Page 2 of 2

Posted: Sat Jun 07, 2008 6:14 am
by KachiWachi
Please make sure that the add-in card is PCI 2.1 complaint.


Thanks.

Posted: Sat Jun 07, 2008 10:11 am
by mamba
It is,
it was completely functional on a MVP3G2 and G5.

Posted: Mon Jun 09, 2008 1:27 am
by mamba
I reinstalled the whole thing, but the USB card won't work.
I give up.
I'll try with another one, but I can't find a USB card with internal USB ports with pins.

This project si really a pain in the @ss.....

Posted: Mon Jun 09, 2008 4:06 pm
by Jim
Sounds like you really need Jan's help to get it working the way you want.

Posted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 3:45 pm
by mamba
you bet

Posted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 6:14 pm
by Jim
I have an email address for him I can PM you if you like. I don't know what projects he has going so I don't know how long it will take him to get around to your problem; but if you think it might help I can send it to you.

Posted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 12:55 am
by mamba
Thank you, I can explain him the whole thing, but I might be happy even if he could fix the HD limit problem with a bios patching.

Posted: Thu Sep 25, 2008 2:35 am
by mamba
I'm wasting some time on it again...
It seems that there IS and explanation for USB problems (the article is for GA-686KDX, but I find the same problems and messages):

"Apparently the GA-686KDX shipped with both 1 MBit and 2 MBit flash chips and corresponding BIOS versions. The latest version for 1 MBit is 1.43, for 2 MBit it's 1.42.
Dating from mid..late 1997, they are new enough to support

ATAPI ZIP and LS120 drives,
hard drives beyond 8 GiB (up to 32), and
booting from ATAPI CD-ROMs.
However,

there is no MPS table entry for the USB part (thus it doesn't work in Win2k/XP with MPS 1.4 mode selected due to "insufficient information to properly configure the device" – it will work with MPS 1.1, but then you'll have to live without them lovely IRQs beyond 15 and put up with interrupt sharing; together with the bugs in the implementation, a separate USB2 card – preferably with NEC chip – seems like the much better bet)".

What? :?:

Posted: Fri Sep 26, 2008 1:34 am
by mamba
According to Microsoft:

Text that is displayed in Device Manager:

Your computer's system firmware does not include enough information to properly configure and use this device. To use this device, contact your computer manufacturer to obtain firmware or Bios update. (Code 35)


This error message is displayed when a device does not have an entry in the BIOS MultiProcessor Specification (MPS) table. You can only see this error message on MPS-capable systems. This behavior usually indicates a BIOS bug. This is particularly prevalent on MPS systems with multiple root PCI buses.

• Obtain a firmware or BIOS update. If no update is available, you cannot use the device.
• If the BIOS has an option to switch between MPS 1.1 and MPS 1.4, you can try switching because a different table is loaded. You usually want the system set to MPS 1.4.


Problem is that I can't switch from one MPS to another in the bios anyway.
The only settng I can change is "MPS 1.4 for single CPU = Disable/Enable".
I tried it and obtained nothing...

Posted: Sun Sep 28, 2008 11:34 am
by Jim
Sorry; but that is over my head. can't help.