Maybe I found the King of the hill??

Discussion relating to Socket 7 hardware.
User avatar
mamba
Senior K6'er
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:42 am
Location: Italy

Post by mamba » Thu Apr 02, 2009 1:13 am

Hi guys,
long time I don't refresh this topic.
After I was able to hit 3400 with my FX5700 and a K6-2+ I was hoping to do better with a K6-III+.
But I failed, the SAME configuration I used for all those tests was completely unstable with K6-III+ 500 ANZ no matter if over or underclocked.
I get the same problmes Shaddam had:
no drivers installed, conflicts, "not enough resources" error message and so on.
Seems like the magic has gone.
Don't know why.
The same thing with a DFI K6VX3+/66.

DonPedro
K6'er Elite
Posts: 575
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 2:11 pm

Post by DonPedro » Thu Apr 02, 2009 6:03 am

and the problems are gone as soon as you switch back to the k6-2+ cpu (without any other change in system setup)?

I ask because you might have a faulty k6-3+ cpu ...

User avatar
mamba
Senior K6'er
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:42 am
Location: Italy

Post by mamba » Thu Apr 02, 2009 7:38 am

No I was not able to mount a K6-2+, I tried a K6-III with no luck.
The only difference is that in the old system I used an AWE64 ISA and now I use a Live! PCI.
Obviously I uninstalled the Live! without success.
Even changed the power supply with a more powerfull one.
Maybe the only thing I can do is to format and reinstall winXP, it's strange anyway.

Now the K6-III+ work perfectly with a Ti500, I don't think it's about the chip.

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Jim » Thu Apr 02, 2009 4:52 pm

In some boards you have to clear the bios when making any hardware changes. I suppose you tried that too ?
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

User avatar
mamba
Senior K6'er
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:42 am
Location: Italy

Post by mamba » Fri Apr 03, 2009 1:31 am

Not sure i did it actually.
I give up anyway that rig.
Now I'm trying to find a Sparkle 6600GT, if I have to try something, better be something that would hit the 3400point on 3Dmark.

So another king of the hill will come.

DonPedro
K6'er Elite
Posts: 575
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 2:11 pm

Post by DonPedro » Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:49 am

mamba,

you are going to run into trouble with trying an nvidia-card newer than the 5xxx series. for a card 6xxx and up you have to use a driver version 6x.xx and up to install properly. BUT according to all the testing I have done there is no way to use a driver 6x.xx and up successfully for dired3d application (exception to some directx 5 games). in other words you will not be able to run 3dmark, you will not even be able to run dsdiag/d3d/dx-tests without crashing, freezing and alike. what you will be able to run are opengl-games. this rule applies to any geforce card (e.g. gf-2-mx) when paired with drivers 6x.xx up - check it out by yourself.

for more info the thread over here

User avatar
mamba
Senior K6'er
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:42 am
Location: Italy

Post by mamba » Sat Apr 04, 2009 5:02 am

Yes I know the problem, but I like to step into problems a lot. I'll give it a try anyway like I did with the fx5700.
I'll use windows XP anyway and I try to search for alternate drivers, such as Omega or something like.
I know Omega drivers have always better compatibility.
The 6600GT is coming form Germany so there will be some delay.
I'll open a new thread when ready. Thank you Donpedro
Last edited by mamba on Tue May 05, 2009 1:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
mamba
Senior K6'er
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:42 am
Location: Italy

Post by mamba » Tue May 05, 2009 12:22 am

I'm running into the troubles you mentioned Don Pedro.
The drivers are functional for 2D, but any 3D appplication fails.
I'm trying to mod the drivers from the 56.72 version, I want to find the file that makes the 3D go bad and replace it, if possible.
By now I have only edited the inf file to recognize the 6600GT thru the 56.72, it does but the drivers won't install (BSOD at the end of the installation this time).
Last edited by mamba on Tue May 05, 2009 1:26 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Jim » Tue May 05, 2009 6:25 am

Wow, you must be a programmer withg considerable knowhow.
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

User avatar
mamba
Senior K6'er
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:42 am
Location: Italy

Post by mamba » Tue May 05, 2009 1:26 pm

What?
Heck no!
I have a lot of patience that's all...

