Problem: suddenly FSB dropped down by half

Discussion relating to Socket 7 hardware.
DonPedro
K6'er Elite
Posts: 575
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 2:11 pm

Post by DonPedro » Sun Jan 10, 2010 3:58 pm

removing soundcard and lancard and swapping graphics cards yields same result :(

User avatar
KachiWachi
K6'er Elite
Posts: 507
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 10:53 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post by KachiWachi » Mon Jan 11, 2010 6:30 am

If no other "outside influences" are present, CPU speed is determined by the clock generator chip settings and by the CPU BF pin settings.


1) Please make sure that all of the motherboard jumpers are set correctly and that they are functioning properly.

2) Stick a counter on the clock generator chip to see if it is changing.


If these items are OK, it is possible that the problem resides within the CPU itself.



Thanks.
Moderator - Wim's BIOS

PC #1 - DFI 586IPVG, K6-2/+ 450 (Cyrix MII 433), 128 MB EDO. BIOS patched by Jan Steunebrink.
PC #2 - Amptron PM-7900 (M520), i200 non-MMX, 128 MB EDO
PC #3 - HP8766C, PIII-667, 768 MB SDRAM
PC #4 - ASUS P3V4X, PIII-733, 256 MB SDRAM
PC #5 - Gateway 700X, P4-2.0 GHz, 768 MB PC800 RDRAM
PC #6 - COMPAQ Evo N1020v laptop, P4-2.4 GHz, 1 GB PC2700 DDR
PC #7 - Dell Dimension 4600i, P4-2.8 GHz, 512 MB PC2700 DDR
PC #8 - Acer EeePC netbook, Atom N270 @ 1.60 GHz, 1 GB RAM
PC #9 - ??? ;)

DonPedro
K6'er Elite
Posts: 575
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 2:11 pm

Post by DonPedro » Mon Jan 11, 2010 9:06 am

kachi,

then why is the system working perfectly under win98? and did so too under w2k for a long time?

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Jim » Mon Jan 11, 2010 5:23 pm

Could be the processor is dying. I don't know the inside details of how they operate; but it is quite possible that NT platforms utilize different parts of the thing. Come to think of it my "Giggle Bite" board has a bios setting that you have to disable for Win 2K and XP, but enable for NT4 and Win 9.

@ KachiWachi : A Counter ? Wha Dat ? Doubt if he has one, though he might.
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

DonPedro
K6'er Elite
Posts: 575
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 2:11 pm

Post by DonPedro » Wed Jan 13, 2010 2:22 pm

jim,
cpu does its job very well under win98, idle at 32 degrees C

kachi,
have no tool (and no knowledge) to check whether the clock generator "oscillates". but if you tell what I need and how to do I would try.

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Jim » Wed Jan 13, 2010 3:48 pm

Well, my suggestion would be, if you have another processor, try swapping it in to see if that resolves the problem.
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

DonPedro
K6'er Elite
Posts: 575
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 2:11 pm

Post by DonPedro » Sat Jan 16, 2010 9:45 am

jim,
of course I could do this (which is quite a bit of a task because I would need to remove even the power-unit to get access), but why does the cpu work even under heavy load under win98 then?
if the cpu is faulty then why does this not show under win98?

DonPedro
K6'er Elite
Posts: 575
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 2:11 pm

Post by DonPedro » Sat Jan 16, 2010 11:05 am

for those who are interested:

clockchip reads:
ics 9148BF-53
9843
CK820643

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Jim » Sun Jan 17, 2010 11:08 am

Peter, like I said before, I don't know the innermost workings of the things; BUT it is quite possible that Win 2K is utillizing some part of it that Win 98 does not. Work I realize; but it is unlikely in my opinion that 3 boards will all suffer the same defect in a short timeframe; further the same question applies to the boards : Why does win 98 work but not 2K ?. It is much more likely that the problem lies elsewhere. The processor is a prime suspect. In fact given that you have already eliminated the possibility that it is being caused by one of your cards, the processor is about the only suspect left; - unless you are using some software under Win 2K that you do not use under Win 98, in which case, that software is also suspect.
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Jim » Mon Jan 18, 2010 9:01 pm

Speaking of "Software" causing your problem Peter, "Drivers" are another "Prime Suspect" since Win 98 would use different ones than those used by Win 2 K. Question : Have you changed any of your Win 2K drivers lately ? Installed an "Updated Version" perchance ? THAT might very well be your problem.
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

DonPedro
K6'er Elite
Posts: 575
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 2:11 pm

Post by DonPedro » Tue Jan 19, 2010 5:28 am

the reason why I re-installed win2000 (without installing ANY os-update, or driver-software installation) is exactly because of any program/driver issue that might have found its way into the system. but this approach showed that this is not the case, so I added a win-xp installation, which (also without further updates of any kind) showed the same oszilllating or dropped-by-half fsb-speed.

but I am going to change the cpu to follow this hint too. will report soon.

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Jim » Thu Feb 04, 2010 4:40 pm

Well Peter, what happened when you swapped in a different processor ?
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

DonPedro
K6'er Elite
Posts: 575
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 2:11 pm

Post by DonPedro » Sun Feb 07, 2010 4:22 pm

replacing the cpu did not help.

changing the fsb from 100mhz to 83mhz to see what happens resulted in a failure to even boot the machine - after bios messages shown in the first seconds the system hangs before I can even choose from the os-menue.

changing back to 100mhz results also in a stop right after the bios messages.

so for now my system is almost dead, I stopped playing around since this happened because of frustration. maybe I will give it a final try before I decide to declare it hazardous waste and get rid of it.

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Jim » Sun Feb 07, 2010 7:07 pm

Have you tried running THDD on your XP / 2000 partition ? I don't know what might be wrong with your HDD, but that seems to be all there is left. Could stick another drive in and load 2000 or XP on that, see if it makes a difference. Also try clearing the bios. I am just guessing, here, It is VERY unlikely that 3 boards will all show the same defect, one after another.
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

DonPedro
K6'er Elite
Posts: 575
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 2:11 pm

Post by DonPedro » Mon Feb 08, 2010 3:48 pm

it is not the fault of the harddisk, it is working properly attached to another pc.

Post Reply