Tualatin overclocking

Discussion about systems that do not use the K6-x processors.
User avatar
Stedman5040
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 4:22 pm

Tualatin overclocking

Post by Stedman5040 » Sun Aug 10, 2008 3:48 pm

After what seems an age I have managed to get a Gigabyte GA-6OXET motherboard. It hasn't arrived yet but I wait in anticipation. The board is meant to support fsb's of 166Mhz and above with 1/5 and 1/6 dividers. Could be interesting for the line up of Tualatins that I have. Could be that the limit on the system is down to the SDRAM memory I have. Does anyone know where to get PC166 SDRAM these days at a reasonable price?

Stedman

User avatar
jsc1973
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 394
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2001 11:55 am
Contact:

Post by jsc1973 » Tue Aug 12, 2008 11:56 pm

This guy says he has it on eBay: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... 0121963164 I don't know if that's for real, though, because it's from a Gateway and I don't ever remember them putting out any systems that used PC166 SDRAM.

It does exist. Kingmax churned out a lot of PC150 and PC166 in the day, but I haven't seen any in a few years. I think most of the SDRAM that "passed" at 166 ended up on video cards.

Good luck!
FIC VA-503+, Rev. 1.2, AMD K6-III+ 450@550MHz, 80GB Seagate ATA-100, 3dfx Voodoo3 3500 TV, TB Montego II Quadzilla, Win98se, 384MB PC100

Compaq Presario 1273, AMD K6-III+ 450@400MHz 1.8v, 40GB Samsung 5400RPM, extremely hacked Win98SE, 288 (yes, 288!) MB RAM
(Also an AMD FX-8350, which does the heavy lifting these days...)

User avatar
Stedman5040
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 4:22 pm

Post by Stedman5040 » Wed Aug 13, 2008 6:29 am

I have looked at ebay and at the moment nothing seems to be doing. I do have some Crucial PC133 CL2 modules and they should be good for 150fsb and maybe higher. I have seen on some review that they can reach 162Mhz. Benched against some pc150 Mushkin and OCZ pc166 they seem to have done quite well. Probably just need to be lucky I guess.

Board should arrive today or tomorrow.

Stedman.

User avatar
Stedman5040
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 4:22 pm

Post by Stedman5040 » Thu Oct 09, 2008 4:16 pm

Got some 256mb cl2 PC133 Twinmos ram which seem to have 6ns chips. Have managed to get 166mhz out of them at 3-3-3-7 so far using a 1266mhz P-III-s (1578mhz). No overclocking of the pci/agp bus as the GA-6OXET board has the 1/5 divider.

Everest gives at these timings

MR/MW/ML 1222/286/98.2

and

Superpi (1M) 1m 38s

Stedman

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Jim » Thu Oct 09, 2008 9:28 pm

Very interesting Tony. What do you get at some slower FSB with faster RAM timings? What FSB settings does you board have? Might be able to do nice things with 150Mhz using the fastest RAM timings available. Would also be interesting if you had a 1.4Ghz Tualatin. Just thinking. By the way where did you score the RAM?
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

User avatar
Stedman5040
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 4:22 pm

Post by Stedman5040 » Fri Oct 10, 2008 7:38 am

Jim,

I have got 3 P-IIIs 1400's and one is the TB1 step SL6BY. I can get this cpu up to about 160fsb before it crashes, but this is at default voltage of 1.45v. I have both Crucial PC133 cl2 and these Twinmos PC133 cl2 ram. The best timings at 133fsb I get with the Crucial ram where it can be set at 2-2-2-5 whereas I need 2-2-2-7 for the Twinmos ram. Fastest I can get with these timings is about 142 fsb above this I need to slow down the ras to cas timings to 3. Where I need to go is to see if I can get the 1400 up to 166fsb with a bit of extra voltage and this will give about 1750Mhz. I can then look at the cpu at 150fsb or even 142fsb.

The main reason for looking at the SL6BX cpu (1266Mhz) was to see if my ram was up to 166 fsb which it looks as if it is with the Twinmos ram. I still need to check out the Crucial ram with the same cpu. So there is a lot to look at in order to get the best from this board. Some real cl2 pc166 ram would be useful to push this system to the limits.

