how well do ali5 boards run in win2000?

Discussion relating to Socket 7 hardware.
Post Reply
noshutdown
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 8:55 pm

how well do ali5 boards run in win2000?

Post by noshutdown » Thu May 05, 2011 9:01 pm

my board is gigabyte 5ax, works fine in win98 but behaves terribly in win2000, mostly agp card issues:
1.opengl applications(mostly quake2/3) freezes at initialization.
2.agp texturing is disabled, can be unlocked in registry with some drivers though.
3.d3d applications(3dmark for example) seem to be out of timing control, tests running much faster than intended time, and may hangup/bsod after running for some time.

none of these problems showed up in win98 before. video card is a mx200, i doubt things would improve if i install another nvidia card though.
aliagp driver has been installed. tried several video drivers between 23.11 and 30.82, to no avail, newer drivers seems impractical.
any ways to get it running?

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

RE: how well do ali5 boards run in win2000?

Post by Jim » Fri May 06, 2011 12:01 am

I've never used Win 2K. Just 98-SE, and XP-PRO on my P5A-B Ali 5 boards. Always found those work OK, BUT big difference, - I use ATI cards, and even there I had memory conflicts that had to be resolved before it worked right.
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

User avatar
Tetrium
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 3:21 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by Tetrium » Fri May 06, 2011 3:27 pm

It seems you're not the only one with this problem.
http://www.computing.net/answers/window ... /2594.html
http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/s ... .google.nl
Theres a chance you're best bet to get it running properly is to stick to 9x

nightbear
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2011 5:13 am

Post by nightbear » Sat May 14, 2011 2:09 am

I had some graphics/agp issues recently on a MVP3 board with an ATI9200 agp-card running Win2K or XP.
It crashed as soon as I ran the tests in "dxdiag" and when displaying certain websites.

I had to use quite old ATI-drivers to solve the problem.

Just for the record: "5-6_xp-2k_dd_cp_wdm_23864" works perfectly, later versions don´t.

Trying different Chipset (VIA 4in1) drivers didn´t help.

For example when I install XP, everything´s fine with the ATI driver that comes with XP BUT as soon as I let Windows-Update install later drivers the system crashes.

Maybe it´s possible to get the 5ax run stable by tinkering around with different video and chipset driver-versions...

noshutdown
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 8:55 pm

Post by noshutdown » Mon May 16, 2011 9:17 am

all right lets put the video cards aside first, i think i have run into a very ooooooooooooooooooooooold problem: win2000 incorrectly detects k6-2 cpu speed at half of the actual value(not sure about other motherboards), and i think that's why games go out of speed control.
reinstalling win2000 with acpi disabled(press f5 at the f6 screen and select "standard pc") seems to fix this, yet arises another problem: windows takes a very long time(about 5 minutes) to boot whenever ali agp driver is installed, which doesn't happen with the acpi kernel.
so here's the question: is there any other solutions to fix the frequency detection problem, without disabling the acpi core?

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Jim » Mon May 16, 2011 8:53 pm

Running Win98-SE on an FIC VA503+ I encountered shutdown problems that could only be solved by disabling ACPI. At the same time however WinXP-Pro required ACPI. The solution was to disable ACPI in the following manner for the OS that didn't work with it.

When installing the OS which required that ACPI be disabled, type : Setup /p i

That got things to work properly disabling ACPI only for that OS.

But apart from all that when I used the ASUS P5A-B board, (ALi Chipset), it required that the bios be updated to the 1011.005 version in order for the bios to properly recognize the processor. It is quite possible that your Gigabyte board requires a similar bios update in order to properly recognize the processor. Check Jan Stuenebrinks site for the bios version your board requires to properly recognize a K6+ processor.
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

Post Reply