Win some, lose some...

Discussion about systems that do not use the K6-x processors.
User avatar
tazwegion
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 349
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2003 11:13 am
Location: Victoria, Australia

Win some, lose some...

Post by tazwegion » Thu Aug 18, 2005 1:53 am

Like the old adage goes... win some lose some, so true! recently I pulled an old Abit KT133 chipset m/board out of the 'to-be-fixed' drawer (I was bored :P), unfortunately 12+ cap's was too much, and the resulting mayhem & frustration left the board in two halves! LMAO :lol:


Enter the next Abit KT7... this is actually out of my secondary rig (semi-gaming & DC), and was suffering from bulging cap's too (only 3-4 thankfully) also to my disgust the NB cooler had given-up-the-ghost, however luckily I had some spare Gigabyte GPU chipset coolers (and thermal goo)... certainly heavier duty than the original fitment (kinda' beefy) ;)

Image

The original motherboard (now in physical halves) was a great source of replacement capacitors (though different V ratings), as were left over ATX PSU boards (2200mF cap's) though a little on the large/bulky side ;)

Image

Then last, but by no means least... the GeForce2 MX400 I purchsed of eBay (minus chipset cooler) was mated (after a slight 3pin -> 2pin mod') to a lovely blue illuminated Vantec IceberQ4 chipset unit, Whoa! check out that blue! ;)

Image
Image

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

RE: Win some, lose some...

Post by Jim » Thu Aug 18, 2005 3:11 pm

Very Nice!
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

aaronamd
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:24 am
Location: Florida
Contact:

Post by aaronamd » Thu Aug 18, 2005 6:20 pm

cool!




poor capaciters....

User avatar
tazwegion
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 349
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2003 11:13 am
Location: Victoria, Australia

Post by tazwegion » Thu Aug 18, 2005 7:39 pm

Yeah poor capacitors indeed, a local PC tech I sometimes 'annoy' :P was telling me that Abit (in the past) had used suspect quality capacitors on their boards, and due to an impending law-suit were repairing said items for gratis, however that's no good to me living this far away from the U.S. though it did teach them a lesson in Quality Assurance Vs. product profit margin :lol:

The other part to the tale, is a disgruntled employee @ a Japanese capacitor plant left their job (taking with them the recipe for capacitor composition) and went and set up shop in China (or there abouts), the problem was the recipe was incomplete, hence capacitors coming from that NEW plant didn't have the tolerance for heat that they should, thus making them increasingly prone to failure :( and a liability to any company who purchased from them to save a buck :roll:

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Jim » Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:51 pm

The whole sad story about that can be had from Gary Headlee who has made a profession of replacing defective caps. (He operates out of Utah).
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

User avatar
tazwegion
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 349
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2003 11:13 am
Location: Victoria, Australia

Post by tazwegion » Fri Aug 19, 2005 1:24 am

Still Utah is more than a' Coo-eee' away from here... pretty much leaving me to my own devices, or at the mercy of local electronics tech's :P


BTW it wouldn't be a sad story for Gary... it was his bread and butter :lol:

User avatar
tazwegion
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 349
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2003 11:13 am
Location: Victoria, Australia

Penny pinching scuzbuckets...

Post by tazwegion » Sat Nov 19, 2005 2:58 am

Well... believe it or not, I had 8 more capacitors to replace on my Abit KT7 (s462) m/board, I even had to resort to recycling cap's off old MSI s370 M/boards :lol:


This must make it about 12+ (out of the 30 total) capacitors since I first aquired the darn thing :roll:

Perhaps it would be possible to set fire to the bean counter's abacus :twisted:
Image

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

RE: Changing Caps

Post by Jim » Sat Nov 19, 2005 8:29 am

Capacitors are very cheap. Would strongly recommend buying new ones instead of using used ones off dead boards to replace defective ones. Reason being that the "Cap Problem" is caused by the breakdown of fluid within the caps electrolyte into gases. (Which makes them eventually bulge in some cases as the gas pressure within them goes up) Because this is a gradual process You may ( Probable) be replacing dead caps w/ half dead caps.

