Maybe I found the King of the hill??

Discussion relating to Socket 7 hardware.
User avatar
mamba
Senior K6'er
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:42 am
Location: Italy

Post by mamba » Wed Jul 11, 2007 2:40 pm

This is absolutely weird:
240/121/144

only enabling dram pipeline on bios...

But still poor MR

User avatar
Stedman5040
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 4:22 pm

Post by Stedman5040 » Wed Jul 11, 2007 3:38 pm

Mamba,

Have you set the cache speed to fastest in the chipset features in the bios?

This should set the after cache setting in wpcredit host bridge settings to @66mhz (ie register 6C to 00). this will give you a big boost in performance.

You should be getting Everest marks for read and write at 550mhz in the order of 290 and 150. Have you set register 53 to F0 or D0 this will also give a big boost in performance.

Regards,

Stedman

User avatar
mamba
Senior K6'er
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:42 am
Location: Italy

Post by mamba » Wed Jul 11, 2007 3:46 pm

Did it all except for the last issue.

User avatar
mamba
Senior K6'er
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:42 am
Location: Italy

Post by mamba » Thu Jul 12, 2007 3:03 am

Have you set register 53 to F0 or D0 this will also give a big boost in performance.

I did it but I'm not sure I have done correct, cause the pcr files I DL where three, I expect only one.
I picked one of them and edited.
Maybe I'm missing something on how to use wpcredit... :oops:

User avatar
KachiWachi
K6'er Elite
Posts: 507
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 10:53 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post by KachiWachi » Thu Jul 12, 2007 4:41 am

You do not need a PCR file in order to use WPCREDIT.

The purpose of the PCR file is just to give you some text...which is associated with the register you are changing...for your convenience.

All you need is the chipset datasheet...so you know what you are changing...and what options are available.

Thanks.
Moderator - Wim's BIOS

PC #1 - DFI 586IPVG, K6-2/+ 450 (Cyrix MII 433), 128 MB EDO. BIOS patched by Jan Steunebrink.
PC #2 - Amptron PM-7900 (M520), i200 non-MMX, 128 MB EDO
PC #3 - HP8766C, PIII-667, 768 MB SDRAM
PC #4 - ASUS P3V4X, PIII-733, 256 MB SDRAM
PC #5 - Gateway 700X, P4-2.0 GHz, 768 MB PC800 RDRAM
PC #6 - COMPAQ Evo N1020v laptop, P4-2.4 GHz, 1 GB PC2700 DDR
PC #7 - Dell Dimension 4600i, P4-2.8 GHz, 512 MB PC2700 DDR
PC #8 - Acer EeePC netbook, Atom N270 @ 1.60 GHz, 1 GB RAM
PC #9 - ??? ;)

User avatar
mamba
Senior K6'er
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:42 am
Location: Italy

Post by mamba » Thu Jul 12, 2007 8:13 am

These are my new everest scores, I think they are still poor:

290/ 134/ 213

WpCredit tweak done, K6speed driver loaded (write allocation NO HOLE + fastest speculative write)
cache timing fastest

User avatar
kalabok
Senior K6'er
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 11:40 am
Location: germany

Post by kalabok » Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:11 am

post again your new chipset offsets, plz

User avatar
Stedman5040
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 4:22 pm

Post by Stedman5040 » Thu Jul 12, 2007 1:00 pm

@mamba

The memory read score is about right for this board. You might squeeze a few more out of it, but don't expect much higher than about 295

The memory write score needs a little work as you should be hitting about 150 to 153 if everything is set up right with the 5.5x multiplier. Your memory write score is closer to what I would expect with a non 5.5x multiplier.

Not sure about the latency. My G2 boards hit about 218 so 213 sounds OK. I have a TMC board with 2mb of cache and that gave ridiculessly low latency figures in the 120 to 140 range.

Try setting offset 70 to 45 in wpcredit if you haven't already done so.

Stedman

User avatar
mamba
Senior K6'er
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:42 am
Location: Italy

Post by mamba » Fri Jul 13, 2007 12:56 pm

I think that it's a bad idea to get 512mbyte of ram.
Even 3Dmark score has dropped to 3160...

Anyway, I did all of optimization, even change offset 70 to 45.
Now there is another strange problem:

K6speed won't work anymore, it says it can't load the k6speed.sys driver.

I'm frustrated...

Without the write allocation enabled I still get those results:

305/ 78/ 158, really good except for the MR.

If I can reload K6speed I think I can get better MR results in order of 150 like before...

But why now it won't work????

