fedora core 3 install cd do not boot on my k6-2+

Discuss software and how to tweak more performance out of your system.
Post Reply
bufny
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 8:55 am

fedora core 3 install cd do not boot on my k6-2+

Post by bufny » Fri Feb 18, 2005 11:49 am

fedora core 3 install cd do not boot on my k6-2+. It hangs at "uncompressing linux". My k6-2+ works with other os such as win98, winxp, redhat 7.3. I changed the processor with an common k6-2 (without +, i.e. without the cache L2 on die) and worked ok. I submited this as a bug at bugzilla.redhat.com. Please, if you can help, try to reproduce this. Burn the 1st cd of fedore core 3 and try to boot from it.

thanks

User avatar
His Royal Majesty King V
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 444
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2001 4:06 pm
Location: New Jersey

Post by His Royal Majesty King V » Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:37 pm

You know, I've NEVER gotten Red Hat linux to run on my K6 systems.

I tried distros from 6.2 to 7.2, and no luck. I'd sometimes get segmentation faults in the midst of the installation routine.

I tried Mandrake, no problems.

I don't have any idea WHY Red Hat seems to have a problem with my Super 7 hardware, or maybe the Super 7 AMD CPUs, but it does. I do remember running RH 5.0 on a generic frankenstein P133 system without a hitch.
FIC PA-2103 E-O036, K6-2+ 450 2.0V @ 500 1.9V
FIC PA-2013 E-O036, K6-III 450 2.2V @ 500
Acer quasi-proprietary Mid-tower, P-II 266

smoke
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2005 6:25 am

Post by smoke » Sun Feb 27, 2005 6:35 am

Ive been running red hat on my k6-3+ ever since the 7.0 release and never had any major problems installing it. I have had installers hang a few times similar to what you are describing, but Ive found those to be rare and intermittent. Im currently running fedora core 3 with no problems other than what seemed to be disk druid buggering up my partition table on the first two install attempts.

What are your full system specs?

User avatar
His Royal Majesty King V
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 444
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2001 4:06 pm
Location: New Jersey

Post by His Royal Majesty King V » Mon Feb 28, 2005 9:32 am

The thing with me is, even if I got past the installation, X would sometimes either work or not work, or sometimes doing something as simple as starting VI would cause a segmentation fault.

At the time:

FIC PA-2013 2.0 E-O036 motherboard, VIA MVP3 chipset
AMD K6-3+ 450MHz oc to 550, though even backing it down to its original speed didn't help
ATI Rage 128 Pro 16MB AGP videocard
Ensoniq AudioPCI soundcard
SMC 8013EWC ISA network card (WD chipset drivers)

In retrospect, maybe the BIOS settings that caused me to have problems with 3D hardware acceleration might've been at issue. However, while Red Hat gave me nonstop headaches, I had no problems with Windows, nor with any version of Mandrake Linux on the same box without changing any settings at all. Plus, those settings only caused problems with 3D gaming, and intermittently. Text-only stuff, non-3D games, etc., were problem free.

I never understood what was going on with it.

Been a while since I've used any Linux at home though, as I've been toying with rebuilding my systems here and there.
FIC PA-2103 E-O036, K6-2+ 450 2.0V @ 500 1.9V
FIC PA-2013 E-O036, K6-III 450 2.2V @ 500
Acer quasi-proprietary Mid-tower, P-II 266

User avatar
stevenaaus
K6'er
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 6:09 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by stevenaaus » Fri Feb 17, 2006 10:08 pm

I use linux and k6-s though I'm not sure I've put a recent redhat/fedora on a k6 box. I've never seen this problem. I guess you've tried disabling hard disk dma with "hdparm -d 0 /dev/hda" (or hdb/hdc/hdd for the cdrom), or using the "nodma" boot option at your boot loader (But I'm not sure about this last one).

Redhat used to use a custom kernel.. and may still do, so I guess there's a chance this is a problem.
p54-166/p55-200 - ga586
k6/2-380@412 - txp4
k75-750 slot a - pcchips 800LMR (rock solid)
compaq C2.4Ghz - U8668grand (cheap)
Sempron 3400+ (754) - K8VM800M, FX5600, Fedora 7
E5200 - Asrock 4CoreDual-Sata2
Core 2 Quad 9400 - Asus P5G41-M

Post Reply