SETI@home MMX-optimized application on a K6-2+

Discuss software and how to tweak more performance out of your system.
Post Reply

Do you crunch for DC?

Yes, DC is cool!
2
67%
No, I'm not interested.
0
No votes
What the heck are you talking about?
1
33%
 
Total votes: 3

User avatar
talatalan
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 8:18 pm

SETI@home MMX-optimized application on a K6-2+

Post by talatalan » Fri Nov 17, 2006 9:36 pm

Hello,

my question might be a bit 'special', so if you don't know, what I am talking about, don't worry... :wink:

This goes to the K6-x owners who are (still) running SETI@home-BOINC on their machine: Has anyone of you tried the new MMX-optimized SETI@home application from KSWN / Simon Zadra (lunatics.at)? Did it run sucessfully or not?

I got only erroneous results with this application on a K6-2+, unfortunately. Anyone else also?

Best regards

Alex
'Dietrich': Athlon64 3200+, 1GB DDR-SDRAM, Uniwill MB w/ SiS755, ATI Mob. Radeon 9700
'Hicks': 2x Athlon XP 2400+, 1.5 GB DDR-SDRAM, MSI K7D Master-L w/ AMD 762, ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
'Ripley': 2x Intel PIII 1 GHz, 1 GB SDRAM, Tyan s1832DL w/ i440BX, ATI Rage 128 Pro
'Hudson': AMD K6-III 400/100, 640 MB SDRAM, Tyan s1598c2 w/ VIA MVP3, ATI Radeon 9000 AIW
'Frost': AMD K6-2+ 450/75, 256 MB SDRAM, Soyo 5XAE5 w/ i430TX, ATI Mach64

User avatar
tazwegion
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 349
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2003 11:13 am
Location: Victoria, Australia

RE: SETI@home MMX-optimized application on a K6-2+

Post by tazwegion » Sat Nov 18, 2006 1:51 am

Dunno' after SETI classic closed down... I lost my account (due to changing email addresses etc.) so I found myself not bothering. :(

As far as stability goes... you're not overclocking your K6 processor are you? as you may already know, many if not most DC projects can be sensitive to 'out-of-spec' processor systems ;)
Image

User avatar
talatalan
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 8:18 pm

Post by talatalan » Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:04 pm

Hello tazwegion,

thx for your reply and greetings to the other side of the globe. :)

No, the K6-2+ is not overclocked, actually it's even underclocked, since the board is only running at max. 75 MHz FSB stable. The PCI bus and chipset is overclocked at that FSB, but I'm running the system for years and never had any problems. Even other DC projects are running fine (including SETI beta and SETI w/ standard applications from Berkeley).

With some hint from a fellow cruncher I think I'm now nearer to the reason for this problem. I reactivated my K6-III system and found that the application is running fine on that system, so apparently it's not a problem with the processor type or instruction set (i.e. lack of SSE or CMOV or such).

The reason might be a failing clock measurement on the K6-2+, at least this is exactly the step, where the application is failing. Have to ask the developers about that, let's see.

Again, these were a lot of details about a very 'special' problem. But who knows, maybe someone else will stop by, who finds this useful. :wink:

Best regards

Alex
'Dietrich': Athlon64 3200+, 1GB DDR-SDRAM, Uniwill MB w/ SiS755, ATI Mob. Radeon 9700
'Hicks': 2x Athlon XP 2400+, 1.5 GB DDR-SDRAM, MSI K7D Master-L w/ AMD 762, ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
'Ripley': 2x Intel PIII 1 GHz, 1 GB SDRAM, Tyan s1832DL w/ i440BX, ATI Rage 128 Pro
'Hudson': AMD K6-III 400/100, 640 MB SDRAM, Tyan s1598c2 w/ VIA MVP3, ATI Radeon 9000 AIW
'Frost': AMD K6-2+ 450/75, 256 MB SDRAM, Soyo 5XAE5 w/ i430TX, ATI Mach64

Post Reply