SPZ - The Last Dog

Discussion about systems that do not use the K6-x processors.
Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Jim » Wed Nov 14, 2007 6:19 pm

@ Peter : The FIC KA 6100 Does support a 1.3 Gig Celeron Tualatin when used with an Upgradeware Slot T adapter. There is however one minor fly in the ointment. That is that although the processor functions properly in all respects so far as I can tell, the post is showing it as a "<90Mhz Pll". Wondering if running the bios patcher would correct that ?
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

User avatar
Stedman5040
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 4:22 pm

Post by Stedman5040 » Thu Nov 15, 2007 6:31 am

Jim,

My Tualatins whether celeron or P III always show up something crazy in the boot up screen but function normally. This is whether I use my powerleap adapter or a tualatin socket adapter. They also give different cpu identities on boot up screens with different motherboards using the same cpu. Overclocking a Tualatin Celeron 1200 to 1600 on my VA6 boots up as a P II but functions as a Celeron at 1600Mhz.

Stedman

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Jim » Thu Nov 15, 2007 6:11 pm

Thanks Tony, I was just wondering if that "showing up something crazy" could be corrected by running "The Bios Patcher", which I have; but have never used.
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Jim » Tue Dec 04, 2007 1:24 am

Anyway, I decided to keep the FIC Ka-6100 w/ Celeron 1.3 Gig for myself. Gloria will just have to settle for the Sempron 3400 machine that I got her as a replacement. When I have her new machine functioning properly, (software, sigh), I will reclaim the old "Superpuppy Case" that her old machine was in, then maybe get around to building SPZ1. Yeah there are going to be at least 2 of them, cause I also have the 1.4 Gig P3S for the Gigabyte boards.
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

RabidWombat
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 1:01 am

Post by RabidWombat » Thu Nov 10, 2011 1:55 am

Greetings one and all. Been lurking around here for a while and I've finally gotten around to registering. :)

Anyway, Jim I wanted to ask you if you ever tried to use the processor which came with the board and if so, what kind of results you had.

The reason I ask is that I believe that I have the same processor and motherboard combo that you originally started with. While I was able to get it to work fine with fresh Windows 98 installation, anytime I tried to boot up and game that required 3D, in this case Unreal Tournament, it would promptly lock up forcing a hard reboot. I tried several different video cards, Voodoo5 board, a couple of old ATI Rage II/Pro cards, those also paired with a Voodoo2 add on board, but to no effect.

Also, I tried to swap in a Celeron 300a overclocked to 450 naturally with the same results. However, when I bumped the FSB backed down to 66Mhz, things worked fine, if a great deal slower.

Anyway, thanks for any input and I hope it is appropriate to post this here. :)

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Jim » Sun Nov 13, 2011 5:33 pm

I never yet have built that machine. Stll on the list of things to do. SIGH!!
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

Post Reply