Flytech B58 Motherboard - any experiences?

Discussion relating to Socket 7 hardware.
Post Reply
Junior K6'er
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 5:34 am
Location: Germany

Flytech B58 Motherboard - any experiences?

Post by moondog » Thu May 24, 2012 5:48 am

Hello together,

lately I digged out a mini pc with this mainboard, it uses the MVP4 chipset and supports even the K6-3 as well as 512 MB RAM... other features are IDE and mini IDE on board, 2 usable PCI slots with riser, front USB, DoC socket, LAN on board and so on...

I wanted to build in a K6-3+ but then the whole machine refuses to work, it doesn´t matter how much vcore I burn on it. With a K6-3 400 AHX it runs well but I wanted to put in an ATZ for some precious overclocking as it could reach much higher speed with lower Vcore and less heat... The BIOS says also K6-3 but I don´t get a clean system-boot... never...

So I wonder if those cpu´s are that incompatible?

Atm, the system is running with a 40 GB 3,5" IBM IDE HDD at 7200 rpm, 512 MB MT SD-RAM, a VIA-USB-2.0 card and the mentioned AHX and sucks about 24 watt in idle and nearly 40 watt under load... I thought about using a 2,5 fast notebook hdd instead to drop the power consumption again, even though I´m also playing with the idea to get a PCI grafixcard as the TridentBlade core is very, very lame...

I found parts of the manual at the net with a few jumper settings and so on but nothing more, no BIOS updates, no manuals, no drivers, nothing...

So I wonder if anyone already got his hands on such a machine?

Thanx in advance,

K6-3+ ATZ 400@616@2,4 Volt
Epox MVP3G5
768 MB Apacer PC133 CL2.0
Geforce 4 TI 4200

IPC Powernote
K6-3+ ATZ 400@500@1,8 Volt (Prime-stable)
512 MB (!!!) PC 133 RAM :-D
Ati Rage Mobility M 4 MB

K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

RE: Flytech B58 Motherboard - any experiences?

Post by Jim » Sat May 26, 2012 2:12 am

You could try checking Jan Steunebrinks site to see if there is an updated bios available there. Apart from that you might be out of luck. The K6-2+ and K6-3+ do require an updated bios to be recognized by the mobo.
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

Post Reply