What OS is your K6/socket 7 system running on?

Discuss software and how to tweak more performance out of your system.
Post Reply

What OS does your socket 7 system run?

Windows XP
4
24%
Windows 2k
3
18%
Windows 9x
8
47%
DOS (MS, Dr-DOS,FreeDOS, etc...)
1
6%
Linux (too many versions to list...)
1
6%
BSD
0
No votes
Other (BeOS, MenuetOS, etc...)
0
No votes
 
Total votes: 17

User avatar
theEMP
Senior K6'er
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 9:28 am

What OS is your K6/socket 7 system running on?

Post by theEMP » Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:55 pm

Just curious about what OS folks run around here. Any problems running XP or 2k?

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

RE: What OS is your K6/socket 7 system running on?

Post by Jim » Mon Mar 19, 2007 1:51 am

Depends; some boards have shutdown problems w/ one OS or another, apart from that XP works ok if you have enough RAM. It also helps to delete the zillion "Security Flawed" files that "Windopes" so thoughtfully archives for you without a by your leave from the user. "Q" : What earthly use are files which have been replaced with new versions on account of security flaws? Why archive them? Answer : The better to eat you out of HDD space, (488 Meg to the end of the "Upgrades" for SP1), so you have to buy a new one; and hence a new copy of Windopes.

EDIT : Whar kind of Mickey Mouse pole is it that only lets you vote once? Me, I have one machine w/ an NT4 dualboot, one w/ WIN98-SE, Which also has IBMs DOS 6.3; and another w/ a Win98-SE / WINXP-PRO dualboot.
Last edited by Jim on Mon Mar 19, 2007 6:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

User avatar
theEMP
Senior K6'er
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 9:28 am

RE: What OS is your K6/socket 7 system running on?

Post by theEMP » Mon Mar 19, 2007 6:30 am

sorry Jim, I didnt see a way to set-up multiple choices

User avatar
Uranium235
Senior K6'er
Posts: 183
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 9:59 pm

Post by Uranium235 » Mon Mar 19, 2007 9:36 am

I like to dual-boot Windows98SE and WindowsXP Pro on all my rigs.
With XP I like to use 512MB of RAM and trim off some of the fluff to keep it working snappy. The Via MVP3 boards with 2MB L2 cache are my favorites to run XP on.
If I'm just testing a new configuration I'll use Windows98SE because it's alot quicker to setup.

Guest

win9x is alive!

Post by Guest » Mon Mar 19, 2007 10:53 am

Uranium235 wrote:I like to dual-boot Windows98SE and WindowsXP Pro on all my rigs.
With XP I like to use 512MB of RAM and trim off some of the fluff to keep it working snappy. The Via MVP3 boards with 2MB L2 cache are my favorites to run XP on.
If I'm just testing a new configuration I'll use Windows98SE because it's alot quicker to setup.
one note to the win98 users....
REAL usb2 stack, support new devices... look for v3.1
http://www.msfn.org/board/index.php?showtopic=43605

kernel update to bring several xp or win2000 software to run... reimplements several kernel functions
http://www.msfn.org/board/index.php?showtopic=71476

...and, join the "Win9x is Alive campaign" ! ;)
http://www.mdgx.com/spx/

User avatar
jsc1973
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 394
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2001 11:55 am
Contact:

RE: win9x is alive!

Post by jsc1973 » Mon Mar 19, 2007 2:55 pm

Windows 98SE on the K6-III+ rig, XP Pro on the current one (Core2 Duo 4300 system).
FIC VA-503+, Rev. 1.2, AMD K6-III+ 450@550MHz, 80GB Seagate ATA-100, 3dfx Voodoo3 3500 TV, TB Montego II Quadzilla, Win98se, 384MB PC100

Compaq Presario 1273, AMD K6-III+ 450@400MHz 1.8v, 40GB Samsung 5400RPM, extremely hacked Win98SE, 288 (yes, 288!) MB RAM
(Also an AMD FX-8350, which does the heavy lifting these days...)

User avatar
TheBrain
Junior K6'er
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 4:12 pm
Location: São Paulo / Brazil
Contact:

Post by TheBrain » Sat Mar 24, 2007 12:22 pm

Windows 98 SE - Brazilian Portuguese
AMD K6-2+ 450 ACZ | PCChips M598LMR - SiS 530 | 256 MB DIMM SDRAM | 3dfx Voodoo4 4500 PCI - 32 MB | Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 8 - 40 GB

User avatar
candle_86
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 9:41 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Post by candle_86 » Sat Mar 24, 2007 1:11 pm

well 9x crashed for the last time on me, so im 2k SP4 now

aleksej
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 2:29 am
Location: moscow, ru

Post by aleksej » Tue Mar 27, 2007 11:42 am

Using Boot-US bootmanager and have installed:
MS-DOS 6.22 w/Win3.11 FWG
Windows 98SE
Windows XP Pro
Each on it own independed partition.

User avatar
theEMP
Senior K6'er
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 9:28 am

Post by theEMP » Tue Mar 27, 2007 4:10 pm

sorry I should have put dual/multi-boot options on there.... :oops:

capsndave2
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 10:34 am

Post by capsndave2 » Fri Apr 27, 2007 10:58 am

I have just upgraded my MVP3G5 K63+550 from w98 to win2k.

My set-up includes a Radeon 9700pro an, Audigy 2 card and a WD 160GB drive on an ATA133 controller. Memory 640MB

This was all part of my aim to completely max out my k6 system... and it was fast! The Rad 9700pro enabled all my old games to max resolution at max quality. Loads times were also amazingly quick.

The win2k upgrade was fine and MS programs work better. I find this OS much better than win98.

The problem is that games are much slower (unplayable) and DVD's play very slow.
Since reading up on win2k this is clearly a well known problem.

Does anyone know how to improve w2k performance, so that I can have the best of a good OS and the speed I had under w98?

Thanks

D

User avatar
AlleyViper
Junior K6'er
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2005 2:37 pm

Post by AlleyViper » Fri Apr 27, 2007 1:49 pm

xp pro sp2/suse 10.2

Altough suse is one of the most bloated distro's, feels a lot snappier than xp.
Shuttle HOT-591P 512KB L3 REV.2.0, bios 591PS025 @100/66/33 1:1
K6-III+ 500 ANZ 256KB L2 @600MHz/2.0V + CM DP5-6I31C-A1, TT 6x2.5cm/7krpm/38cfm fan @7V
2X256MB pc133 CL3 @100MHz/2-2-2-5
HP GeForce2 GTS 32MB AGP
SB AWE64 Value ISA, SiS900 NIC, Trust USB 2.0 5-Port PCI
Samsung Spinpoint 80GB, Quantum Fireball 6.4GB, Yamaha CRW3200E
Mini AT case (ATX modded) with:
8cm TT Std Fan @7V
Generic 300w ATX

Post Reply