Speed impact of using the "right" software

Discuss software and how to tweak more performance out of your system.
Post Reply
DonPedro
K6'er Elite
Posts: 575
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 2:11 pm

Speed impact of using the "right" software

Post by DonPedro » Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:04 am

In our search for and investigation of the best system setup in order to get the best performance, we - according to the what is discussed primarily here in our forum - fail miserably to investigate on how much impact the right choice of using software A instead of B for a given task can have.

Since many years I am married with the opera web-browser. Besides a hundred reasons (intelligent features, versatility, configurability to excess, lightweightedness, dozens of practical things, ease of use etc) it was exactly the speed issue that impressed me most. you just can literally feel the smoothness and speed how opera is able to handle 15 open tabs (web-adresses) compared to for example with the so much acclaimed firefox. there was no need to have it proven by some benchmark, the difference can be experienced by just using it.

but yesterday I stumbled over a website of some diehard firefox-user. as a web-programmer he decided to write a bench(mark) on javascript interpretation-speed. and then tested some browser on it.

well, :) , .... he is still busy to rearrange his dropped jaws.

you can jump to his website right here and do some testing on your own.

for everybody's convenience here are my test-results:

edit: tested on GA-5AX rev 5.2, K6-3@550, 768MB ram, NT4 Svp6a
Attachments
bench javascript.png
bench javascript.png (4.37 KiB) Viewed 9819 times

User avatar
KGB
K6'er
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2003 7:55 pm

Post by KGB » Tue Aug 08, 2006 6:43 am

L :lol: L

Heh, good thing I was using Opera since 2000. I knew even back then, whilst using ISA 56K modem (still do :wink: ) that Opera functions way faster than the rest of the other browsers of the day. To do his day, I still have this feeling when I am running Opera (as to other times I use IE to get updates from microsoft, it seems to take much longer. I suppose any Opera user does not need this test to prove how their browser is.

I used Firefox on my P3 rig, and it ate the memory right up, and was spotty at best.
-K6-2 550 Gigagyte GA-5AX (5.2) 1x512MB GeForce 2 Ti500 64MB
-Pentium III 933 Asus P3C-L 2x128MB GeForce 4 Ti4200 128MB DDR
-Pentium III 750 Asus P3B-F ATi Rage128 GL 32MB
-Celeron 1.2 Asus TUSI-M 2x128MB
-Pentium IV 1.5 DELL 2350 1x128MB
-Athlon 900 Asus K7M 1x256MB 2x128MB GeForce 3 64MB
-AthlonXP-M 2400+ Asus K7V880 2x512MB HIS Radeon HD3850 512MB DDR

DonPedro
K6'er Elite
Posts: 575
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 2:11 pm

Post by DonPedro » Sat Jun 14, 2008 3:41 pm

a new opera version is available, 9.5 is ready for download.

I have repeated the speedtests at

http://celtickane.com/webdesign/jsspeed.php

and this time I have used opera 8.54, 9.27 and 9.5 for comparison. I left out firefox and iexplorer, because I just want to show you how much faster opera 9.5 operates compared with its older brothers.

I ran each test 6 times and then calculated average numbers.

numbers (times) here can not be compared directly with the results of the first comparison above, too much changed in between (system setup, but also celtic kane's test routines).
Attachments
opera speedtest.png
opera speedtest.png (3.98 KiB) Viewed 9297 times

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Jim » Sun Jun 15, 2008 6:33 pm

Have you tried it against the new "Firefox 3 Candidate 1" that Nohr has posted an article on ? Me, I am still using Moronpoop's "Internet Exploder". Should change. Getting sick of "Moronpoop Internet Exploder has encountered a problem and must close".
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

DonPedro
K6'er Elite
Posts: 575
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 2:11 pm

Post by DonPedro » Mon Jun 16, 2008 5:29 am

firefox 3 final will be released tomorrow. I am of course will check it out too.

