User avatar
Stedman5040
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 4:22 pm

Post by Stedman5040 » Mon Jun 04, 2007 5:21 am

@Mamba,

What o/s are you running. When running Win Me the best results I can obtain with Everest @ 5.5x100 are as follows. This is with all wpcredit tweaks with 3x128Mb Hynix CL2 ram. I know Jim always says that XP generates higher scores with Everest.

292/151/222

Changing the speed to 6x100 results in a significant drop in memory read to give

292/132/222

Stedman

User avatar
KachiWachi
K6'er Elite
Posts: 507
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 10:53 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post by KachiWachi » Mon Jun 04, 2007 6:39 am

From your dump -
  • offset 53h = 10h
    offset 64h = 10h
offset 53h = System Performance Control - default = 00h (everything off), F0h (everything on)
offset 64h = DRAM Timing - depends on SPD (or manual control)

Thanks.
Moderator - Wim's BIOS

PC #1 - DFI 586IPVG, K6-2/+ 450 (Cyrix MII 433), 128 MB EDO. BIOS patched by Jan Steunebrink.
PC #2 - Amptron PM-7900 (M520), i200 non-MMX, 128 MB EDO
PC #3 - HP8766C, PIII-667, 768 MB SDRAM
PC #4 - ASUS P3V4X, PIII-733, 256 MB SDRAM
PC #5 - Gateway 700X, P4-2.0 GHz, 768 MB PC800 RDRAM
PC #6 - COMPAQ Evo N1020v laptop, P4-2.4 GHz, 1 GB PC2700 DDR
PC #7 - Dell Dimension 4600i, P4-2.8 GHz, 512 MB PC2700 DDR
PC #8 - Acer EeePC netbook, Atom N270 @ 1.60 GHz, 1 GB RAM
PC #9 - ??? ;)

User avatar
kalabok
Senior K6'er
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 11:40 am
Location: germany

Post by kalabok » Mon Jun 04, 2007 8:08 am

mamba wrote:
Do you think I'll get better memory performance if I put another 256Mbyte stick?
i cant tell you for sure. as you have got 1mb l3 cache the cacheable area should be 256mb - exactly the size of your installed ram.
the k6-2+/III+ should be able to adress up to 4gb of memory, but since jims interesting benches on uncached memory this is not the complete truth. i dont realy understand what happens if more ram is installed, so - try out by yourself.

and - mamba! - download the pcr file for the mvp3 chipset here, load it to your wpcredit and a lot will become easier to understand.

User avatar
mamba
Senior K6'er
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:42 am
Location: Italy

Post by mamba » Mon Jun 04, 2007 8:24 am

I downloaded the file for the mvp3, I'll chek it out.

The OS is WinXP, but I think I'll switch to Win98SE (with unofficial SP).

User avatar
KachiWachi
K6'er Elite
Posts: 507
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 10:53 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post by KachiWachi » Mon Jun 04, 2007 12:23 pm

You should really get the chipset datasheets...because they explain everything. :wink:

Thanks.
Moderator - Wim's BIOS

PC #1 - DFI 586IPVG, K6-2/+ 450 (Cyrix MII 433), 128 MB EDO. BIOS patched by Jan Steunebrink.
PC #2 - Amptron PM-7900 (M520), i200 non-MMX, 128 MB EDO
PC #3 - HP8766C, PIII-667, 768 MB SDRAM
PC #4 - ASUS P3V4X, PIII-733, 256 MB SDRAM
PC #5 - Gateway 700X, P4-2.0 GHz, 768 MB PC800 RDRAM
PC #6 - COMPAQ Evo N1020v laptop, P4-2.4 GHz, 1 GB PC2700 DDR
PC #7 - Dell Dimension 4600i, P4-2.8 GHz, 512 MB PC2700 DDR
PC #8 - Acer EeePC netbook, Atom N270 @ 1.60 GHz, 1 GB RAM
PC #9 - ??? ;)

shaddam
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 3:27 am

Post by shaddam » Tue Jun 05, 2007 5:58 am

kalabok wrote:very interesting, mamba!

can you give us some more information on that sparkle vga? what is the total power consumption and at which frequencies the chip and the rams are running? if its a 128bit based unit why it stays quite cold?

please post all ur 3dmark2001pro scores. as it is the pro version, there are 4 more tests giving points, dx8 is supported as well so why that graphic card should work faster than a geforce 2? i mean the k6 processor could be the bottleneck, if it cannot handle all requests from the graphic unit, u cant get the max video performance.
@kalabok:
this nice site has measurements of power demands of different GPUs.
for the 5700 these low results: 25Watt under load, 10 watt in idle

reasons for beeing so low is that this chips is the smallest (in Mhz) after a shrink in process to 130nm... so it is modern design but not clocked to high, therefore efficient in power use.

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/video/ ... html#sect0

User avatar
Stedman5040
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 4:22 pm

Post by Stedman5040 » Tue Jun 05, 2007 7:43 am

@mamba

Try the following changes to wpcredit settings

offset 53h to F0h
offset 70h to 45h

it would be interesting to see your Everest scores @ 5.5x100 with and without the changes.

Stedman.

User avatar
mamba
Senior K6'er
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:42 am
Location: Italy

Post by mamba » Wed Jul 11, 2007 12:05 am

Really strange...
I bought a MVP3G5 and used the same config (except for an Audigy instead of an AWE64gold).
I mounted another 256Mbyte stick, so now I have 2x256mbyte pc133.

Below my new results with 5.5x100MHz and interleaving 4 bank "on":

MR 281/ MW 72 /ML 217

why I get such a drop in results with an mvp3g5? Why the mvp3g2 is faster?
Last edited by mamba on Wed Jul 11, 2007 7:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
kalabok
Senior K6'er
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 11:40 am
Location: germany

Post by kalabok » Wed Jul 11, 2007 6:24 am

i get same effects on my mvp3c2, if 256mb sticks are used.
no idea, why the g2 board behaves different here, but the performance increases to the usual if for each 256mb bank the timings are switched from "sdram fast" to "sdram normal" (in bios).

User avatar
Stedman5040
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 4:22 pm

Post by Stedman5040 » Wed Jul 11, 2007 11:53 am

@mamba

You must be doing something wrong. Have you set the write allocate to 512 mb. That memory write score is pathetic. Have you set up the bios correctly and used all of the wpcredit tweaks?

On both boards I have tested with 2mb of on board cache I have obtained much lower memory latency figures.

I suggest that you read Jim's post on setting up the DFI KBV3+ board with wpcredit. It really could help a lot.

regards,

Stedman.

Post Reply