Any performance diff between regular K6-III and K6-III+?

Discussion relating to Socket 7 hardware.
Post Reply
KenB
K6'er
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 6:22 pm

Any performance diff between regular K6-III and K6-III+?

Post by KenB »

Putting power consumption and overclocking issues aside, is there any performance difference between the plus and non-plus cores, given the same Mhz?

I have a 450mhz of each type, and wondered if anyone looked into that.

User avatar
TheBrain
Junior K6'er
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 4:12 pm
Location: São Paulo / Brazil
Contact:

Post by TheBrain »

K6-III+ supports Enhanced 3DNow! instructions. I don't know if you can say this is as performance issue or just a capacity that a CPU can or cannot have.
AMD K6-2+ 450 ACZ | PCChips M598LMR - SiS 530 | 256 MB DIMM SDRAM | 3dfx Voodoo4 4500 PCI - 32 MB | Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 8 - 40 GB

User avatar
KachiWachi
K6'er Elite
Posts: 507
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 10:53 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post by KachiWachi »

TheBrain wrote:K6-III+ supports Enhanced 3DNow! instructions.
Are you sure?

I couldn't verify this in the CPU datasheets.


Thanks.
Moderator - Wim's BIOS

PC #1 - DFI 586IPVG, K6-2/+ 450 (Cyrix MII 433), 128 MB EDO. BIOS patched by Jan Steunebrink.
PC #2 - Amptron PM-7900 (M520), i200 non-MMX, 128 MB EDO
PC #3 - HP8766C, PIII-667, 768 MB SDRAM
PC #4 - ASUS P3V4X, PIII-733, 256 MB SDRAM
PC #5 - Gateway 700X, P4-2.0 GHz, 768 MB PC800 RDRAM
PC #6 - COMPAQ Evo N1020v laptop, P4-2.4 GHz, 1 GB PC2700 DDR
PC #7 - Dell Dimension 4600i, P4-2.8 GHz, 512 MB PC2700 DDR
PC #8 - Acer EeePC netbook, Atom N270 @ 1.60 GHz, 1 GB RAM
PC #9 - ??? ;)

User avatar
mamba
Senior K6'er
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:42 am
Location: Italy

Post by mamba »

K6-IIIplus (like 2+) support "Extended 3Dnow!" instructions.
Anyway there is no difference between III and III+ at the same speed in real life.
But a you can easily overclock a III+ @ 600MHz.

User avatar
KachiWachi
K6'er Elite
Posts: 507
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 10:53 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post by KachiWachi »

I stand corrected -


AMD-K6®-III Processor Data Sheet (21918.pdf)

3DNow!™ Instructions, page 81-82, Table 15


Mobile AMD-K6-III+ Processor Data Sheet (23535.pdf)

3DNow!™ Technology Instructions, page 82-83, Table 15
3DNow!™ Technology DSP Extensions, page 83, Table 16


AMD Extensions to the 3DNow! and MMX Instruction Sets Manual (22466.pdf)

CPUID 8000_0001h EDX, Bit 30

Model 9: 8080-29BF, 1000 0000 1000 0000 0010 1001 1011 1111
Model D: C080-29BF, 1100 0000 1000 0000 0010 1001 1011 1111


Thanks.
Moderator - Wim's BIOS

PC #1 - DFI 586IPVG, K6-2/+ 450 (Cyrix MII 433), 128 MB EDO. BIOS patched by Jan Steunebrink.
PC #2 - Amptron PM-7900 (M520), i200 non-MMX, 128 MB EDO
PC #3 - HP8766C, PIII-667, 768 MB SDRAM
PC #4 - ASUS P3V4X, PIII-733, 256 MB SDRAM
PC #5 - Gateway 700X, P4-2.0 GHz, 768 MB PC800 RDRAM
PC #6 - COMPAQ Evo N1020v laptop, P4-2.4 GHz, 1 GB PC2700 DDR
PC #7 - Dell Dimension 4600i, P4-2.8 GHz, 512 MB PC2700 DDR
PC #8 - Acer EeePC netbook, Atom N270 @ 1.60 GHz, 1 GB RAM
PC #9 - ??? ;)

User avatar
swaaye
Junior K6'er
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 1:53 pm

Post by swaaye »

It still all useless though. No apps I know of actually use this on a K6. For example, Folding at Home supports 3DNow+ but won't use it on a K6-III+. Not that you'd want to use a K6 for such a task anyway.

Like said above, K6-III+ gives you another hundred MHz or so and runs quite a bit cooler. It performs the same per-clock compared to K6-III.

User avatar
jsc1973
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 394
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2001 11:55 am
Contact:

Post by jsc1973 »

Not a dime's worth of difference between them. The K6-III+ was essentially a die shrink of the K6-III core from .25 to .18 micron, so it would run cooler and draw less power than a standard K6-III. The added instructions make no difference on 99 percent of the software you would likely run on it.
FIC VA-503+, Rev. 1.2, AMD K6-III+ 450@550MHz, 80GB Seagate ATA-100, 3dfx Voodoo3 3500 TV, TB Montego II Quadzilla, Win98se, 384MB PC100

Compaq Presario 1273, AMD K6-III+ 450@400MHz 1.8v, 40GB Samsung 5400RPM, extremely hacked Win98SE, 288 (yes, 288!) MB RAM
(Also an AMD FX-8350, which does the heavy lifting these days...)

skinnie
Junior K6'er
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 1:09 pm

Post by skinnie »

Sorry to put up this thread,but are the K6-3 capable of doing 600mhz?
I just received the k6-3 I have in my sig,bought it for 6eur including shipping (guess it is not bad,all I see in ebay are 20dollars+shipping)
I am asking because I only can test it on my machine in about a month :(
FIC VA503+/K6-3 450AHX/2x128Mb PC133/3Dfx Voodoo 3 3000 16Mb/40Gb Seagate/TDK880N/Audiotrak Prodigy 7.1 + Creative T6200 5.1/Radio Reveal Fm Tuner/Conceptronics Ali 6 USB 2.0 PCI/3Com 3C509B Nic

DonPedro
K6'er Elite
Posts: 577
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 2:11 pm

Post by DonPedro »

skinnie,

you got to be very lucky if you can run your plain vanilla k6-3 at 600mhz. I have not heard of anybody who could do that without sophisticated cooling.

User avatar
mamba
Senior K6'er
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:42 am
Location: Italy

Post by mamba »

The best I get from a K6-III was 500MHz.

User avatar
jsc1973
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 394
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2001 11:55 am
Contact:

Post by jsc1973 »

AMD actually announced a K6-III 500, but their yields on the parts were so poor that very few even saw the light of day. K6-III pretty much topped out at 450 MHz on the production facilities available, until the die-shrink made 500 and 550 possible.

Never heard of a .25 micron K6-III making it even as far as 550 without LN2 or some other exotic cooling. But I know of K6-III+ chips that got as far as 744, on the very mobo that you have. Not that you should expect that.
FIC VA-503+, Rev. 1.2, AMD K6-III+ 450@550MHz, 80GB Seagate ATA-100, 3dfx Voodoo3 3500 TV, TB Montego II Quadzilla, Win98se, 384MB PC100

Compaq Presario 1273, AMD K6-III+ 450@400MHz 1.8v, 40GB Samsung 5400RPM, extremely hacked Win98SE, 288 (yes, 288!) MB RAM
(Also an AMD FX-8350, which does the heavy lifting these days...)

Post Reply