Super_Relay
Site Admin
Posts: 215
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2001 5:53 pm
Location: Australia

Post by Super_Relay » Mon Jun 16, 2008 5:51 am

the full firefox 3 is out 17th of june (US time)

DonPedro
K6'er Elite
Posts: 575
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 2:11 pm

Post by DonPedro » Wed Jun 18, 2008 5:22 am

okay, here are new test results.

since opera 9.5 does not work 100% stable under windows nt4 (because of transparency effects and alike) I switched to to my sis530 machine.

k6-3-600
512 ram @ 133 mhz
w2k

I ran both tests (old and new) 6 times and computed average scores. this time I only compared opera 9.5 against firefox 3.0


old:
http://celtickane.com/webdesign/jsspeed.php

new:
http://celtickane.com/webdesign/jsspeed2007.php


well, as you can see the new firefox is able to catch up but opera still rules.
Attachments
browsertest alt, sis530.png
browsertest alt, sis530.png (4.97 KiB) Viewed 9214 times
browsertest neu, sis530.png
browsertest neu, sis530.png (4.79 KiB) Viewed 9214 times

User avatar
TheBrain
Junior K6'er
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 4:12 pm
Location: São Paulo / Brazil
Contact:

My results

Post by TheBrain » Tue Jul 22, 2008 12:57 am

DonPedro

I ran this test right now, in a AMD AM2 platform CPU, running WXP x86 SP3 with IE 7 (7.0.5730.13).

The results are attached.

---
Edit:

Thinking better, i realized that these numbers can't be compared to number from another system, but with other webrowsers in this same PC. That is what would make sense...
As I only use IE at the momment, I'll have to do this comparison later.
Attachments
2008-07-22_035136.png
Javascript speed tests
2008-07-22_035136.png (4.94 KiB) Viewed 9089 times
AMD K6-2+ 450 ACZ | PCChips M598LMR - SiS 530 | 256 MB DIMM SDRAM | 3dfx Voodoo4 4500 PCI - 32 MB | Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 8 - 40 GB

DonPedro
K6'er Elite
Posts: 575
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 2:11 pm

Re: My results

Post by DonPedro » Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:39 am

[quote=
Thinking better, i realized that these numbers can't be compared to number from another system, but with other webrowsers in this same PC. That is what would make sense...[/quote]

exactly! ;)

User avatar
TheBrain
Junior K6'er
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 4:12 pm
Location: São Paulo / Brazil
Contact:

Peacekeeper - The Browser Benchmark by Futuremark Co.

Post by TheBrain » Tue Mar 17, 2009 10:03 am

Hey, guys. Don Pedro and all the fellas.

Check this new web browser benchmark by Futuremark:

http://service.futuremark.com/peacekeeper/index.action

As I use IE 7.0 at home and at work, i've got the worst possible results, as it seems. Approx. 180 points at home, 160 points at work.

___
edited because of typo
AMD K6-2+ 450 ACZ | PCChips M598LMR - SiS 530 | 256 MB DIMM SDRAM | 3dfx Voodoo4 4500 PCI - 32 MB | Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 8 - 40 GB

DonPedro
K6'er Elite
Posts: 575
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 2:11 pm

Post by DonPedro » Wed Apr 01, 2009 4:48 am

thebrain,

thanks for the link, I got 50 points on my p5a-k6-3-550-win-nt4-opera962 system.

how you got 180 points is beyond my imagination! tell me more!

User avatar
TheBrain
Junior K6'er
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 4:12 pm
Location: São Paulo / Brazil
Contact:

Post by TheBrain » Tue Aug 11, 2009 12:14 pm

Oh, I forgot to mention that when I said "at home" I meant I was using my Atlhon X2 system, not the K6. Haven't used my K6-2+ for a while...
AMD K6-2+ 450 ACZ | PCChips M598LMR - SiS 530 | 256 MB DIMM SDRAM | 3dfx Voodoo4 4500 PCI - 32 MB | Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 8 - 40 GB

User avatar
candle_86
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 9:41 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Post by candle_86 » Sun Aug 16, 2009 9:09 pm

im getting 1828 on FF 3.6

Post Reply