Automatic system shutoff?'s

Discuss software and how to tweak more performance out of your system.
Post Reply
User avatar
KHPower
Junior K6'er
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 6:19 am

Automatic system shutoff?'s

Post by KHPower » Thu Nov 08, 2007 2:46 pm

This question is pertaining to the Compaq Presario laptop I am using.

I installed a new hard drive 2 weeks ago and everything is going great! I do have one problem. When I choose to shutdown the system it go's to a screen that says "It is now safe to shut off your computer". I wish I had it set up like I used to on the old HD where you just shut it down and walk away and it shuts off by itself. I have tried to find a option to do this but I can not find anything.

Can anybody help me or guide me to where I would look so I can enable automatic system shut off on shutdown? or if I can install software?

Thanks everybody!

sylvan2626
Senior K6'er
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 3:25 pm
Location: Florida, USA

Post by sylvan2626 » Thu Nov 08, 2007 6:14 pm

Do you have ACPI enabled in your BIOS?

That problem is usually related to an ACPI enabled OS (like W2k or XP) and APM capable hardware. I have that problem on some of my SiS530 - based mobos running W2k and I think on one of my XP boxes.
EP-MVP3G2 Rev 1.0 (8/6/01 BIOS) -- K6-2+ 550ACZ @ 618MHz (103MHz FSB) 640MB PC100

EP-MVP3G5 Rev1.4 (8/6/01 BIOS) -- K6III+ 500ANZ @ various MHz

User avatar
KHPower
Junior K6'er
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 6:19 am

Post by KHPower » Thu Nov 08, 2007 9:58 pm

Iwill have to check , my bios doesnt have nmany options other than boot order and power options related to performance.

Post Reply