Stedman

User avatar
Stedman5040
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 4:22 pm

Post by Stedman5040 » Fri Oct 10, 2008 7:46 am

Jim,

This board has a max fsb of 200Mhz and it does have the 6x divider to go with it. I have seen some people reporting benches with fsb's of around 170Mhz. Theoretically you could get a PIIIs 1.13 SL6BW to about 1700MHz at 200fsb if the board could take it and you could find some SDRAM that would push to 200fsb.

Stedman

User avatar
Stedman5040
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 4:22 pm

Post by Stedman5040 » Fri Oct 10, 2008 3:20 pm

Jim,

The Crucial sticks do 150fsb @ 2-2-2-7 but the Twinmos sticks will not get to 150. However the Crucial sticks at 3-3-3-7 only get to 164fsb before faltering whereas the Twinmos sticks get all the way to 166fsb and I still need to know how much further they will go. I suspect not much further.

Anyway using the Crucial memory at 2-2-2-7 and 150 fsb with a Tualatin 1400 SL6BY @ 1576MHz I get as follows

Everest 2.20

MR/MW/ML 1130/318/93.8

Superpi (1M) 1m34s

So at 150MHz fsb and tighter memory timings at about the same cpu speed the Superpi score is a little better than at 166fsb with the 1266Mhz Cpu (1578MHz) at 3-3-3-7.

Stedman

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Jim » Sun Oct 12, 2008 5:44 am

Very interesting. Does that board have any alternate voltage settings available for the RAM? Sounds like a VERY nice board.
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

User avatar
Stedman5040
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 4:22 pm

Post by Stedman5040 » Sun Oct 12, 2008 9:34 am

Jim,

It is a very good board. It has voltage settings for cpu, agp, and memory. It has dividers up to 1/6. It is also possible to to run the ram at 75% of bus speed. So you can run the fsb at 166 with a 1/5 divider and the memory bus at 125Mhz. Or it may be possible theoretically to run the fsb at 200MHz with the memory at 150MHz and the pci/agp bus at 33/128 respectively. For features I think that it was the best overclocking board for Socket 370.

Regards,

Tony.

User avatar
Witte
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 11:30 am

Post by Witte » Mon Oct 13, 2008 1:23 pm

You really should take a look at the following FSB overclocking database: http://holicho.lib.net/wcpuidv3/wcpuidv3.htm

It's "a bit" outdated but the ASUS TUSL2-C and Abit ST6 are roughly the best clocking boards out there, do note that it might need special voltage modifications.

As far as your setup goes, can you get hold of an PSU with regulable 3,3V line?

User avatar
Stedman5040
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 4:22 pm

Post by Stedman5040 » Sat Nov 15, 2008 7:42 am

Got hold of 2x256mb Apacer pc133 cl2 sdram. This memory has 7ns inifineon chips. The memory runs at 166Mhz @ 22279 at 3.3v. Need to see what this memory maxs out at.

With my 1.26 gig PIII-s @ 1.57gig I get the following scores

Everest home 2.2

mr/mw/ml 1255/350/88

Sandra 2004 memory bench

1211/1202

Superpi 1M 1m29s

Stedman

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Jim » Sun Nov 16, 2008 3:24 pm

Very good!!
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

User avatar
Stedman5040
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 4:22 pm

Post by Stedman5040 » Mon Nov 17, 2008 5:08 am

Jim,

the results are good. I reckon that the PIII-s 1400 chip I have should run at 1750 @ 1.6 to 1.65v. this will get the PI score a bit lower.

I might try to get a PIII-s 1133 chip with the B step. At 200fsb this chip will max out at 1700Mhz which could be interesting. You never know the memory might be good for 200fsb at slack timings. I know that the aggressive timings at 166 will probably be better than at 200 but just to see 200fsb on a socket 370 board would be nice.

I am really pleased with this apacer ram.

Stedman.

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Jim » Tue Nov 18, 2008 1:06 am

I can well imagine. Will have to try to get some myself.
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

Post Reply