Unable to rase my FSB via CPUCool

Discuss software and how to tweak more performance out of your system.
ConiKost
Newbie K6'er

Unable to rase my FSB via CPUCool

Post by ConiKost »

Hi!
I've an DFI K6XV3+/66 (2MB, Rev. B2) here with an K6-IIIE+ 400MHz ATZ
So, as far I know, I am unable to rase FSB via DIP-Switches over 100MHz...

Reading here, I need a Software like CPUCool. But it seems not to work for me :) It's a complety fresh Install of Win98SE.

After installing CPUCool, I can choose my Mainboard. So I am doing this and then I tried to rase the FSB. Just for testing, I wanted to go on 4x112MHz. After choosing this, nothing happens! The FSB just do not change. I can click how often I want. FSB is not changing.

The PLL-Driver is correct, as I located this Chip on my Mainboard, which CPUCool choosed.

Any Ideas?
Steven67
Junior K6'er

Post by Steven67 »

Hello,

I had received nice help here from Jim and others, so I would help you, even if I am not an expert.

If you want to have the fsb 'setting' function in Cpucool, I think you have to register to the author W Podien. It is a nice software.

To raise the fsb, be sure that the selected pll is the 'Winbond W83194R-58A', look for this pll exactly with a K6Bv3+/66 (the best is to locate the winbond chip on your mobo and look closely to the number).

If you do that, you will access to fsb 103, 112, 115, 120 and maybe more ;)

Best regards.
Best regards to all the K6 lovers too.
K6-3E+ ATZ /400 @600 Mhz (120*5)
DFI K6BV3+/66 rev B1 / 512 Ko L3
768 Go ram
3Dfx VooDoo5 5500
Hd WD 80Go Ide / Dvd Rom LG
Usb 2.0 / Fast Ethernet / Windows 7
Jim
K6'er Elite

Post by Jim »