Anyone interested in trading a ...

Discussion relating to Socket 7 hardware.
Post Reply
vec3
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2002 11:10 pm

Anyone interested in trading a ...

Post by vec3 »

new k6-2+ 450 for a k6-2 550 or k6-3 450?<br><br>My laptop motherboard supports k6-2/3 but not the k6-2/3+ versions. I have the correct voltage settings but it just wouldn't post - bios issue I assume.<br><br>Anyway if you are interested, please email me at vechun@netscape.net.<br><br>I have references at <!--EZCODE LINK START--><a href="http://www.heatware.com/eval.php4?id=15 ... <!--EZCODE LINK END--><br><br>thanks,<br>Vince <p></p><i></i>

rdrdr
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2002 9:28 pm

set to 300mhz

Post by rdrdr »

Have you tried setting your jumpers to 300mhz (3x100mhz).The machine will boot. Then use a program like k6 speed to increase cpu speed once your are in windows.You can find k6 speed on this site I think, under downloads This should work. <p></p><i></i>

vec3
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2002 11:10 pm

Never tried that

Post by vec3 »

I never tried that trick. I will give it a go tonight! Thanks for the response.<br><br>-Vince <p></p><i></i>

vec3
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2002 11:10 pm

Re: Never tried that

Post by vec3 »

Well tried the 300Mhz speed but that didn't help. No Post, beep or anything. I think the bios just doesn't support it (or a bad cpu).<br><br>Thanks for the help anyway. <p></p><i></i>

mulvihill
Senior K6'er
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2002 1:33 pm

Re: Never tried that

Post by mulvihill »

You may be able to update the bios to support the "+". Check out Jan Steunebrink's site.<br><!--EZCODE LINK START--><a href="http://web.inter.nl.net/hcc/J.Steunebri ... <!--EZCODE LINK END--> <p></p><i></i>

vec3
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2002 11:10 pm

Re: Never tried that

Post by vec3 »

Checked there. No bio updates for my laptop. Traded the cpu for a k6-3.<br><br>Thanks everyone. <p></p><i></i>

Post Reply