Note : if caps are hard to get where you live, you could probably make an arrangement w/ somebody living in a city in Australia to send you the kind you need. Heck, I could do that from here even.
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

User avatar
tazwegion
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 349
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2003 11:13 am
Location: Victoria, Australia

RE: Changing Caps

Post by tazwegion » Sat Nov 19, 2005 7:08 pm

The reason I sometimes re-use cap's is because 6.3v 2200mF versions are not available anywhere is Australia... I'm lucky to find a 10v variant, seeing as space is @ a premium (in the pcb layout) a larger replacement will sometimes just not fit :(

BTW for the record... I've yet to replace the same capacitor twice... it's always a different location on the board, heck I'm getting so paranoid now when I pull a board for inspection, I'll change every cap' that even thinks about bulging (early signs) :twisted:

I can source most of what I need locally.... and for what I can't there's always -> RS Australia

Interestingly enough... Skt. A has been the biggest offender, with barely any SS7 boards requiring replacement, but we all know the history of the IT industry @ that point in time :D
Image

User avatar
tazwegion
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 349
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2003 11:13 am
Location: Victoria, Australia

Curse you Fujitsu...

Post by tazwegion » Thu Nov 24, 2005 6:39 pm

Backed up all my Jpeg collection to the network server during a format/OS reinstall... only to have the drive cause the computer/server to shutdown on reboot? :shock:

That's right... it wasn't the PSU, RAM, V/card or BIOS... it was the HDD (fujitsu), how bizarre I thought... only to discover the drive was corrupted & files missing :(

Yet another example of hard copy beats magnetic storage, OR back up everything twice! :busy
Image

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

RE: Curse you Fujitsu...

Post by Jim » Thu Nov 24, 2005 7:51 pm

Surprized you hadn't heard. Fuji produced millions of drives w/ defective controllers. They packup and die after a while. They also lost a class action suit and were offering refunds to owners of those drives, complete w/ up to $500.00 for data recovery. You used to be able to download complete info from their site. Maybe still can.
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

User avatar
tazwegion
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 349
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2003 11:13 am
Location: Victoria, Australia

RE: Curse you Fujitsu...

Post by tazwegion » Sat Nov 26, 2005 12:36 am

Thanks Jim, it was a second hand 4GB unit... only registers as a 2Gb unit now :(

So I placed one of my trusty Quantum Fireball's on that system... only to find a (blue screen) failed attempt to write to drive error... what's up with this? :shock: I've since added an ISA IDE controller card (and disabled on-board primary) now we shall see what's going on... :twisted:
Image

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

RE: Curse you Fujitsu...

Post by Jim » Sat Nov 26, 2005 2:26 am

Odd. I'd try hooking both drives up to another mobo to see if suddenly they are normal again. If so you may have another cap prob, or even just a bad cable.
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

User avatar
tazwegion
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 349
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2003 11:13 am
Location: Victoria, Australia

Primary IDE controller issues...

Post by tazwegion » Sat Nov 26, 2005 9:35 pm

Well since I've added the IDE controller card I've had no more issues (yet)... the problem now is the card doesn't support DMA and the drivres are @ least ATA33 :(

Dunno' about further faulty cap's Jim, but a suspect IDE (on-board controller) IC seems to fit the bill pretty well, and replacing which is far-and-beyond my humble expertise :shock:
Image

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

RE: Primary IDE controller issues...

Post by Jim » Sun Nov 27, 2005 6:15 am

Hmmmmm. You arn't giving many details about this machine; but : 1) If only the Primary controller is shot, you can boot from the secondary provided the primary is not used; - though that would limit you to 2 IDE devices. 2) Alternately you could use a newer IDE controller card which supports higher speeds. 3) Junk the mobo and use another. 4) Send the mobo to Gary Headlee who does have the expertise, (and equipment), to fix it.
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

Post Reply