Best motherboard for a k7 Athlon Slot a

Discussion about systems that do not use the K6-x processors.
Post Reply
ssnjimb

Best motherboard for a k7 Athlon Slot a

Post by ssnjimb » Wed Nov 09, 2005 5:40 am

Hi

What was the best motherboard for a slot a althlon processor

Kind Regards

James Stephenson

sylvan2626
Senior K6'er
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 3:25 pm
Location: Florida, USA

Post by sylvan2626 » Wed Nov 09, 2005 2:10 pm

I am an EPoX fan, so my old Slot A board is an EP-7KXA+ board. I still have it and a couple of CPUs for it.

Don't know if it is the best board, but its what I like.
EP-MVP3G2 Rev 1.0 (8/6/01 BIOS) -- K6-2+ 550ACZ @ 618MHz (103MHz FSB) 640MB PC100

EP-MVP3G5 Rev1.4 (8/6/01 BIOS) -- K6III+ 500ANZ @ various MHz

ssnjimb
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 5:44 am

Post by ssnjimb » Wed Nov 09, 2005 4:05 pm

Hi

Would you be interested in selling that board and any cpu's you have for it if the price was right also is this an atx board.

Kind Regards
James Stephenson

User avatar
tazwegion
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 349
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2003 11:13 am
Location: Victoria, Australia

Post by tazwegion » Wed Nov 09, 2005 8:38 pm

Q: What was the best motherboard for a slot a althlon processor

A: X-bits Labs SlotA comparison & Abit KA7 Slot A review

BTW from what I read... the VIA KX133 chipset is the one you'll aspire for ;)
Image

ssnjimb
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 5:44 am

Post by ssnjimb » Sun Nov 13, 2005 3:40 am

Hello.

I have just purchased an Abit KA7-100 i hope i can build a great classic system out of this board.

What kind of graphics cards will work with 4xagp

And what is the fastest processor this board will take.

One more thing a review on this board suggested the caps are not very high quality.what causes them to leak

James

User avatar
tazwegion
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 349
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2003 11:13 am
Location: Victoria, Australia

Post by tazwegion » Sun Nov 13, 2005 4:24 am

Quite simply penny pinching bean counters @ Abit (any manufacturer for that matter) :(

During the KT-133 generation (and most likely the KX-133 SLOT-A) many companies purchased low quality capacitors... I had heard a story about a disgruntled employee stealing the 'formula' for capacitance substance and taking it to a rival manufacturer, to the peril of consumers though the formula was incomplete ;)

Image

Other than capacitors... North Bridge cooling was snubbed as well with poor performing 40mm fans placed as part of an active chipset cooler, many people still choose to go 'passive' for their NB's and Zalman makes a nice selection of large NB-sinks, though I prefer salvaged GPU coolers & the Vantec IceberQ 'fansink'

Graphics cards? GeForce2 / ATI Radeon 7000 upwards I'd assume... even my Diamond Viper2 works @ AGP x4 LMAO :lol:

Gruntiest Slot-A processor? well according to Abit's USA site... an Athlon (0.25 micron process) up to 1Ghz, it will NOT support the second generation (0.18 micron process) namely the Thunderbird, more info @ Abit-USA

BTW I still own/buy Abit boards and believe their nForce2 Ultra's (Nf7-s) to be their most exceptional product to date IMHO ;)
Image

ssnjimb
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 5:44 am

Post by ssnjimb » Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:09 am

Hi again

I wont go ahead with a repair its too comprehensive.

What was the last slot a motherboard to be made.

Or is there another board like the abit with agp4 and a capacity of at least 1gb of ram

James

sylvan2626
Senior K6'er
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 3:25 pm
Location: Florida, USA

Post by sylvan2626 » Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:55 am

To ssnjimb:

I've been working on my home PCs, so I have not been keeping up with the various BBS.

Since you purchased your Slot A board I would guess that no interest in my EPoX?

