Are you Windows 7 ready ?

Discuss software and how to tweak more performance out of your system.
Post Reply
User avatar
Steven67
Junior K6'er
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 10:59 pm

Are you Windows 7 ready ?

Post by Steven67 » Sat Jul 25, 2009 6:57 am

Place to share informations about K6, mobo & GPU running on win 7.

K6, DFI K6BV3+/66 and 3dfx V4500 windows seven ready

Image

Looking for Radeon 7500 (RV200) drivers.
K6-3E+ ATZ /400 @600 Mhz (120*5)
DFI K6BV3+/66 rev B1 / 512 Ko L3
768 Go ram
3Dfx VooDoo5 5500
Hd WD 80Go Ide / Dvd Rom LG
Usb 2.0 / Fast Ethernet / Windows 7

Jim
K6'er Elite
Posts: 1745
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto

RE: Are you Windows 7 ready ?

Post by Jim » Sun Jul 26, 2009 4:16 am

You should be able to get the drivers from AMD. In the General section here, I made a post titled "Paid a visit to ATI today", (They have their head office in nearby Markham), where I believe I posted some instructions about finding older drivers. You can also e-mail : rick.carman@amd.com who is the guy from ATI who gave me the info. DON"T use my name cause I got very pissed off with ATI because of the fact that they will NOT let me download the DVD Decoder which I am entitled to for my TV Wonder Card, and it was him I was dealing with. Told him "Fine, seems to me AMD is more concerned with antipiracy than with seeing to it that their paying customers can download that to which they are entitled. And that since that seems to be the case, I would become an "Unintel Nvidiot" instead of an "ATIdiot".
Superpuppy 3
K6-3+ 450 ACZ (6x100)
DFI K6BV3+/66 Rev B2 (2 Meg) w/ 2x28mm Chipset Fans
2x256 Meg PC 133 Hynix SDRAM
1x 20G Maxtor (7200)
2x 80G Maxtor (7200) Ducted w/ 2x486 Fans Mount
52/24/52/16 LG CDR/RW/DVD
8/4/3/12/24/16/32 LG Super Multi
ATI 9000 aiw Radeon AGP
SB Audigy 1 MP3 Sound
CMD 649 IDE Controller
NEC USB 2 Card

User avatar
jsc1973
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 394
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2001 11:55 am
Contact:

Post by jsc1973 » Mon Jul 27, 2009 11:32 am

How well does Windows 7 work on a system like this? I have a copy of Win7 that I've never installed on anything, and I have a K6-III+ based system with plenty of RAM. Is it worth the effort to try this?
FIC VA-503+, Rev. 1.2, AMD K6-III+ 450@550MHz, 80GB Seagate ATA-100, 3dfx Voodoo3 3500 TV, TB Montego II Quadzilla, Win98se, 384MB PC100

Compaq Presario 1273, AMD K6-III+ 450@400MHz 1.8v, 40GB Samsung 5400RPM, extremely hacked Win98SE, 288 (yes, 288!) MB RAM
(Also an AMD FX-8350, which does the heavy lifting these days...)

User avatar
Steven67
Junior K6'er
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 10:59 pm

K6 on Win 7

Post by Steven67 » Tue Jul 28, 2009 3:00 pm

@jsc1973 : Win 7 runs fine on my system, performances 30% less under Win 98 Se. With 512 Mo ram or more, can surf (not too fast) on internet with firewall and so on. Do a double-boot with 2 disks to swap beetwem 7 and other OS.

@Jim : Ah ! Ah ! Ah ! Is it not ATIrrelevant ?
K6-3E+ ATZ /400 @600 Mhz (120*5)
DFI K6BV3+/66 rev B1 / 512 Ko L3
768 Go ram
3Dfx VooDoo5 5500
Hd WD 80Go Ide / Dvd Rom LG
Usb 2.0 / Fast Ethernet / Windows 7

Post Reply