Quake3 Oddities!

A place to discuss all aspects of games and gaming.
Post Reply
cbr1000
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2002 10:19 am

Quake3 Oddities!

Post by cbr1000 » Sat Jan 12, 2002 10:39 am

Ever since I built my sons 'gaming' system, (Gigabyte GA71XE/750 Tbird @ 863) and played Q3, I've been hooked! So I've been playing it on my:<br><br>FIC VA503+ v. 1.2 EAO037 w/Homemade Heatsinks on Chipset, (Arcitic Silver Adhesive)<br>K6/3+450 @ 616<br>GoldenOrb hs/fan w/ Arctic Silver Paste<br>256mb Crucial CL2<br>Hercules DDR-DVI w/BlueOrb & Homemade Ramsinks, (Arcitc Silver Adhesive)<br>SB Live! Value<br>LinkSys 10/100<br>Comcast @Home<br>Seatgate 13.8g<br>Two filtered case fans<br>Small fan blowing on DRAM<br>19" Monitor<br><br>I get alot of static in the speakers, often the weapons will change by itself and point straight down, and sometimes it locks up with a loud squeal from the speakers. I've got the following software:<br><br>JE4333 bios<br>4.13.01.2183 Nvidia driver<br>130/301 clock settings on the card<br>4.11.01.0711 SB driver<br>DX8.1<br>4in1 v4.34<br><br>This happened before I hit 616mhz. At 6 X 100 fsb, it did it too.<br><br>It seems like if I reload DX8.1 and reboot prior to playing, it's better. I've tried numerous bios, driver combos with no improvement. I am obcessed with my pc and will go to the grave trying to make Q3 work right. I know, I know..........I need deep psychiactric counseling. Tried that, still obcessed.<br><br>Any ideas?<br><br>Thanks,<br>Mike <p></p><i></i>

georgep1
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 325
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2001 6:09 pm

hmm

Post by georgep1 » Sat Jan 12, 2002 5:50 pm

What drivers have you tried. 21.83 is horrible performancewise for MVP3 chipset motherboards. For best performance try 7.97, 8.05, or 12.90. But that doesn't explain the other problems.<br><br>Have the tried the CPU to PCI latency to 0 patch at <!--EZCODE AUTOLINK START--><a href="http://koti.mbnet.fi/parru/">koti.mbnet ... <!--EZCODE AUTOLINK END--> ? This might solve the SB static problem.<br><br>Are any peripherals sharing IRQs with your video or sound card?<br> <p></p><i></i>
E-Machines T6000 (AMD64 3200+) (Don't laugh! It absolutely rocks!)
GigaByte K7N400 Pro2, 3200+, 1 GB DDR, 80 GB WD SE
Epox MVPG5, K6-III+@550, 384 SDRAM, 80 GB WD SE
TX97-XE, K6-III+@400, 256 SDRAM, 40 GB WD HD

cbr1000
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2002 10:19 am

Quake Oddities

Post by cbr1000 » Mon Jan 14, 2002 10:47 am

I've tried 21.81 and am currently using 7.56......<br><br>I installed the CPU to PCI latency patch. That fixed the crackling! Thanks!<br><br>But it still locks up.<br><br>Thanks Again<br>Mike <p></p><i></i>

georgep1
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 325
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2001 6:09 pm

Re: Q3 oddities

Post by georgep1 » Mon Jan 14, 2002 12:07 pm

Have you checked for nasty IRQ sharing? In the device manager, click on "Computer" and choose properties. This gives you the IRQs your peripherals are using. Check to see if your video card or sound card are sharing an IRQ with something else.<br><br>For the lockups, have you tried AGP 1X? You can force that by installing the via agp driver in "standard" rather than "turbo" mode. There is little loss in performance by doing this. You can grab the standalone AGP driver installer from www.viaarena.com. are also possible helpful hints at www.geforcefaq.com. Good luck. <p></p><i></i>
E-Machines T6000 (AMD64 3200+) (Don't laugh! It absolutely rocks!)
GigaByte K7N400 Pro2, 3200+, 1 GB DDR, 80 GB WD SE
Epox MVPG5, K6-III+@550, 384 SDRAM, 80 GB WD SE
TX97-XE, K6-III+@400, 256 SDRAM, 40 GB WD HD

cbr1000
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2002 10:19 am

IRQ's

Post by cbr1000 » Mon Jan 14, 2002 1:24 pm

Currently, the soundcard is using IRQ 5, Hercules is using IRQ 11, both share their IRQ's with ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering.<br><br>I just installed driver v. 12.90 with VGART in 'Normal' mode. Played Q3 for about 5 min's before it locked with a loud squeal from the speakers. Which is it's standard modus operandi.<br><br>Tell me, is there a 'favoured' sequence for installation? I uninstall the old driver, install the new driver, then VGART, then DX 8.1..........It seems like everyone has their 'pet' installation sequence.<br><br>Thanks for all your help.<br>Mike <p></p><i></i>

georgep1
Veteran K6'er
Posts: 325
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2001 6:09 pm

Re: IRQ's

Post by georgep1 » Mon Jan 14, 2002 7:52 pm

I always do it DX, AGP driver, vid card drivers.<br><br>I know for ATI, the AGP driver almost has to be installed before the vid card drivers. Nvidia installs don't seem quite as rigid. <p></p><i></i>
E-Machines T6000 (AMD64 3200+) (Don't laugh! It absolutely rocks!)
GigaByte K7N400 Pro2, 3200+, 1 GB DDR, 80 GB WD SE
Epox MVPG5, K6-III+@550, 384 SDRAM, 80 GB WD SE
TX97-XE, K6-III+@400, 256 SDRAM, 40 GB WD HD

cbr1000
Newbie K6'er
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2002 10:19 am

Thanks, I'll Try IT!

Post by cbr1000 » Wed Jan 16, 2002 7:11 am

Again, Thanks! <p></p><i></i>

Post Reply