Hey, when I reply to messages now, the "Topic review" just displays the following:
Template->make_filename(): Error - file ./modules/PNphpBB2/templates/BlueTemplate/viewtopic_attach_body.tpl does not exist

Edit: Sorry about that, the problem should be fixed now.
-Nohr
EP-MVP3G2 Rev 1.0 (8/6/01 BIOS) -- K6-2+ 550ACZ @ 618MHz (103MHz FSB) 640MB PC100

EP-MVP3G5 Rev1.4 (8/6/01 BIOS) -- K6III+ 500ANZ @ various MHz

ssnjimb
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 5:44 am

Post by ssnjimb » Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:57 am

Hi

Iam interested in any slot a board that takes agp4 at least

James

User avatar
tazwegion
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 349
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2003 11:13 am
Location: Victoria, Australia

Post by tazwegion » Wed Nov 16, 2005 8:56 pm

I did a little researching on the options currently available on the market (ie. eBay etc) if you were to continue to persue a Slot A platform...

Soyo SY-K7VIA claims to support 1Gb of RAM but only AGP 1x 2x :(

The following will support AGP 2x & 4x, but only a max of 768Mb RAM

- Epox 7KXA+
- ChainTech CT-7ATAO
- Tekram K7KX-A


The following will only support AGP 2x and max of 768Mb RAM

- MSI K7 Pro
- ASUS K7M
- MSI MS-6191 'Athena'
- FIC SD11
- Gigabyte GA-7IXE


Looks like your best SlotA bet is with sylvan's EPoX unit ;)
Image

NukeRoot
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 3:14 pm
Location: Houston, TX U.S.A.
Contact:

Re: Best motherboard for a k7 Athlon Slot a

Post by NukeRoot » Sat Nov 26, 2005 3:36 pm

Hi,

Is that "EP-7KXA+" motherboard still available?

If not, would you or anyone know of where one might be at that I could buy?

I was looking for one to replace my semi-working GA-7IXE which was damaged from an electrical surge a few years ago.

Thank you! :)

User avatar
KGB
K6'er
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2003 7:55 pm

Post by KGB » Wed Nov 30, 2005 11:32 am

Ive used the Asus K7M (AMD 751), and Aopen AK72 (VIA KX133) motherboards.

The Asus had a Athlon 550 (Pluto core) it was spectacular, it worked really well and was stable. The board was picky with memory, but the overclocking options were great. Alas, I gave it to my cousin his birthday. He bought WinXP for it, and a wifi card and he really enjoys it.

The AK72 was also really good. I used the Athlon 800 (Thunderbird) and was really top notch. I sold the PC years ago, right before AMD made the switch to socket A. My friend who purchased it, pimped the pc (not asthetically). 1.5Gb Ram, 200GB HDD, DVD+-RW, Radeon 9500PRo. It was a dream after that. (However the mounting holes of the motherboard did not allign with the cases, so it was sort of weird).

Hope it helps
-K6-2 550 Gigagyte GA-5AX (5.2) 1x512MB GeForce 2 Ti500 64MB
-Pentium III 933 Asus P3C-L 2x128MB GeForce 4 Ti4200 128MB DDR
-Pentium III 750 Asus P3B-F ATi Rage128 GL 32MB
-Celeron 1.2 Asus TUSI-M 2x128MB
-Pentium IV 1.5 DELL 2350 1x128MB
-Athlon 900 Asus K7M 1x256MB 2x128MB GeForce 3 64MB
-AthlonXP-M 2400+ Asus K7V880 2x512MB HIS Radeon HD3850 512MB DDR

sylvan2626
Senior K6'er
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 3:25 pm
Location: Florida, USA

Post by sylvan2626 » Wed Nov 30, 2005 9:29 pm

Been out of town for a while...

My mobo is an EPoX EP-7KXA (not the "+"). It is still resting quietly at the EPoX retirement home. Mobo is the Apollo KX133 chipset, and supports AGP 2X and 4X, 768MB PC133 max RAM, 200MHz FSB, UDMA/66, 5 PCI, USB 1.1, onboard sound.
EP-MVP3G2 Rev 1.0 (8/6/01 BIOS) -- K6-2+ 550ACZ @ 618MHz (103MHz FSB) 640MB PC100

EP-MVP3G5 Rev1.4 (8/6/01 BIOS) -- K6III+ 500ANZ @ various MHz

Post Reply