User avatar
mamba
Senior K6'er
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:42 am
Location: Italy

Post by mamba » Sat May 09, 2009 5:09 am

Well.. After several failures and some web surfing I can say that the REAL problem is the HSI bridge.
No card with the HSI is completely compatible with the 3.3V signaling of AGP 1.0, maybe that's why there are problems from 6x.xx drivers.
I tried the 6600GT with a bx133 card (intel 440bx) and it suffers the same problems.

No AGP card with HSI bridge can work on an AGP 2X slot, and no new Radeon (from Xx00) has a agp 2x slot.
So I think the fastest card I can obtain is a Radeon 9800 (5950 seems to be very slow without sse instructions).

I found a 9800PRO DDR2 version, I'll try to put my hands on it.

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Jim » Sat May 09, 2009 12:26 pm

Amazing. You really do know far more about this stuff than I do! Though I have heard from others that the 8500 Radeon is the best card a Super 7 can use. Anyway, Good Luck getting your Radeon. I am actually quite pleased myself. I have finally managed to make the HDD fan housing duct for my new machine. Was VERY HARD to do ! Space is incredibly cramped, impossible even to get proper measurments it is so cramped where the HDDs go, But it is done now, and it fits perfectly!
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

User avatar
AlleyViper
Junior K6'er
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2005 2:37 pm

Post by AlleyViper » Sun May 10, 2009 9:30 am

Jim wrote:Though I have heard from others that the 8500 Radeon is the best card a Super 7 can use.
Both nvidia and ati have way faster compatible cards than the 8500. Even the ati 9700pro (http://ati.amd.com/products/radeon9700/ ... specs.html) says it's k6 and 3.3v compatible, same for the first row of gf4 ti agp 4x cards (and some on the fx series as the above 5700) which will work with the older drivers.
Shuttle HOT-591P 512KB L3 REV.2.0, bios 591PS025 @100/66/33 1:1
K6-III+ 500 ANZ 256KB L2 @600MHz/2.0V + CM DP5-6I31C-A1, TT 6x2.5cm/7krpm/38cfm fan @7V
2X256MB pc133 CL3 @100MHz/2-2-2-5
HP GeForce2 GTS 32MB AGP
SB AWE64 Value ISA, SiS900 NIC, Trust USB 2.0 5-Port PCI
Samsung Spinpoint 80GB, Quantum Fireball 6.4GB, Yamaha CRW3200E
Mini AT case (ATX modded) with:
8cm TT Std Fan @7V
Generic 300w ATX

DonPedro
K6'er Elite
Posts: 575
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 2:11 pm

Post by DonPedro » Wed May 13, 2009 1:17 pm

mamba,

sorry for coming back so late ... thanx for doing your part in the investigation of the 6x.xx driver issue.

could you elaborate a little bit what it is about "the HSI-bridge"?

User avatar
AlleyViper
Junior K6'er
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2005 2:37 pm

Post by AlleyViper » Fri May 29, 2009 8:25 pm

If I can help you, the HSI bridge is a device made to bridge native pci-E gpu based cards with agp slots. They actually run quite hot, and sometimes are handicaps themselves to the data bandwidth that modern cards provide, so overclocks are almost a recipe to failure. As they were made to be used on the last agp mb's, so they could use up to date gpu's without an enormous cpu bottleneck, I presume most of them just aren't made anymore to cope with 3,3V.
IIRC most agp cards made after the nv40 (6800/NU/XT/GT/Ultra) will have an HSI bridge, and this includes the 6600 series, and 7000 parts as the 7600GS, 7800GS and 7950GT which was one of the last heavy weight agp parts from nvidia.
Shuttle HOT-591P 512KB L3 REV.2.0, bios 591PS025 @100/66/33 1:1
K6-III+ 500 ANZ 256KB L2 @600MHz/2.0V + CM DP5-6I31C-A1, TT 6x2.5cm/7krpm/38cfm fan @7V
2X256MB pc133 CL3 @100MHz/2-2-2-5
HP GeForce2 GTS 32MB AGP
SB AWE64 Value ISA, SiS900 NIC, Trust USB 2.0 5-Port PCI
Samsung Spinpoint 80GB, Quantum Fireball 6.4GB, Yamaha CRW3200E
Mini AT case (ATX modded) with:
8cm TT Std Fan @7V
Generic 300w ATX

Post Reply