Epox MVPC2 and 160GB Hard Drive?

Discussion relating to Socket 7 hardware.
BuonaDomenica
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 2:08 am

Epox MVPC2 and 160GB Hard Drive?

Post by BuonaDomenica »

Hi,

I have an old Epox MVPC2 with an AMD K62+ 550Mhz and would like to upgrade my Hard drive to 160GB. Currently there is a 60GB drive in there and its ready to die.

If I would partition the drive to two 80GB partitions would they be recognized by the bios or XP Pro?

I'm not ready to retire this system as it is ok for email and web browsing under Windows XP Pro SP2with 512MB of Ram.

However, when I do Windows update it takes forever to serach for the updates and CPU usage is 100%.

thanks for the input on the 160GB drive.

BD

User avatar
kalabok
Senior K6'er
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 11:40 am
Location: germany

Post by kalabok »

hello,

i have the same board and, well, the best bios for it only supports 120gb drives. if you connect the hdd to the mainboard, the bios will stuck trying to detect it correctly. sorry, man, you can make 160 1gb partitions, but as the computer wouldnt recognize the drive itself, it will simply not work even in xp.

what you can do is getting an ata-card. udma133 - you will feel it.

User avatar
KachiWachi
K6'er Elite
Posts: 507
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 10:53 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post by KachiWachi »

Though the System BIOS *may* not recognize the full capacity of the HDD, Windows will.

Thanks.


Ref: http://www.48bitlba.com/
Moderator - Wim's BIOS

PC #1 - DFI 586IPVG, K6-2/+ 450 (Cyrix MII 433), 128 MB EDO. BIOS patched by Jan Steunebrink.
PC #2 - Amptron PM-7900 (M520), i200 non-MMX, 128 MB EDO
PC #3 - HP8766C, PIII-667, 768 MB SDRAM
PC #4 - ASUS P3V4X, PIII-733, 256 MB SDRAM
PC #5 - Gateway 700X, P4-2.0 GHz, 768 MB PC800 RDRAM
PC #6 - COMPAQ Evo N1020v laptop, P4-2.4 GHz, 1 GB PC2700 DDR
PC #7 - Dell Dimension 4600i, P4-2.8 GHz, 512 MB PC2700 DDR
PC #8 - Acer EeePC netbook, Atom N270 @ 1.60 GHz, 1 GB RAM
PC #9 - ??? ;)

BuonaDomenica
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 2:08 am

Post by BuonaDomenica »

thank you for the replies.

I thought the Bios would at least detect the 160GB drive as a 120GB. If the Bios just keeps searching during the post screen when a 160GB drive is connected I will not bother with that then. too bad.

Has anyone tried to install a Serial ATA card with a Serial ATA Hard drive and booted from that? If I have to get an ad-on card I might as well get Serial ATA since those drive are more available then regular ATA drives now. Also SATA might be a little faster too.

not sure if I should sink anymore money into this system since the processor is not that fast.

The cheapest SATA card goes for about $20 shipped from Newegg.

User avatar
kalabok
Senior K6'er
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 11:40 am
Location: germany

Post by kalabok »

i have a siig combo card installed with usb 2.0, firewire, pata and sata I interface on it. i installed a wd 320gb hdd with no problems. for booting from that drive you have to choose the scsi boot device option.

BuonaDomenica
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 2:08 am

Post by BuonaDomenica »

did you have any trouble installing Windows from the SATA card?

could you please post a link to that card as I'm thinking of getting one of those too.

did your system performance improve a little after installing the SATA hard drive?

what are your specs of your system?

thanks

User avatar
kalabok
Senior K6'er
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 11:40 am
Location: germany

Post by kalabok »

i used this card:

http://www.siig.com/ViewProduct.aspx?pn=SC-UNSP12

no problems installing windows, the controller recognized the drive properly.
i have not got the feeling, windows is loading and running faster, but transfering files is performing much better. testing the drive with hdtach gives quite same results as same drive in a P4 system.

currently this system is not running, but i was using a k6 2+ @ 616mhz and 448mb ram for winxp sp1.

BuonaDomenica
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 2:08 am

Post by BuonaDomenica »

is your 320GB drive IDE or Serial ATA? Yes with IDE Windows will just pick up the driver. I think with serial ATA one has to use a floppy disk and press F6 during install to load the driver.

thanks for the link to the card

User avatar
kalabok
Senior K6'er
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 11:40 am
Location: germany

Post by kalabok »

its an 320gb ide drive. about the f6 in windows - ive never done it. but you can be the first to try that out ;)

User avatar
KachiWachi
K6'er Elite
Posts: 507
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 10:53 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post by KachiWachi »

@kalabok -

What are your HD Tach numbers?

@BuonaDomenica -

IIRC, you need to put the 32 GB clip on the drive for it to be recognized...but don't quote me on this.

Thanks.
Moderator - Wim's BIOS

PC #1 - DFI 586IPVG, K6-2/+ 450 (Cyrix MII 433), 128 MB EDO. BIOS patched by Jan Steunebrink.
PC #2 - Amptron PM-7900 (M520), i200 non-MMX, 128 MB EDO
PC #3 - HP8766C, PIII-667, 768 MB SDRAM
PC #4 - ASUS P3V4X, PIII-733, 256 MB SDRAM
PC #5 - Gateway 700X, P4-2.0 GHz, 768 MB PC800 RDRAM
PC #6 - COMPAQ Evo N1020v laptop, P4-2.4 GHz, 1 GB PC2700 DDR
PC #7 - Dell Dimension 4600i, P4-2.8 GHz, 512 MB PC2700 DDR
PC #8 - Acer EeePC netbook, Atom N270 @ 1.60 GHz, 1 GB RAM
PC #9 - ??? ;)

User avatar
kalabok
Senior K6'er
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 11:40 am
Location: germany

Post by kalabok »

sorry, kachiwachi,

i do not remember the numbers for the WD 320gb ide drive, cause i did few tests for a friend, which i bought the drive for. i did some more tests with a maxtor 120gb 6Y120L0 drive and that one got about 84MB/s avarage read and about 9ms access time.
as i said, currently the system is not running. another thing is - i screwed up that drive. connected 19V powerconnector to an usb external case, where this drive was inside. loud shout and ... silence.
i hope for reincarnation

BuonaDomenica
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 2:08 am

Post by BuonaDomenica »

well I got a 160GB SATA Drive and orderd a Serial ATA card. I will post back on how this combo will work. I slipstreamed the Serial ATA drivers into Windows XP and hope the installation will go smoothly.

BD

btw. does anybody has the Manual of the Epox MVPC2 as I can't download it from the Epox site. I always get page can't be displayed. I have tried several times over the last few days.

thanks

User avatar
Stedman5040
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 4:22 pm

Post by Stedman5040 »

Just downloaded the manual from this link

www.cccc.edu/instruction/slympany/Links/MVP3C2.pdf

Stedman :wink:

BuonaDomenica
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 2:08 am

Post by BuonaDomenica »

thank you for the link to the manual.

DonPedro
K6'er Elite
Posts: 577
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 2:11 pm

Post by DonPedro »

BuonaDomenica,

have you installed the card meanwhile? if so let us know your experience and also give us some benchnumbers.

a very handy and small hd-test program is dskbench. needs no installation, just opens a cmd-window and tells you about read/write sequential and block scores. also tells cpu-usage. you can download it here

Post Reply