PCIe Video Card on PCI only motherboards? Maybe?

Discussion relating to Socket 7 hardware.
Post Reply
User avatar
Junior K6'er
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue May 21, 2002 5:15 pm
Location: Grand Forks, ND

PCIe Video Card on PCI only motherboards? Maybe?

Post by endmilled » Sun Feb 03, 2013 2:23 am

I was just looking around eBay at PATA to SATA adapters for older computers and ran across this:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/150736952226?_t ... 97.c0.m619

A PCI to PCIe 16x Card Adapter? I wonder how (well) this works? :idea:

User avatar
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 394
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2001 11:55 am

Post by jsc1973 » Sun Feb 24, 2013 12:15 am

You could probably do it, although I would anticipate possible driver issues due to the PCIe card having to communicate through the bridge chip, and there would probably be severe bottlenecking if you actually got a modern PCIe graphics card to work and tried to force it to run on standard PCI.

I remember AGP-to-PCI adapters just like this several years ago, and you could run AGP cards on them, but the performance left a lot to be desired, even though AGP is far below current PCIe bandwidth levels.
FIC VA-503+, Rev. 1.2, AMD K6-III+ 450@550MHz, 80GB Seagate ATA-100, 3dfx Voodoo3 3500 TV, TB Montego II Quadzilla, Win98se, 384MB PC100

Compaq Presario 1273, AMD K6-III+ 450@400MHz 1.8v, 40GB Samsung 5400RPM, extremely hacked Win98SE, 288 (yes, 288!) MB RAM
(Also an AMD FX-8350, which does the heavy lifting these days...)

Newbie K6'er
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 2:28 am

Re: PCIe Video Card on PCI only motherboards? Maybe?

Post by HMBR » Tue Apr 02, 2013 6:10 pm

I have a PCI 8400GS, it's basically the same thing but all on the same PCB,
it uses a bridge chip from PCIE 1x to PCI,
but the card is problematic, compatibility is very limited,
on my newer Athlon 64 it worked fine under windows xp, but using a newer OS I couldn't install any driver, also even under XP I could see the bridge chip being recognized as some device with no proper driver (on device manager),

I tried to run this card on a Asus p2b (slot 1) and it didn't work, I haven't tested on my socket 7 MB, but I doubt it can work.

Post Reply