User avatar
KachiWachi
K6'er Elite
Posts: 507
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 10:53 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post by KachiWachi » Sat Jul 14, 2007 6:01 am

Did you try reinstalling it?

You could also use one of the other tools...such as WAMonitor II, etc...

Thanks.
Moderator - Wim's BIOS

PC #1 - DFI 586IPVG, K6-2/+ 450 (Cyrix MII 433), 128 MB EDO. BIOS patched by Jan Steunebrink.
PC #2 - Amptron PM-7900 (M520), i200 non-MMX, 128 MB EDO
PC #3 - HP8766C, PIII-667, 768 MB SDRAM
PC #4 - ASUS P3V4X, PIII-733, 256 MB SDRAM
PC #5 - Gateway 700X, P4-2.0 GHz, 768 MB PC800 RDRAM
PC #6 - COMPAQ Evo N1020v laptop, P4-2.4 GHz, 1 GB PC2700 DDR
PC #7 - Dell Dimension 4600i, P4-2.8 GHz, 512 MB PC2700 DDR
PC #8 - Acer EeePC netbook, Atom N270 @ 1.60 GHz, 1 GB RAM
PC #9 - ??? ;)

User avatar
mamba
Senior K6'er
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:42 am
Location: Italy

Post by mamba » Sat Jul 14, 2007 9:57 am

I only downloaded it again and again and click the exe...
There is a way to install it? Didn't know... How?

User avatar
Stedman5040
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 4:22 pm

Post by Stedman5040 » Sat Jul 14, 2007 12:08 pm

Try CTU it works good for me.

Stedman

DonPedro
K6'er Elite
Posts: 575
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 2:11 pm

Post by DonPedro » Sat Jul 14, 2007 5:30 pm

mamba,

you are using winXP, aren't you? then just follow the instruction k6speed gives you on installing/uninstalling in its readme.txt-file.

there it says:

NT4/W2K(XP, I add here):

Extract all the files (keep them together) to a folder and run K6speed as Administrator to install the driver/service. Thereafter, you can run k6speed as a lesser privileged user.

Do NOT try to manually start the driver as this is unnecessary. Do NOT move the driver file to winnt\system32\drivers directory as k6speed installs the driver and runs it from the directory where k6speed.exe is located. Thus, if you move k6speed.sys, you will have to uninstall/reinstall the driver or edit the registry and update the path to the driver in accordance with the new location of the driver k6speed.sys.

K6speed Driver installation is automatically accomplished by running the program as Administrator. NT and W2k will create some registry entries for the driver under the key: HKLM\system\currentcontrolset\services\k6speed, this is unavoidable

UnInstalling the driver under NT4 and W2K: Exit k6speed if it is running, uninstall the old driver by one of two methods: 1) use the RemoveK6speedDriver.exe file available for download below, or if that doesn't work then 2) edit the registry and remove the HKLM\system\currentcontrolset\services\k6speed key and its subkeys and reboot. You may then delete all the k6speed files if you like.

Updating K6speed: Remove the driver as described above then copy over the old files and run k6speed as Admin. to install the newer driver file.

User avatar
KachiWachi
K6'er Elite
Posts: 507
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 10:53 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post by KachiWachi » Fri Jul 20, 2007 4:29 am

Just a general comment here.

It would be nice if everyone elaborated on the "tweaks" that are applied.

For example, tell us what the setting is for, what the "default" setting is, what your "normal" setting is, and then what your "tweak" is.

Otherwise...this data is meaningless.

Thanks.
Moderator - Wim's BIOS

PC #1 - DFI 586IPVG, K6-2/+ 450 (Cyrix MII 433), 128 MB EDO. BIOS patched by Jan Steunebrink.
PC #2 - Amptron PM-7900 (M520), i200 non-MMX, 128 MB EDO
PC #3 - HP8766C, PIII-667, 768 MB SDRAM
PC #4 - ASUS P3V4X, PIII-733, 256 MB SDRAM
PC #5 - Gateway 700X, P4-2.0 GHz, 768 MB PC800 RDRAM
PC #6 - COMPAQ Evo N1020v laptop, P4-2.4 GHz, 1 GB PC2700 DDR
PC #7 - Dell Dimension 4600i, P4-2.8 GHz, 512 MB PC2700 DDR
PC #8 - Acer EeePC netbook, Atom N270 @ 1.60 GHz, 1 GB RAM
PC #9 - ??? ;)

User avatar
mamba
Senior K6'er
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:42 am
Location: Italy

Post by mamba » Sun Sep 02, 2007 4:42 am

These are the 3dmark2001 results for the mvp3g5

Image


200 points more.

Post Reply